We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming hostel in the old city of Nazareth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fauzi Azar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fauzi Azar Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming hostel in the old city of Nazareth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed here for a night in a double room. Though they are in the midst of adding new rooms and renovation work, our room was neatly maintained. The staff was very friendly and was knowledgeable about the Old City of Nazareth.

The local tour was interesting but does not cover the usual tourist spots like the Church of Annunciation. It gives you a good feel of the city and life of the people making a living there but if you are looking for a tour that covers the tourist checklist, this one doesn't.

The inn is in the Old City which means you cannot drive your car upto their front door. So don't key in the GPS coordinates and try driving up :). We did so and landed up having our most exciting drive in Israel up and down some really steep streets (that would give the streets of San Francisco a run for their money) in the Orthodoxy area of the city. Just follow the instructions they provide and park in the road facing the Tishreen restaurant.

Internet is available and is free. They have a kitchen that you can use and there are usually snacks like cake available through the day. The breakfast is very average by Israeli standards and is not the grand breakfast they make it out to be.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Fauzi Azar and would definitely recommend it to travelers to Nazareth. The place left us wishing we'd budgeted another day for Nazareth!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shivdeepmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    191
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
146
260
254
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Djursholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

Lovely
They arranged a musicevening
Helped with everything I asked for.
Good signs to follow when searching for the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The local tour (20ILS) was excellent and very worthwhile. Kitchen was well equipped. Free coffee/tea and cake. The dorm was quite roomy. Bathrooms were clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond_FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Have only praise for the quality of this hostel in terms of facilities etc. Had a private ensuite room. Only shame was the cockerel from early morning! Fantastic Arabic breakfast. However, my one BIG gripe is the day tour around the Galilee that was organised at a hefty price. The tour "guide" spoke very poor quality English and offered little information throughout - the Lonely Planet had far more information to rely on. Turned out the guide was the father of one of the hostel's staff. The price was way OTT for what we got.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killanigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Trying to find a hotel that is both affordable and with character is not always easy in the Middle East. After reading the many reviews of places to stay in Nazareth the descriptions of The Fauzi Azar Inn caught my eye and turned out to be a blessing in disguise. First, the location of Fauzi Azar, within the magical setting of old Nazareth's winding streets and historic environment, was a dramatic contrast to the many new hotels that are the norm throughout Israel, Palestine and Jordan. Secondly, the people who run the "inn" could not have been nicer. Home baked cakes were available, free access to the kitchen to make coffee or tea whenver the desire, wifi access, all complemented by the "funky" furniture in the reception and bedrooms juxtaposed with the opportunity to stay in a property that retains its historic architecture, made for a great change of pace from what one generally finds in the region. In reading other reviews, I had concerns but would advise people to really see this as an "inn"; part hostel, part hotel...underscored by a modest price, friendly people and a special location all made it a very worthwhile. I also met the charming couple who are the authors of the well written book, "The Jesus Trail" (a unique travel experience of its own...if one allots the time) and learned that the owner of Fauzi Azar is planning to opening a similar place of age and charm in Jerusalem, another city where such a place is very much in need. In summary, much of my 3+ weeks in the region I stayed in the latest 5* hotels with all the bells and whistles one can imagine. But in the end, I would have to count The Fauzi Azar Inn as one of the most enjoyable travel experiences of my frequent travels to the region and look forward to returning and to the owner's new property when completed in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

First of all I want to thank volunteers who work at Fauzi Azar. They were a great bunch of people who helped us greatly. They showed us where to park a car and helped me actually to do it as the streets were so narrow and the traffic is crazy there, recommended a lovely Arab restaurant (food was so tasty there), took us on the old city tour they have every morning, introduced us to locals, etc... I would say that I enjoyed that stay most of all while being in Israel.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinavend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

It is a very charming hotel, not only for backpackers, but also for other travelers. The staff is always happy to help and welcomes you with some cake - each day another one! The inner courtyard gives the hotel a romantic flair and there is lots of space for conversation with other travellers. A beautiful hotel that I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
1.6 mi away
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 16 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fauzi Azar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fauzi Azar Inn

Property: The Fauzi Azar Inn
Address: Old City, Nazareth 16125, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fauzi Azar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fauzi Azar Inn is the best starting-off point for touring the Galilee & Nazareth. The Inn is a 200 years Arab Mansion located at the heart of the market quarters of Nazareth, a short distance from the Central Bus Station and the Basilica of the Annunciation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fauzi Azar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fauzi Azar Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing