We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice and authentic diving in Galilee”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fauzi Azar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fauzi Azar Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Villiers saint frederic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice and authentic diving in Galilee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Excellent location, true authentic place in the middle of the old Nazareth, right in the middle of real life in Galilee. A full mix of culture, religion and peaceful place full of tolerance: an optimistic view of the Israel of tomorrow.
Outstanding welcome, very sympathetic and helpful staff, willing to share their love of the city and their inhabitants.
Very beautiful house, nicely refurbished, with taste and elegance, a perfect address and base camp to radiate in all the area!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    195
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
151
269
259
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

If you're after a great hostel as a backpacker or traveller looking for a friendly welcome in a fascinating building, Fauzi Azar Inn would I'm sure be great. But my husband and I booked one of Fauzi's double rooms on the basis that it was also marketing itself as a unique hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't feel it lived up to that description. Our room in this quirky hostel was incredibly basic, very small and contained one of the least comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The place is best described as being on the shabby side of shabby chic and is fine if you're on a very tight budget but we certainly wished we'd paid a bit more to stay somewhere a bit more like a hotel and a lot less a hostel full of backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

This is a very unique place to stay in a beautiful and interesting city. Fauzi does not fit comfortably into any standard hotel category.
It is located in a magnificent mansion that has been owned by a local Arabic family for many generations. In cooperation with a young Israeli entrepreneur, the mansion has been upgraded; but the character, including beautiful painted ceilings in the lobby and flowers in the courtyard, has been maintained. It sits on a tiny street in the center of the old city with easy walks to all of Nazareth's tourist attractions and excellent restaurants.
We were told that at one time downtown Nazareth had been considered dangerous at night. But it is no longer. We are a middle-aged American couple, and we walked extensively during the day and after dark and never felt any threat. The streets are lit. The local residents are friendly. The city is bustling.
Nazareth can be challenging to navigate by car. Don't rely on your GPS. Our GPS in Israel frequently failed in Arabic cities. You should call the hotel once you enter the city, and they will guide you.
There is a significant uphill walk from the parking, either for free on the street or in a paid garage in the city.
The owners promote backpacking in the Galilee. They are involved in building the Jesus trail, which passes through Nazareth. They offer free lodging to backpackers who have passed through Jordan or Syria.
The hotel has both hostel-style rooms and private rooms with bath. The private rooms are charming, clean, and comfortable, but on the primitive side. There is a shared kitchen.
There is also a free daily tour of the city, including a talk by the owner of the hotel, a walk through the markets, and the opportunity to meet some of the local residents and shopkeepers. It lasts about 2 1/2 hours.
The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel atmosphere is relaxed. The guests, when we stayed there, were both young and old.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDoc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

The Fauzi Azar is an amazing old house that has been converted into a hotel and is part of a rebirth of the old city of Nazareth. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a room that the 4 of us friends shared and it was large and had its own small attached bath. There are several seating areas around in the common areas of the hotel that are inviting additional places to hang out. The breakfast was delicious traditional food, including very fresh salads and breads. The staff were welcoming and knowledgeable and assisted us in making our travel plans for moving on from Nazareth. We took the free old city tour in the morning with an enthusiastic staff guide and learned so much about Nazareth it made me wish we were staying longer. Before the tour, the grandaughter of Fauzi Azar told us the moving story of her grandfather, the house, and the partnership between her Arab family and the Jewish man who wanted to start a hotel in the old city. It is inspiring to hear of these kinds of partnerships because you so often hear only of conflict. I am so glad we stayed at the Fauzi Azar!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Fauzi Azar Inn is very well run. A joint venture by an Israeli Jew and a Christian Arab, the establishment reflects a spirit of liberal tolerance. It is clean and very well tended. It is close to restaurants and to walks in the Old City. Go to their web site and you see a detailed accurate description of what it is all about. Note that this is not a new 5-star luxury hotel, but an authentic old mansion restored by a family member. Thus I rated it elegant. To reach it will involve a short walk uphill, but anyone who is reasonably fit and does not have too much luggage can easily get there. We parked our rental car part way up the hill on the street. Aside from the staff, the other tourists are good travelers. They include Israelis who come on vacation. If you are seeking to meet fellow travelers and workers from many countries who are interested in history, culture and peace, you will be very happy here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eileenvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I returned from Israel over two weeks ago and I still think about the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazareth, and how fantastic it was to stay there. I stayed in a room which was simple yet decorated in Arab tradition, with a super comfy double bed and duvet and an en-suite bathroom for around £50 a night. Included was a hearty Arabic breakfast (OK, it can take a bit of getting used to having salads and pitta breads for breakfast, coming from a Western European culture of cereal or toast for breakfast), endless cups of either Arabic coffee or herbal teas, and fine Arabic cakes baked by local staff (and some rather interesting ones baked by some of the American volunteers!). One of my favourite memories is sitting on the sofa in the reception area, sipping coffee and eating cake, listening to the muezzin outside calling people to prayer late afternoon. This is the real Middle East.

The Inn itself is an amazing building with its classic Arabic arches, fresco-type ceilings, large rooms, and stone walls. Its quite central in the Old City and well signposted. Free WiFi was very handy to post photos to Facebook and Skype/ Facetime the family back at home. The Inn was spotlessly clean and it was quite clear to see that it is lovingly maintained and there is great attention to detail. Suraida, who's father was the late Fauzi Azar, is an interesting lady who is always happy to help and has lots of interesting stories to tell.

Nazareth itself is a real gem, and although its very compact and much of Nazareth can be seen within a day, you want to stay and linger longer and enjoy this city. I had some lovely meals at the nearby Sudfeh restaurant which were huge in portion size (ask for a half portion as you can feed 2-3 people on one full portion alone!) but had some great Arabic food including my favourite Fattoush salad. Do buy some freshly ground Arabic coffee in the souk, from Fahoum Coffee, where you can see it being roasted and ground. Their roasted coffee with added cardamom pervades most of the souk and whenever I smell the coffee brought home, I instantly think of Nazareth.

I also used my stay at the Fauzi Azar to explore further afield and took a bus out to Tiberias to explore a bit of the Gallilee.

Overall, I was completely surprised by my stay in Nazareth and at the Fauzi Azar. I loved it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronzevernis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

This is without a doubt the best place to stay at in all Israel. It's got everything; location, value, warmth and charm all for some of the best rates that you will find when traveling throughout Israel. Let me explain why...

1) Location - Central Location in northern Israel - good place to base oneself out of while touring northern Israel.

2) Value - I got, free wifi, free cake and coffee, an excellent breakfast (costs extra) in a beautiful place all for what I would normally pay for a hostel elsewhere in Israel.

3) Warmth and Charm - Staffed by volunteers, the people who work at the Fauzi Azar are some of the most sincere and hardworking bunch you'll find. The guests staying here were some of the most interesting I met while traveling in the Middle East.

There is one more thing; the Jesus Trail. Basically, it is a trail that runs from Nazareth to Capernaum and visits many of Jesus's prominent sites where he ministered while in the Galilee. It was developed by David Landis, his wife Anne and Moaz, a few amazing people who after traveling the world decided to create the Jesus trail.

Make sure that you meet Suraida. The Fauzi Azar has been in her family since the time of the Ottomans and she will tell you the story of her home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driggewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 15 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fauzi Azar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fauzi Azar Inn

Property: The Fauzi Azar Inn
Address: Old City, Nazareth 16125, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fauzi Azar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fauzi Azar Inn is the best starting-off point for touring the Galilee & Nazareth. The Inn is a 200 years Arab Mansion located at the heart of the market quarters of Nazareth, a short distance from the Central Bus Station and the Basilica of the Annunciation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fauzi Azar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fauzi Azar Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing