We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good smoke house”
Review of Alabama

Alabama
Ranked #4 of 131 Restaurants in Netanya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Netanya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good smoke house”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went 2 couples. The restaurant is not that big and they have one seating, so reservations are advised. We took the tasting menu. Fixed price, 120 for 4/5 cuts, salads, baked potato. My hubby added 20NIS for the fillet which was very good. The meat is very good. The sides were ok. You bring your own liqueur/wine so it is very nice.
Will go back again when looking for meat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AyaKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    30
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meat and more meat”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

In a very hidden location a nice cash only restaurant serving a tasting of meat similar to a wine tasting: small potions of different meat plates increasingly uncooked.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank victor954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadera, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise for a fine meat lovers”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you make reservation long time ahead (2-3 month ahead) , you will be acquitted to have a place in the one of the top secret, best meat restaurant in Israel !!!
the concept is nothing you know before... dont expect to splendid place, its very basic, but the food = Vegetable salad, chili con carne and the best meat you can have in israel, make it worth every israeli shekel you "invest" there.

NON KOSHER

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“One of its kind, in Israel”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

You have to make yr reservation several weeks ahead. Really, otherwise forget about it. They dont serve any drinks, you bring them yourself- wine, spiit etc., and the cups.

Its a meat place, where they smoke it, southern way.

No menus, 2 options: 6 or 9 courses of different types.

The room is quiet, people are busy, focused on their prime target.

Unbelievable. Quute good. An experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank ybhk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forget the Falafels...get ready for good old fashioned MEAT!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

During my winter break vacation to Israel I ran across a Time Out Israel magazine that mentioned the best meat restaurants in Israel. I asked myself why would an American want meat when you have Shwarma, Falafel and Hummus. The answer came quickly after eating my fill of staple Israeli foods...I needed meat. We arrived at Alabama and thought it was a bit sketchy from the area but the minute we opened the car doors the smell of smoked meat hit our nostrils. We met the owner Haran who explained the concept. They had built their smoker from scratch but the goal was simplicity-focus on meat. We received Sauerkraut, house salad and incredible Asado smoked meat with Lima beans on the house. Next came Pork shoulder smoked for 7 hours served with Coleman's mustard. Crunchy outside and soft succulent meat. The Beef short ribs were my favorite. Served on the rack with 1/2 sliced baked potato (even the potatoes were some of the best I ever had). Haran saw my smile and explained that it's baked for hours in the oven and that the fat of smoked meat drips on it to add flavor. The finale was filet cooked to perfection topped with goose liver. So good I ordered seconds.
So, to anyone who uses Trip Advisor to find gourmet meals in foreign countries, count this restaurant as a must visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alabama also viewed

Netanya, Central District
Netanya, Central District
 
Netanya, Central District
Netanya, Central District
 
Netanya, Central District
Netanya, Central District
 

Been to Alabama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing