We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Tzfat/Safed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Tzfat/Safed”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is a beautiful place, and in close proximity to Old City of Tzfat. Joy and Evan Strauss couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, and the accommodations included everything one might need to be comfortable, including over Shabbat if one is Shomer Shabbat. My husband and I stayed in the larger of two apartments and it was perhaps a bit more than we wanted to spend, but smaller apartment was not available and we were entirely comfortable and relaxed while in the room. These are LIKE NEW accommodations, in beautiful and interesting (old) architectural spaces.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
83
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Joy and Even provided a clean room, at a good location and a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?

You should be aware of the following issues:
* The courtyard is under construction (but they made sure not to make any noise in the morning).
* No TV in room (not an issue for us but it's good to know).

When you consider the location, price and quality of the room these was hardly noticeable. We would strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cow_woC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My parents sent my brother and I on a vacation for a few days in Safed and we couldn't have felt more welcome or more at home! The Strauss' are the nicest people and did everything to ensure our stay was perfect. The room was stunning- a perfectly restored ancient room with tons of charm, a lovely kitchen we ate breakfast in, and a sparkling bathroom. Thank you for taking care of us and we truly recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

From the moment we got there we felt at home. They went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They were amazing to help us find what we were looking for and get around. They are perfectly located in the heart of Safed. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidan996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I are in our 60's and from the U.S. Our Israel visit was the result of months of on-line research and input from family, friends and Rabbi. The highlight of our visit was Tzfat. Joy & Evan (both excel in Hebrew and English) created a haven that should not be missed. Evan, a psychologist with a great warmth and calmness about him, took the time to guide us to sites we would have never found on our own and gave us a unique and refreshing perspective. Joy exudes a tremendous sense of peace and harmony and they have two incredibly beautiful children.

The space they created for you/us is rich in architecture and design that somehow magically helps one center and relax. They are on grounds and centrally located and provide simple but plentiful breakfasts. Our final morning my wife had a relaxing and therapeutic massage from Joy and I took a stroll to Ha Ari Mikvah (sorry, men only). Be sure to take a towel and at least a few shekels for Tzedakah. Best city and best place to stay in a 3-week visit that covered Jerusalem, Eilat, Masada, Haifa, Tel Avi, a Kibbutz, Lower & Upper Galilee and Kiryat Shmona.

Room Tip: Tips in general when visiting Israel: Keep all papers/documents together and easy to locate... Never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripInput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Staying with the Strauss family at their guest house was the highlight of our month long, awe inspiring trip to the middle east. It is simply the best!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Tzfat (Safed) for 2 nights and could not have picked a better guest house to stay in. Joy and Evan are great hosts, very helpful (especially when needing directions!) and provided great local information about what to see and where to eat. We stayed in the standard room, which was beautifully renovated, extremely spacious and very well appointed. Joy and Evan have gone to great lengths to provide very comfortable accommodation and we were well looked after. The location of the guest house is also excellent and central. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#4 of 5 in Safed
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
0.0 mi away
Artists' Colony Inn
Artists' Colony Inn
#1 of 37 in Safed
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Safed Inn
Safed Inn
#1 of 30 in Safed
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B

Property: Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Address: Artist Quarter, Old City | Artist Quarter, Old City, Safed 13223, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B is a beautiful kosher bed and breakfast in the heart of the Old City that captures the ancient Tzfat charm while offering the conveniences of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing