We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artists' Colony Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
369
18
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
18
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfrench toastthe managersplace to staywonderful hostsmemorable experienceguided tourold citybreakfast was deliciousshakshukagolan heightsa special placeinteresting peopleoverlooking the mountainsnorthern israelstone wallsstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent just one night at the Artist's Colony Inn in Sfat, but it was an absolutely wonderful stay. The accommodations are beautiful, but a small part of why we are writing this review. What made our time so very memorable was the special treatment from our hosts Susan and Danny Zehavi. Their care was more than professional; it was more like one would hope to receive from family, only without the tsouris!

Arriving late on a Friday afternoon, we were unprepared for Shabbat - in Israel’s most spiritual community, everything is closed, including all markets, restaurants, and public transportation.
On Friday evening, unexpected circumstances prompted my need for urgent medical care. Within seconds, and without violating Shabbat, Danny & Susan arranged for me to be taken to the local hospital, where I received prompt and excellent medical intervention.
The next morning, we received an extraordinary breakfast, and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of the inn. Later, Susan and Danny invited us into their home and introduced us to guests of theirs from Canada and we enjoyed time with them and all their children.
They are very thoughtful and intelligent people. Talking to them was certainly among our favorite things we did in our long-awaited trip to Israel. We give the Inn and hosts the highest recommendation.

Sincerely,

Chuck and Lisa Wintner

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

You cannot go wrong with this wonderful gem. Beautiful setting, beautiful old building, brilliantly updated. Arriving at the Artist Colony Inn is like stepping back into time, but with all the amenities of the the 21st century. You can have your breakfast high on a secluded balcony overlooking the green hills. The hosts, Susie and Danny, are the key that makes this B and B outstanding. They make you feel very special and right at home. The breakfast was wonderful and the location was ideal. Free internet. It was also an excellent value. This was the nicest place we stayed in Israel. Highly, highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightspirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

With 18 foot ceilings and solid stone walls, Artist Colony Inn is a bit of ancient Safed. Our room had a balcony overlooking Safed, a protected courtyard, and a second-level sitting area. We had a jacuzzi tub and plenty of room to walk around. There is a heat pump/air conditioner in the room, plenty of blankets and a very comfortable bed. This place is amazing.
The breakfast area is indoors and available all the time, with sweet rolls, a Nespresso machine, fruit bowl, and tea set out for guests. The wifi worked in our room (although we were warned it might not) and is reasonably fast.
This place is within easy walking distance of the most popular places to visit in Safed.
The hosts are warm, wonderful, and full of information. They LOVE living in Safed, and will share their experiences here.
Talk to Susan about her work at the local Mikva. If you are Jewish, and have never been, now is your chance.

Room Tip: Follow the emailed directions to get here. Do NOT attempt to use your GPS!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_Stories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful B&B. Not easy to find, but once you get there all is forgiven. Lovely room: spacious, clean and comfortable, lovely linens and towels. Large shower with two rainheads, plenty of room to dance around if you so choose. Susan's homemade breakfast is worth the trip by itself. If you are lucky, shakshuka will be on the menu. The french toast was also delightful. There are nibbles and coffee/water available all day, a great touch. Take a few minutes and a glass of wine on the small terrace upstairs and luxuriate in the view and magic of Safed and the surrounding area. The property is just steps from the Artist Quarter, a great place to wander in. In town, I would concentrate on this area. The rest of town is more modern and doesn't compare.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertnNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Staying at Artists' Colony Inn was a wonderful warm experience. The rooms are spacious and luxurious with individuality in their design and great care taken with the decor. They reflect both the architecture and the "feel" of old Safed with its arched roofs and stonework. Everything is very clean and well cared for and the breakfast buffet was fresh, delicious and generous. But most of all our hosts, Susan and Dani, made the stay into our most memorable time in Israel. They are so warm and welcoming and made us feel not only welcome guests but actually welcome friends. I would be happy to strongly recommend this place to any traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews