We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good but Hosts were not there”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1885 B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosh Pina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1885 B&B
LONDON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good but Hosts were not there”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked 1885 due to recommendations on trip advisor. We booked the room through our guide as I couldn't do it through their website. We arrived with our guide who told us on the way that the hosts were on holiday but we would be looked after. On arrival no-one was there and without our guide we would have been stuck. She rang and sorted everything out. Our room was on the first floor with a steep narrow outside staircase. Not a problem for us but if you are elderly there is no way you'd be able to carry up your bag to this room. The room itself was fantastic with a large double bed, wardrobe, double jacuzzi, toilet and sink. The toilet is separate but the jacuzzi and sink are in your very large room. We were left some fruit, a small bottle of wine, milk and a couple of diet cokes for us you use, towelling dressing gowns and slippers - a really nice addition. As said before there is a coffee machine, kettle and tv. We had a lovely balcony where we had the extremely generous breakfast brought to us. On our first day our guide was hoping for breakfast at 8.30 but in the end it didn't arrive until 9.00 due to circumstances but I doubt this would happen if the hosts were there but nevertheless, it was brought to us on our balcony and on our first day was a treat. (You have to remember this is not a hotel so your room is not cleaned daily.) Our second day there it was pouring with rain but we still managed to have breakfast on the balcony. Overall a great location and a lovely room but I personally would not go on my own if the hosts are not there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopelessholsbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Central Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've never written a review before, although my wife and I are no strangers to travel and frequently read Trip Advisor, etc. for making our selections and travel decisions.

So what is it about 1885 that prompts this first review?

We first visited 1885 in 2007. It was May and we were visiting Israel for our son's wedding in Jerusalem. We wanted a respite after the festivities (albeit joyous) and Rosh Pina with all the spiritual and physical beauty the North has to offer, seemed just the ticket.

And 1885 proved beyond our wildest expectations. We luxuriated in amenities unexpected, beauty juxtaposed with old stones laden with history, and hosts that were second to none.
We vowed that we would return to 1885 sooner rather than later.

But the best laid plans.... Home in the US, my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer and spent the next few years in treatment and recovery. This past January we were able to return to Israel and, our wish, another stay at 1885.

For this visit, we stayed in the exquisitely designed and decorated downstairs room, unattached to the main house, a new addition since our last visit. There we luxuriated again in high end soaps and lotions, snuggly terry robes, coffee and espresso maker, Van Gogh espresso flavored vodka, a jar of outstanding home baked cookies, gourmet breakfasts, an unbelievably comfortable mattress and high end bedding, and let's not forget the attentive and extraordinary hosts. A special moment was sitting in the Jacuzzi tub right in our room, looking through the stone framed window at a snow covered Mt. Hermon, a bonus to a winter visit.

Gil and Maayan, the owners, have become 2 of our favorite people. Knowledgeable about Israel’s past and present, willing to go the extra mile for their guests, and just loving. Folks, the Israeli government would do well to send them out as ambassadors, spreading their goodwill worldwide.

We can't wait for a return visit to 1885. Hopefully it will be soon.

Room Tip: Each of the 3 rooms is unique. All 3 are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevets2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent a magical romantic weekend at Gil & Maayan's "1885 Suits" and would very much like to recommend the awesome experience.
The 3 Suits are beautifully set in an old stone house, modernly equipped, thoughtfully detailed, and filled with the genuine soul, hospitality and generosity of its owners- Maayan & Gil.
From home-made cake and cookies to a real espresso machine, from local beer to fine whisky, from a fruit basket to fresh flowers, from refreshments to warm bath robes, (not to mention the best breakfast we've ever had), all complimentary and all inviting you to indulge on kind, pure and fine hospitality.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends. They were spot on! It was a really special experience. We spent 3 nights in the beautifully appointed "arches" suite, with every amenity incl. Nespresso machine, complimentary wine (delicious), whiskey, soft drinks and other refreshments. Luxurious bathroom with huge Jacuzzi bathtub, robes & slippers. Great views from the balcony across the Golan and of snow capped Mt.Hermon. Upon returning from dinner at a local restaurant, we found Maayan lighting the fire in our room, which created a really warm & cozy atmosphere. Breakfasts were sensational - a real treat (see photos)! Maayan & Gil were very warm & friendly hosts and extremely generous with advice/suggestions for our daily sightseeing expeditions. Maayan also spoiled us with homemade biscuits upon arrival and a home baked chocolate cake a day later. One morning Gil came to tell me that our car had a flat tyre and he offered to help me change the wheel and insisted on taking us to the local puncture "macher" to have it repaired! We look forward to the opportunity to visit 1885 again and can highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Maayan has taken care of every detail to ensure you will have a wonderful stay. From the Jacuzzi, to the fluffy towels, to the stocked refrigerator, to the homemade cookies on the coffee cups, what a delight this B&B is. And the breakfast was stellar. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

1885 is not just another B&B. From the moment that we booked out two night break, we had the feeling that this was a really special place. Ma'ayan really went out of her way to ensure that we were comfortable and happy. The B&B is made up of 3 rooms/suites with ensuite bathrooms and jacuzzis with top of the range toiletries, robes, slippers and it is spotless. The kitchenette has all the little luxuries that one could think of - from milk and organic tea to a Nespresso machine and soft drinks. The linen is very freshly laundered and the beds comfortable and clean. Ma'ayan and Gil made our stay there exceptionally pleasant, they were attentive and informative without being pushy.

Room Tip: Probably best for couples as the shower/jacuzzi is in the room itself. There is a wood burning fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and me stayed in 1885 B&B for one night during my birthday in September.
On arrival, we found out Mayan, the owner, who welcomed us with a large smile.
As we entered the amazing old house with its trees and stone arches, we found out that she put baloons and a birthday cake (delicious:)) especially for me. This was in addition to a free minibar, a bottle of wine, and a beautiful room that looked like a genuine room inside a french chateau. Mayan & Gil, her husband, are dedicated to give their guests the best staying experience, with unusual warmth and kindness.
We are sure that was not our last time in this astonishing place!
Thank you - Eithan and Miri

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arches suite, but the others are also amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eitanrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosh Pina
6.1 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bayit Bagalil
Bayit Bagalil
#1 of 70 in Galilee
335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shulamit Yard
Shulamit Yard
#1 of 27 in Rosh Pina
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pina Balev
Pina Balev
#2 of 27 in Rosh Pina
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1885 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1885 B&B

Property: 1885 B&B
Address: 5 Ha-Khalutsim, Rosh Pina 1200000, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Rosh Pina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rosh Pina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Rosh-Pina, with a breathtaking view, on the slope of the mountain, in a house that was built by baron Rothschild in 1885, are waiting for you moments colored by nuances of charm and calmness. At the antique stone house that has kept its special character are 3 guest suites fashioned with care, containing everything needed to delight like the orthopedic mattresses, Jacuzzi and espresso coffee maker in each suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing