We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the Mediterranean, but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were planning on renting an apartment at the Carmel for the month of February, but fortunately we asked our uncle living in Netanya to check it out for us before booking. He suggested that we look elsewhere, and we are glad that we did.

We decided to visit to see what we missed. The hotel looks impressive, it is right on the beach, bright modern, and connected to the main beach by a promendade along the sea. The view from the room was spectacular. But the rest was a disappointment.

The quote was $1,000 a month; we thought this was a great deal, and thought we had made a mistake in not booking as we took the glass walled elevator that overlooked the atrium, offering a view of the city. That was until we saw our apartment.

We entered what would be a small hotel room, there was a small bathroom, in sad shape, and a room that just accommodated the bed. There was a very short distance between the end of the bed and the floor to ceiling dresser, just enough to pass by. There was a small lounge chair wedged between the bed and the back wall, and a coffee table wedged between the other side of the bed and the "kitchen", a set of cupboards with a countertop microwave and hot plate and small sink. There were no cooking or eating utensils. You couldn't open the cupboard because the table was blocking it.

There was a full size fridge next to dresser, and the door just cleared the end of the bed. There was no desk or table, the only way to eat was to sit on the bed. The only place to watch t.v. was on the bed. This place could not accommodate two people, you would have to walk over the bed to get from one side of bed to the other if one other person was there, or have them move to the entrance so that that you could pass. And they call this an apartment? It is laughable.

What wasn't laughable was the lack of candour by the rental agent. The price didn't include the rental agent's fee of 10 percent, nor the charge for electricity. I asked about how much it would be, knowing that others who have rented apartments pay at least 200 - 250 a month. She said that it was very little, maybe $50.00. That's just plain wrong, and I got the "you have to be kidding" look when I told people who pay for electricity in Netanya what I was quoted.

We did see a much more spacious 2 bedroom apartment that was over $2,000 a month, but I was feeling a bit of the bait and switch going on.

I heard complaints of the place being noisey, dirty and not properly maintained, but I can't vouch for that, as the apartments I saw were clean. One person I spoke to did say that it he lived there as a long term tenant over the winter, but moved out becuase of the poor maintenance.

Given that most people don't have the luxury of someone checking out the place before renting, and my experience with the tiny, unlivable room, I would recommend staying away from the Carmel

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank travelmench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

turist trap! dear sir you apear to have been the victim of a rental agent trying to pass as a representative of the hotel! in your words: "What wasn't laughable was the lack of candour by the rental agent. The price didn't include the rental agent's fee of 10 percent"

i will now explain: what probably happend to you is that you were met by a real estate agent who works for somebody who bought a unit or 2 in the building and she has the keys. the first alarm bell should have reng in your head when she asked for a 10% comision and when she asked you to pay a water and electric bill. ofcourse when you rent a room in a hotel there is no extra bills to be paid. and the room she showed you was ofcourse small and in poor condition because it is not used for turism but rather it is a bought unit that is used for long term living.i
invite you to call me directly and come for a visit. you will see what the turism units look like. and ofcourse there is no comisions or bills to be paid. never use real estate agents. rent directly. please contact me at any time at 0543076283 regards,moses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2006

The Room was dirty , the bathroom was disgusting.
The bathroom had the shower broken , the tap over the basin could not be closed , the toilet was difficult to flush , there was no stopper for the bath , one of the lights needed replacing , making the bathroom very dark . The soapcontainer over the bath was almost empty , the edge around the basin , bath and floor was extremely grubby!
The Room was shabby , with broken wooden panels , with very few facilities.
The morning the room was "made up " was rather interesting - the roommaid simply pulled the bedspread over the rest of the bedding .
The floors of the whole hotel are clipped - in the dining room this is particularly unpleasant , as all the dirt and germs are left there. I found an earring in the scrambled eggs - DISGUSTING!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UPINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

the carmel hotel you stayed in was closed down and became an apartment hotel.
it is now a completely different place. newly renovated and with new ownership and managment.
please try it again.you will be pleasently surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Stay away from this hotel.

First of all, there is a pub LePub outside the hotel where locals spend the night with an an enormous amount of noise. There is also some noise from other guests/children if your room is close to elevators.

There is really a problem with security - at the first day a stranger entered our room (he opened the door with a key) while my wife were in the shower. Next day, a camera were stolen while we went down to the lunch for 30 minutes. Guess what, the lock was not borken, it was eother picked or open with a key.

The worst of all is the attitude of the personel - like they do not care at all. We were told that it is our problem and we shall go to police. They told us can not be held responsible. The hotel personnel also does not agree to do anything with the room which has two incidents in two days - they do not agree to change the lock, they do not agree to change the room either.

While talking with other guests I met another couple who encountered the same experience - someone opened their room with a key while they were in the room.

Bottom line - I'll never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank il_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

the carmel hotel you stayed in was closed down and became an apartment hotel.
it is now a completely different place. newly renovated and with new ownership and managment.
please try it again.you will be pleasently surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2006

Firstly dont expect much when you stay in Netanya. Its a tired town and mostly the hotels are in need of maintenance. The one hotel that does it justice is this one. We stayed in another hotel down the road and it was so awful that we had to leave. We were first quoted exhorbitant prices for Carmel because it was school holidays but miraculously after the holidays, the rates dropped by half and it was managable for my family (2 adults and 3 children). Rooms were nice (still in need of maintenance), bathroom clean and big and definitely better than what is offered around this town. Breakfast was plentiful with a nice view of the beach. The glass elevator was enjoyed by my children. The one restaurant that we thought was great is called El Gaucho. It is located in the lobby and the meat served is tender and delicious. The swimming pool is enormous and is tended by a lifeguard when open. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RacheleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Annet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank izzet e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaphAel7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Netanya hotels
1.3 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Netanya Hotel
0.4 mi away
West Lagoon Resort Netanya
1.3 mi away
Margoa Hotel Netanya
Margoa Hotel Netanya
#6 of 21 in Netanya
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mizpe Yam Hotel
Mizpe Yam Hotel
#5 of 21 in Netanya
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 21 in Netanya
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Weiss Hotel
Blue Weiss Hotel
#11 of 21 in Netanya
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments

Address: Sderot Oved Ben Ami 2, Netanya 42201, Israel
Region: Israel > Central District > Netanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Netanya
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Netanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing