We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hameiri Cheese Factory
Ranked #2 of 4 Tours in Safed
Attraction details
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We went for the Friday 12pm tour, and it was quite interesting (it's important to say that the tour is in Hebrew only). A big part of the tour is dadicated to the Meiri family and it's heritage, but more that that you get to learn about the history of Safed and the art of cheese making. At the end of the tour you get to taste the cheese (and buy some if you wish). If you're around - I would recommend you join the tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closed on fridays”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It looks very nice from outside,We've been there last friday around 15 pm,it was already closed,like the most interesting places in Safed before Shabath enters

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olgar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent cheeses at historic location”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have purchased all 3 kinds of cheese produced on the location. All were very good.
We did not care too much to takke the guided trour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Antipich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We read so much about this. Called several times on the number provided on website - no answer on both land and mobile lines.

we made a trip there (on friday) and was told by an unfriendly lady to come back at 12pm for the tour.

we detour and made the trip back. 20 shekels per person. it may have been an interesting informative session if you understand Hebrew. we sat through the entire presentation - speech in hebrew, short film in hebrew, very long story telling in hebrew (some of the audience who understand the language were falling asleep), then finally a short walk (no exploratory) through the factory (like a small museum with old equipment they used for making cheese). A couple plates of cheeses were passed around in the end.

we tried to approach the owners hopeful for a short summery of the whole thing but he spoke zero English. the son, whom we suspect may speak some english, was too busy selling cheeses and Tsfat jams at inflated prices (same jam sold in Artist colony for less money).

we felt we wasted precious time sitting there and having to pay for something we totally couldnt comprehend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jinshui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K. Bialik
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Go, see and taste. Not every day you can see every thing but you can taste and test. Probably you will buy some fresh cheese that you like more. I did and enjoyed it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peleg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hameiri Cheese Factory also viewed

 

Been to Hameiri Cheese Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing