We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Chose the Artists' Colony based on trip advisor reviews and even so it exceeded our expectations. The room was enormous and well appointed. Lots of space for three adults even with an extra bed. Breakfast was cooked to order, varied and delicious!! Susan I lovely and welcoming and really makes you feel like a guest in "her" home. Would love to have a chance to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Check out the bathroom configurations. Some not so private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraS4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
188
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife & I stayed here for a night and it was wonderful. Room was large and included some wonderful features such as a private outdoor patio and huge soaking tub for 2. Honestly wish we had booked an extra night as we really enjoyed Safed and the Artists' Colony Inn was an extraordinary place to call home. While it was our first B&B experience, really enjoyed the personalization and friendliness, especially as it closely overlapped with Channukah.

Room Tip: Book the superior suite room with private patio and huge soaking room, definitely worth the extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elebovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Artists' Colony is one of the warmest accommodations that I have ever enjoyed. The location is ideal. It is located just a few short steps from countless artist studios in Safed which, in my opinion, is on of the most charming places I have ever visited. The hotel or, better yet, the guest house, is impeccably clean, extremely spacious and it exudes charm. The breakfast every morning is extremely generous. However,he highlight of Artists' Colony is the their staff. Suzanne could not do enough for us. She is warm, super friendly and is always willing to share suggestions for things to do or places to see. I cannot find enough words of praise for this gem of a place

Room Tip: Spacious, impeccably clean and service with a smile
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPG625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was a great find thru Trip Advsor. The innkeeper is super and breakfast was great! Shakshouka, homemade hummus, great selection of bread, veggies, salmon. Perfect fuel for a day of shopping in the artists area. Cannospeak highly enough. And, there is parking!

Room Tip: Safed is beautiful. Third highest terrain feature in Israel. Dress appropriately. Use your GPS an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is not a hotel. You are a guest in someone's home. And indeed you feel very welcome. There are only 4 spacious and wonderful rooms. Breakfast is splendid and the Inn manager, Susan is the best. The building itself is made of stone and would be considered of historical significance any other place in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I was only able to stay in Safed one night but this inn was well worth the drive. I chose the Avital room which was lovely and quite large with a comfortable king-sized bed, huge bathroom tub and a lovely private patio. Susan was warm and interesting to talk to and made a delicious breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended if your travels take you to Safed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelguy966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We've heard about this B and B in Israel for years and finally were lucky enough to spend a couple of days there. Susan runs the Inn and her hospitality is outstanding. We chose our room fro m their website and it was perfect for us. We had our own terrace and a balcony to sit in at night and have a glass of wine overlooking a magnificent sunset. There are only four rooms so you become friendly with the other guests. Susan gave us a knowledgeable guided tour through the synagogues including all the mystycism. The one recommendation we have is to pack a small separate bag for your visit. Safed is all hills and the Inn is up many steps which lends to the fabulous view from all the terraces. A must stay place in Safed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCVACATION2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#3 of 5 in Safed
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing