We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not advice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not advice”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The room is decent and when I asked to clean the room they used the toilet and did not flush(beware of your belongings they have a key to every room and may enter your room at any time) we payed a lot of money and received terrible service on the upside it is a perfect location right on the beach and has an incredible view of the sea I would not advise to stay here at all



  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zero21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
as usual: you did not stay with us, you rented from the real estate agents that rent offices at the entry floor of the building. feel free to call me for further details 0543076283
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    15
    7
    6
    22
See reviews for
16
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel has NO safe deposit boxes and there is stuff missing from my room (iphone charger and a few small presents that I had in my LOCKED bag).

I complained with the front desk, even showed them how the lock was violated and they had nothing to say. I placed a complaint at the near by police station only to learn that they are well acquantied with problems at this location, probably from their OWN EMPLOYEES!

Stay AWAY from this hotel! You've been warned.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, General Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
hi. please clarify your complaint. what is the name of the person who gave you the unit. how did you meet him? did he have access to your room? what was your room number?
thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Netanya hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Got robbed in the hotel.
Full of scum and lowlifes of netanya.
Terrible experience, please stay away from this place!!!
This is the kind of things that leave a sower taste in a beutifull city and country.
Try other options and dont even consider this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadynaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, General Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
sorry to hear about your experience. you did not stay at carmel hotel. you stayed at one of the rental units rented out to you by the real estate agents. please contact me at 0543076283 if you need any assistanse. please clarify in your review from whom exactly you rented the room with a description of that person. thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is not a hotel. It is a "vacation" apartment building. There is no reception and no one to help with issues. I had originally booked 1 week in this "hotel", but left after one night. There were several issues/reasons for this: 1. The shower in the room didn't work, this was told to me via cell phone after I got the key to the room out of the drop box. I was told they would try to move me to a room with a working shower the next day. 2. The air in the room didn't work well and about the only think it blew out was a smoke smell. 3. The bed didn't have anything but a bottom sheet and a pillow. I was able to move to another hotel in town for a lower price with nicer accommodations and full service. I wouldn't even consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, General Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
kevin hi. it apears you have been the victim of yet another real estate agent that rented you a residential unit. please state the name of the person that rented you the unit via the phone.
you may also call me directly at 0543076283. we do everything possible to combat this phenomenon. next time please book from us directly. and you will get a clean modern beautiful unit with full service and at the best rates in netanya. and again- AVOID RENTING RESiDENTIAL UNITS FROM REAL ESTATE AGENTS.
kind regards,moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is not an hotel but apartments with small kitchen that you can rent for one or several nights. So there is no reception and no services even if you can ask the manager to bring you stuffs like flatirons if needed. For a very cheap price (about $100 per night which is quite cheap in Israel) you'll get a room for two with a modern decoration or not (depending on the room). The room is not perfect, sometimes not very clean and with broken stuffs, but ok to sleep one or two nights in Netanya and enjoy the beach. Last but not least, many rooms have an INCREDIBLE view on the sea, for the same price. You can't except more for this price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gouteur_nicois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

First and foremost the published photo of the exterior of this building is more than five years old. I found this out from the staff working in the building. There are two enormous social halls in the building creating quite a bit of noise. The supermarket is handy but overpriced. This building is not for families whatsoever. No wifi in the rooms, and terrible wifi in the lobby. The pool is not in use. Laundry machines in odd numbered floors eat NIS, and tear your clothes to smithereens. Room was not clean or equipped to handle the pre arranged number of guests. The Refrigerator was hotel mini-bar sized, which renders the kitchen almost useless. For 400NIS a night (100USD) you can do far better at closer hotels, personally I would recommend Hertzliyah.

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
dear lanctd. you are the victim of REAL ESTATE AGENTS. who rented you one of their rooms in the building using carmel hotel reputation. our rooms are nothing like thier rooms. we are all working in the same building. but it makes a hugh difference who you rent from. please contact me directly at 0543076283 for a full investigation of this matter. AGAIN- YOU DID NOT RENT FROM US. OUR ROOMS ARE TOTALLY DIFFERENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were planning on renting an apartment at the Carmel for the month of February, but fortunately we asked our uncle living in Netanya to check it out for us before booking. He suggested that we look elsewhere, and we are glad that we did.

We decided to visit to see what we missed. The hotel looks impressive, it is right on the beach, bright modern, and connected to the main beach by a promendade along the sea. The view from the room was spectacular. But the rest was a disappointment.

The quote was $1,000 a month; we thought this was a great deal, and thought we had made a mistake in not booking as we took the glass walled elevator that overlooked the atrium, offering a view of the city. That was until we saw our apartment.

We entered what would be a small hotel room, there was a small bathroom, in sad shape, and a room that just accommodated the bed. There was a very short distance between the end of the bed and the floor to ceiling dresser, just enough to pass by. There was a small lounge chair wedged between the bed and the back wall, and a coffee table wedged between the other side of the bed and the "kitchen", a set of cupboards with a countertop microwave and hot plate and small sink. There were no cooking or eating utensils. You couldn't open the cupboard because the table was blocking it.

There was a full size fridge next to dresser, and the door just cleared the end of the bed. There was no desk or table, the only way to eat was to sit on the bed. The only place to watch t.v. was on the bed. This place could not accommodate two people, you would have to walk over the bed to get from one side of bed to the other if one other person was there, or have them move to the entrance so that that you could pass. And they call this an apartment? It is laughable.

What wasn't laughable was the lack of candour by the rental agent. The price didn't include the rental agent's fee of 10 percent, nor the charge for electricity. I asked about how much it would be, knowing that others who have rented apartments pay at least 200 - 250 a month. She said that it was very little, maybe $50.00. That's just plain wrong, and I got the "you have to be kidding" look when I told people who pay for electricity in Netanya what I was quoted.

We did see a much more spacious 2 bedroom apartment that was over $2,000 a month, but I was feeling a bit of the bait and switch going on.

I heard complaints of the place being noisey, dirty and not properly maintained, but I can't vouch for that, as the apartments I saw were clean. One person I spoke to did say that it he lived there as a long term tenant over the winter, but moved out becuase of the poor maintenance.

Given that most people don't have the luxury of someone checking out the place before renting, and my experience with the tiny, unlivable room, I would recommend staying away from the Carmel

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank travelmench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miki52, Manager at Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
turist trap! dear sir you apear to have been the victim of a rental agent trying to pass as a representative of the hotel! in your words: "What wasn't laughable was the lack of candour by the rental agent. The price didn't include the rental agent's fee of 10 percent"

i will now explain: what probably happend to you is that you were met by a real estate agent who works for somebody who bought a unit or 2 in the building and she has the keys. the first alarm bell should have reng in your head when she asked for a 10% comision and when she asked you to pay a water and electric bill. ofcourse when you rent a room in a hotel there is no extra bills to be paid. and the room she showed you was ofcourse small and in poor condition because it is not used for turism but rather it is a bought unit that is used for long term living.i
invite you to call me directly and come for a visit. you will see what the turism units look like. and ofcourse there is no comisions or bills to be paid. never use real estate agents. rent directly. please contact me at any time at 0543076283 regards,moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Netanya hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Netanya
1.3 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Netanya Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mizpe Yam Hotel
Mizpe Yam Hotel
#4 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
KiKar Hotel
KiKar Hotel
#10 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.4 mi away
David Tower Hotel Netanya MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Blue Weiss Hotel
Blue Weiss Hotel
#8 of 19 in Netanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments

Property: Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments
Address: Sderot Oved Ben Ami 2, Netanya 42201, Israel
Region: Israel > Central District > Netanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Netanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Hotel Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Netanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing