We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Safed, Israel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend in Safed, Israel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was a great find thru Trip Advsor. The innkeeper is super and breakfast was great! Shakshouka, homemade hummus, great selection of bread, veggies, salmon. Perfect fuel for a day of shopping in the artists area. Cannospeak highly enough. And, there is parking!

Room Tip: Safed is beautiful. Third highest terrain feature in Israel. Dress appropriately. Use your GPS an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
184
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is not a hotel. You are a guest in someone's home. And indeed you feel very welcome. There are only 4 spacious and wonderful rooms. Breakfast is splendid and the Inn manager, Susan is the best. The building itself is made of stone and would be considered of historical significance any other place in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I was only able to stay in Safed one night but this inn was well worth the drive. I chose the Avital room which was lovely and quite large with a comfortable king-sized bed, huge bathroom tub and a lovely private patio. Susan was warm and interesting to talk to and made a delicious breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended if your travels take you to Safed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelguy966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We've heard about this B and B in Israel for years and finally were lucky enough to spend a couple of days there. Susan runs the Inn and her hospitality is outstanding. We chose our room fro m their website and it was perfect for us. We had our own terrace and a balcony to sit in at night and have a glass of wine overlooking a magnificent sunset. There are only four rooms so you become friendly with the other guests. Susan gave us a knowledgeable guided tour through the synagogues including all the mystycism. The one recommendation we have is to pack a small separate bag for your visit. Safed is all hills and the Inn is up many steps which lends to the fabulous view from all the terraces. A must stay place in Safed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCVACATION2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It was two memorable days in this B&B. The location is great after you find it. As many reviewers have already stated it is not easy to find it for the first time and to find the parking is challenging as well. But you forget about this small inconvenience as soon as you walk in and meet Susan. When we got in she offered a free room upgrade. The room we stayed for 2 nights was spacious for such places in old towns. It even had a den on the second floor, very nice balcony and outside area.

The breakfasts were very good with good variety of food and baked goods. The common area has nice sitting arrangement where you can have coffee and tea at any time of the day and night.

This B&B is going to be our place to stay when we visit the Safed next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lspectr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Pros: Personable hostess, large room, comfortable, AC works well. Dehumidifier controls slight dampness. Lovely balconies.
Cons: 28 step walkup to Inn entrance, with your luggage, from the parking area.
Breakfast provided, but if you should make the mistake to be there on Shabbat, you're out of luck for dinner. Fortunately,we were able to find a 280NIS buffet at the Ruth Rimonim hotel down the street, on our own.
WiFi in lobby only.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pangloss356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanova, Owner at Artists' Colony Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Shalom. Thank you for your feedback.
For anyone who reads this, please call us when you are on your way and we will meet you where you can unload your suitcases from your car. It is a place about 50 yards/meters from the inn and has only 2 steps to the inn.
As for the dinner options on a Friday night, for those of our guests who do not drive on the Sabbath, the buffet at the inn just down the road from us, is the only option other than being hosted by a local family. We highly recommend the buffet option and we offer vouchers for the restaurant. Should you want to be hosted by a local family, our manager can help you with that, as well. For those of our guests who do drive on the Sabbath, there are many excellent options just outside of Tzfat.
Again, we thank our guests for their feedback and hope to host them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Definitely tricky to find but the directions provided by the manager were accurate. Breakfasts were excellent with breads from the local bakery and local fresh fruits and vegatables. Snacks, coffee, and tea were always available. Rooms were very clean. The location of the inn made it very easy to explore the old city in Safed. Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 850CarolS850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
1.4 mi away
Safed Inn
Safed Inn
#1 of 27 in Safed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing