We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home in Safed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent two night at the Artist Colony Inn in the old pat of Safed, Israel. My wife and I stayed in the Avital room which is large and lovely. We had a friend with us and she stayed in one of the smaller rooms but was very satisfied. Susan and Danny, the managers made us feel like members of the family. The location is perfect. The breakfast Susan put together was amazing particularly the salads. The history of the hotel is very interesting.

We arranged with the owner, Jeff Katz, to take us both an a two hour tour of Safed but also a full day tour of the upper Galilee and the Golan.That was an incredible experience. Jeff is a registered tour guid and knows the north very well. We went right up to the Syrian border and Lebanese borders. There is so much to see in that part of Israel that we will have to go back.

I strongly recommend the Artist Colony Inn.

Room Tip: The Avital is a great room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Artists' Colony Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was visiting Israel and decided to travel up north and visit the local wineries.
What a wonderful coincidence that this No.1 B&B is right there.
I stayed at the Inn for two nights and loved very single moment there! Wonderful managers! Wonderful location!
Breakfast was a real treat and complementary Nespresso!! Could I ask for more???

The wineries are wonderful and I highly recommend taking a day or two and driving around the Galil and the Golan heights and just enjoy the view and great wine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our experience at Artists' Colony Inn in Safed was marvelous. We stayed in the Avital room, a very large room, which was clean, warm and inviting. It was appointed in exceptionally fine taste. Everything about the Inn was beyond what we had expected-- from the plentiful and delicious Israeli breakfast to the awesome views in the courtyard where we sat and relaxed, just taking in the breathless views. It was a real treat after touring the city to come back to this wonderful inn and sit and talk with our hosts who were gracious and could not do enough for us. Five Star is the only way we can describe our time at the Artists' Colony Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay3and3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After reading all the positive reviews we were really looking forward to our stay at the artist colony in and all I can say is how incredibly disappointed we were. The bathroom had mold and mildew growing on the walls and the entire room had a dank musty odor and feel. There was a wall heater that just did not warm the room. How can a bathroom have the equivalent of a hand held mirror that was barely large enough for just one person to use? Fresh slippers? No, they looked as if they were recycled. A great breakfast? That too was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanova, Owner at Artists' Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Shalom, since opening in 2009, this is our first negative review out of the thousands of guests we have had and we are very sorry that you were disappointed. Our guests’ positive experiences and comfort are very important to us. We are also sorry that we could not accommodate you with a tour of the city as you had arrived much later than the time you had booked the tour.
As for your comments, we are sorry you didn’t point these out during your stay so we could address them. We could not find any mold and mildew growing on the walls. We are very sensitive to this and as any inn keeper, we clean and paint many times during the year. Our rooms feature walls of stone with high arched ceilings which give a totally different feel from your standard hotel room. As for the size of the mirror in the bathroom, you are the first guests to mention this. However, we will take this into consideration. It is most definitely our policy to provide new slippers and amenities for every guest. We never recycle slippers! They go straight to the trash. We do, however, donate unused liquid soaps, shampoos, conditioners and lotions. And lastly, as to breakfast, we ask every guest about their preferences, dietary issues and allergies and we happily accommodate every single request. Here again, you are the first guests to complain about the breakfast since our opening.
Again, we are sorry your stay with us was not the memorable experience we strive to provide for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night during our travels north. The room were clean and really nicely fitted out.
The husband and wife team that run the place were very hospitable. The breakfast was amazing. I would love to come back and spend more time. Safed is an amazing little place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Safed is medieval-like maze of a city with a big cobblestoned area dedicated to artists and Kabbalists or both. To make yourself comfortable here, and have the help you need to enjoy the ancient city, stay at the Artist's Colony Inn run by Danny and Susan. Danny is a supremely good-natured tower of a man who seems to enjoy carring your heavy bags up the steps. He is loaded with good advice, interesting observations, and relishes in telling jokes and pointing out ironies. Susan has a persistent and infectious smile as she tends to your every need, cooks awesome meals (including home-made granola), and looks after her two teenagers. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished and there is convenient parking. If you need more rooms for a larger family, they are happy to find you a nice room with a few steps of the Inn. We scored bigtime by finding the Artists Colonly Inn.

Room Tip: Stay in the large room off the reception area which has a private entrance.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teknozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a wonderful experience here. Susan, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. And the breakfasts she prepared were great.
The room (Liana) was very spacious, with a private porch and jacuzzi.
One tip: if you're using Waze to reach the inn, input the address as "1 TetZayin Street". If you use the number 47, you wind up close to the inn but in a reserved parking area, beyond which the street becomes one-way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanisJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#4 of 5 in Safed
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
0.0 mi away
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range: £154 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing