We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people”
Review of Safed Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safed Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Safed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at Safed Inn with my mother. The inn is beautiful and relaxing, and full of interesting, friendly people. The owners are lovely and happy to give tips about traveling in city. They also cook a really fantastic breakfast (and are very knowledgable in gluten free and other food intolerances). I plan to go back whenever friends or family visit.

Room Tip: There are some rooms not put online. If you want a private room with a double bed it is best to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have stayed at Safed Inn 3 different occasions. Always with some friends who live in Jerusalem. Rikki and Dovi are so warm and hospitable and the grounds are so full of character and life. We have loved our rooms and the breakfasts they present us with in the mornings. This past February, I especially appreciated Rikki when I woke up with stomach problems. So sick I felt I was going to have to stay back from touring that day. I went up to my room and got in bed and Rikki sent up some special tea she made from herbs from her garden and within an hour I was up and running!!! More than anything I appreciated that she really cared that I was sick and had the heart to want to help me. I was so blessed! Thank you Rikki!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeendaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Safed Inn. As others have noted, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, this B&B may not be the right choice for you. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a homey, peaceful and extremely welcoming place to stay, you shouldn't miss the Safed Inn. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. The gardens and tall trees provide a relaxing, shaded area to unwind and listen to the birds, away from the crowds and tour buses. Most importantly, though, hosts Riki and Dov Ruckenstein are two of the kindest, most welcoming people I have had the pleasure to meet. Their hospitality stands out as one of the high points in our recent two week vacation. They prepare a delicious homemade breakfast that features, among other things, Riki's wonderful homemade preserves. Riki went out of her way to find what we wanted to see and do during our stay, and then she gave us outstanding itinerary and restaurant suggestions. We loved chatting over breakfast in the morning and over a drink at night. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to Israel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmom6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Riki and Dov really made us feel welcome, even though we arrived shamefully late. The hostel is not fancy, but very clean, functional and cosy. Breakfast was delightful. You can just see that they would do anything to make you feel at home. It is little bit outside of the town centre but we had a lot of fun going by bus with many soldiers from the local military base. For us just a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

In the midst of a sprawling garden with shade trees and pots filled with herbs and flowers sits the Safed Inn. A quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life where waking with bird songs is the only sound you hear, except perhaps the wind through the trees. Looking for good old fashioned hospitality in a peaceful, relaxing environment? Safed Inn is your perfect destination. They say the third time is the charm, but from our first visit we were enchanted. Right away we felt at home. Ricki and Dubi’s genuine warmth and friendliness made us feel welcomed and like family. Breakfast in the English style dining room was a wonderful experience with the rose dishes, the baskets of breads, creamy hot chocolate, little pots of white and milk chocolate, and best of all…the variety of homemade jams. The rooms are quaint and spotlessly clean with little touches that reveal the warmth of the owners. If you’re looking for an impersonal five-star hotel then the Safed Inn is not for you, but if you’re looking for a vacation that’s a home away from home, then you can’t miss with staying at the Safed Inn.
Keith and Beth Stepp - USA

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Safed Inn (aka Ruckensteins B&B) is a fabulous, tranquil, place run by the most warm and welcoming family, Riki and Dov Ruckenstein. From the moment we walked into the cozy entrance and met Riki - it was as if I had just been reunited with a girlfriend who I hadn't seen in 10 years and we just picked up our conversation where we'd left off - felt that after just having met her minutes before! The atmosphere is easy and relaxed, the garden an oasis the rooms clean and simple but with attention to details you expect to find only in hotels (i.e. bathrobes and slippers, homemade jams for breakfast, a nice bar). We stayed only one night but checking out of this very special place with the nicest proprietors was liking saying goodbye to my own family! Can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minda1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Safed Inn, also known as the Ruckenstein's B&B is the crown jewel of B&Bs. or Zimers, in Northern Israel. The facility is run by husband and wife team Ricki and Dov, who are the nicest and most accomodating people you will every meet! We stayed in a delux room, with jacuzzi tub, that was magnificient. The light breakfast was huge; so skip the large breakfast, unless you don't plan to eat the rest of the day. The location is a bit out of the way, literaaly across the street from the Israeli Army Northern Command Center, which makes you feel extra safe. It's only a five minute drive down the hill to Tzvat and a 15 minute drive to Rosh Pina where there is some excellent dining. We strongly recomend that you spend at least 3 days at the Safed Inn and tour the Galilee and Golan Heights from there. You will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra amount for a delux room. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
1.5 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#4 of 5 in Safed
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
7.0 mi away
Kibbutz Inbar Country Lodging
0.9 mi away
Eretzefat
Eretzefat
#3 of 31 in Safed
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safed Inn

Address: corners of MEROM CANAAN AND HAGDUD HASHLISHI STREETS | P.O.Box 16, Safed 13100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Safed
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safed Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Safed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safed Hotel Safed
Safed Inn Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing