We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Safed Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safed Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Safed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The owners, Riki and Dov, are real Mensches, truly caring about their guests' welfare.
There were so many little thoughtful touches, to the place, that it felt like "home".
The grounds are beautiful and will be more so in the summer.
This could be a retreat for small groups looking for a spiritual experience. The whole place has that kind of feeling to it.

Room Tip: Make sure you follow Riki's instructions how to get there. We got lost; the town downhill from...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Safed Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Riki and Dov made my stay extremely pleasant. While I was there, they kept saying, "This is your home." They even went so far as to indulge my breakfast refreshment choice, which is different than standard fare.
The room was very clean, wifi worked great, the tv had many, many channels, and the facility itself is very nice. It is a little difficult to find, but well worth it.
Highest marks to the Ruckensteins!
And deepest gratitude for your hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great hostel in the beautiful north of Israel.
We have been here last week, and we came again because we liked it so much 5 years ago.
And it hasn't changed!
The place is beautiful and quiet. The rooms are complete and clean, the breakfast has everything you need. You can choose between a continental breakfast or an israeli breakfast, so you can taste all the wonderful flavours of this country.
Riki and Dov are the nicest people who are willing to help you with all the questions you have, and they know the neighbourhood like their backyard. So they will send you to all the good places that you have to visit while your there!
Just make sure that you have a car on shabat, because everything in the area is closed and it is quite hard to get somewhere. (But with a car you can visit for example Rosh Pina, where you have more possibilities if you are not having shabat).
For sure we will visit this nice place and people again when we are coming to Israel in the future. It is worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dvora85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On our trip around Israel we found this hostel the most relaxing place around in the best town in Israel. We found that Safed has its own open-minded atmosphere, and moreover during the Rosh Hashana when we stayed there. The owner from US was simply authentic, exactly as from US. As we arrived, the air-conditioning was not functioning at all and as soon as we arrived from our dinner, everything was repaired. Simply great service. Moreover, the garden was nice place to have a early breakfast, the kitchen was ready to prepare food or tea. If you would be staying in northern Israel, Safed inn is great refuge to spend some quiet time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spachtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Safed in has plenty of Character, formost of these is the Inn Keeper. You feel more like you're staying at home than a hotel. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The accomodations remind you of a campground. There are several buildings cach with four rooms spread across the grounds. I took advantage of the quiet neighborhood to lie in one of the hammocks and read. The have refrigerators in the room and shared kitchen where on a couple of nights we prepared simple dinners using ingredients from the nearby grocery store.
Safed is a nice town, but it is also close to the Sea of Galilee and some nice hiking trails. We went to Mount Meron for a great hike with terrific views all the way to Haifa and Lebanon.
We also took advantage of the homemade Israeli breakfast which was filling and beautifully laid out with many of the component home made.

Room Tip: You might want to request a room away from the street. Since this is a residental neighborhood ther...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Although not glamorous or luxurious, Safed Inn provides a comfortable haven in Safed.

The location is far from the city center, which provides the need for car/ bus/ taxis- which proved to be an inconvenience.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with no frills.

The room came equipped with a hot water urn, refrigerator, TV and air conditioner.
The bathroom in our room was missing a lock. Beautiful garden which we enjoyed very much.

Overall, a pleasant stay. OK value for money spent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at The Safed Inn/ Ruckenstein B&B for one night, but wished we could of stayed there our entire time in Israel! I would highly recommend using this place as your base to explore northern Israel (as an alternative to Nazareth or Tiberias). The owners were incredibly friendly and fun to chat with, and they offered great advice for our trip. The breakfast definitely lived up to it's great reputation and it is highly recommended. The rooms themselves were very comfortable and clean, and quite big. We loved that there was a guest kitchen, and it was in great condition, very clean. The atmosphere of the inn is charming, relaxing and welcoming - it was such a pleasure to find this gem. To top it off, you will not find better value for money anywhere else in the country. Hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grpljtbtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
1.5 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#4 of 5 in Safed
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canaan Spa Hotel
Canaan Spa Hotel
#3 of 5 in Safed
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eretzefat
Eretzefat
#2 of 30 in Safed
24 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kibbutz Inbar Country Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safed Inn

Address: corners of MEROM CANAAN AND HAGDUD HASHLISHI STREETS | P.O.Box 16, Safed 13100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Safed
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safed Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Safed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safed Hotel Safed
Safed Inn Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing