We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really showing its age” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galil Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Netanya
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really showing its age”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

This Hotel is getting very old. In many places the fixtures are not fixed to the walls and the concrete walls are bulging.

The sheets on the bed are too small so that they crinkle up at night.

The hygene in the restraunt was a little shakey, with food being handled and cutlery wiped over with a cloth that was used for wiping tables.

There was a cockroach on its back in the bathroom.

Otherwise the hotel was kept clean.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Needs a rethink/rebuild
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    18
    34
    23
    36
See reviews for
34
24
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

This if my first review on TripAdvisor, I've used the site many times with great success for business and vacation accommodation. On this occassion a business contact arranged the hotel for me :-(

I felt compelled to write a review about this hotel as it is appalling and in over 10 years of international travel the worst accommodation I've ever had to stay in!

Im regularly in Israel on business, due to it being peak season I struggled to book my usual hotel the Sharon in Herzilya (not great but the Galil makes it look like a Ritz Carlton).

The hotel was probably built in the late 60's early 70's and has never seen a paint brush, decorator (or cleaner) since it opened. There are two lifts both filthy and dangerous (in fact one of the lifts broke down during the stay thank god we were not in it!). This includes the lobby area, in fact on my last day (left at 5AM) we found a group of men sleeping rough on the lobby chairs!

My room was on the 7th (top) floor, when I first arrived it was clear that it had previously been broken into as there was a large chunk missing from the frame in line with the lock... Obviously the management took security seriously as the fire door leading to a set of steps to the ground floor was propped wide open!

Inside you are greeted with very basic accommodation, the bathroom is sterile but in poor repair, doors hanging off, showers that barely work and basic army bedding one sheet and
blanket thats it.

The service was no better, my colleague and I asked for a couple of drinks from the bar and the manager was upset that we interrupted his poker match. We were also chastised for returning from meetings in Jerusalem on are final night at 10pm as the front desk staff wanted to go home and were not prepared to check us out at 5am.

All-in-all a complete and utter mess, I was shocked that the hotel was full of holiday makers (French mainly) if it was a British resort this hotel would no doubt be on HOLIDAY NIGHTMARES.

Stay there at your peril!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — the staff!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonmoore2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Netanya hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

I stayed at Galil for four nights. The fasade looked just like the hotel was: old. The room was alright, but nothing fancy. A few stains on the pillow, but I guess they just don't use bleach, because everything was clean except from that.

The hotel feels like nothing has happened since the tourism period in the 80's, except from the nice lobby.

The staff was great though. Really helpful with everything from booking taxis, handing me maps, giving directions, telling you about received phone calls. A really friendly environment.

The seafront view was also great, really nice to sit on the balcony watching the mediterranian.

Nice pool area but really crowded sometimes.

I might stay here again the next time, but I'd prefer a newer hotel. It felt like you were in a place someone forgot about a long time ago.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The worn feeling of the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinceremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

Good recently renovated hotel, most if not all rooms have balconies facing the sea. Main beach is about a 15 minute walk along the sea promenade. Hotel has also a nice large pool. Two things to keep in mind: there is construction next door to the right side of the hotel so request rooms on the left side. Hotel can be noisy on the weekends since great rates attract younger crowds.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Verfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Netanya hotels
0.9 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 19 in Netanya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Margoa Hotel Netanya
Margoa Hotel Netanya
#5 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mizpe Yam Hotel
Mizpe Yam Hotel
#3 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
KiKar Hotel
KiKar Hotel
#10 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Netanya Hotel
1.0 mi away
Blue Weiss Hotel
Blue Weiss Hotel
#9 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galil Hotel

Property: Galil Hotel
Address: 26, Nice Blvd., Netanya 42269, Israel
Region: Israel > Central District > Netanya
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Netanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Galil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Galil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galil Hotel Netanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing