We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place with marginal service.”
Review of Villa Galilee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Galilee
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Reviewed 22 August 2010

overall a nice place to stay in Sefat. Clean and comfortable rooms. The avarage rating was influence mainly by the poor service and lack of attention to the guests. Bad attitude and unfriendly and poorly trained receptionist and manager. If you stay at the Villa Galilee, under no circumstance should you give the your laundry to wash.They will charge you almost as much as 1/2 day stay.Take it to a outside laundry which is 1/4 the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

We came to this hotel with a special deal that included room and either 2 treatments or one dinner for two. We took the dinner option and the food turned out to be superb.
Since last April the Hotel is 100% Kosher and we saw several observant Jews as guests.
Although we stayed only for 1 night, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here.
The DVD library has some 100 titles, but one of the discs we choose was so heavily scratched that we could not view the movie till the end.
If the hotel restaurant is not for you, you can go to the adjacent "Gan Eden Quality Restaurant", which has a lovely terrace and good food as well.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Therefore we cannot subscribe to the negative experiences others have reported here. Maybe because we speak the local language and know the culture.....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

When arriving at this hotel you are immediately stuck with how pretty this hotel is with vast amounts of colours & smells from the flowers that lead you up the steps or slope to the main reception area.

From then on you are struck by how rude the staff really are. From then on it seems to go down hill on numerous occasions.

First when checking in we asked about the safe in the room. This hotel has no safes in the rooms which we find very unusual. We were advised that there is only one safe which everyone shares & only the owner (the extremely rude lady) has access to it. The owner was not available at the time & therefore we would not be able to deposit our processions into it for another 3 -4 hours & once we had done this would not be allowed to access the safe again until we checked out. What kind of hotel does this we ask?

The rooms were small & a little tired but pretty much as expected & bathrooms very small. The air con worked fine & a good choice of TV channels.

There were cups & a kettle to make tea or coffee in the rooms however it would be nice if they supplied enough sachets of coffee or tea bags with some milk for the two of us. A trip downstairs to the barman did solve this problem however this happened on a daily basis despite our complaints & on one occasion we were not even given clean cups by the person that cleaned the rooms.

The swimming pool was lovely however closing at 5pm on a boiling hot day is ludicrous & having a lifeguard sit virtually on top of you when sunbathing is very unpleasant. I am sure there could be other jobs they could be doing whilst keeping an eye on the pool area. After all we were the only people sitting by the pool on each occasion & there were no children staying at the hotel whilst we were there.

Breakfast was very good............but when they say breakfast is served from 8:00am then it should be ready at this time........each morning we had to wait for them to finish laying the table with food before we could eat........filter coffee was not ready on time ......... coffee machine was a joke as well as not working properly.

We did not eat any evening meals at the hotel & recommend going to Rosh Pinner where there are numerous restaurants to choose from.

We also asked for some maps of the local area but they were unable to supply any in English to us.

On returning one evening to the hotel we went to ask a question at reception but the staff who on duty was unable to speak any English.

We were pleased to return to a much nicer hotel in Tel Aviv with extremely pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We first chose to stay at the Villa Galilee as it seemed to offer much better value than the larger hotels by the seashore in Tiberias. This turned out to be a very lucky choice, as Tiberias doesn't seem a particularly pleasant town, whereas Safed up in the hills, is lovely.

The hotel has a slightly quaint Swiss chalet feel to it, which is a slight culture shock if arriving from Tel Aviv, but it is very tastefully done and the staff were very friendly and helpful indeed.

The on-site spa is a welcome bonus and the hotel restaurant was very good, so much so that we ate there 4 times in 24 hours!

I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The Villa Galilee is a charming hotel near Safed with a most delicious breakfast including home made breads and jams. This small hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, lovely gardens, and beautiful views of surrounding mountains. We spent our days with a truly amazing guide (originally from Great Britain). Richard Woolf, who lives in the area. He was exceptionally knowledgeable and a very charming and delightful person. We spent three days with him and my teenage son said he learned more in those three days about Israeli history than he learned in three years in Hebrew school.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAREN09Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Beautiful rooms, very good restaurant and breakfast, charmy....
It is not in the old city, so you need to move by car or taxi..
We had a last minute price arriving during the evening, so it is better to verify the rates before.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tommaso V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We were travelling in Israel for three weeks and wanted a quiet spot for three nights in the Galil to chill, lie at a pool during the day, have massages and be close enough to visit Sefad and surrounds ,and drive to restaurants at night if we didnt feel like eating in the hotel .Villa Galilee was the perfect choice! Pool /garden gorgeous, lovely surrounds, delish breakfasts and very good value for money.We ate in Rosh Pina twice as there is virtually nowhere in Sefad and found it an easy drive .

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
611 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
0.9 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Canaan Spa Hotel
Canaan Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Safed
203 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Galilee

Address: Hagdud Hashlishi 106 | Mt. Canaan, Safed 13100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Price Range: £94 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Galilee 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel located in the Galilee heights, recently became a member of the prestigious European hotel chain "Chateaux & Hotels Collection". The hotel contains a SPA with an extensive treatment list, a bistro restaurant and terraces overlooking the hotel gardens and the surrounding mountains. In the vicinity: the Sea of Galilee, Golan Heights, forests, mountains, the ancient city ,the tombs of the just, Druze villages and much more. You will enjoy a special ambiance and a sense of tranquility at our small and luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Galilee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Galilee Hotel Safed
Villa Galilee Safed, Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing