We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time had by all”
Review of HI Poriya Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Poriya Hostel
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent a family weekend at Poriya in order to celebrate our son's 40th birthday. The "we" is 7 adults, 7 children and 1 baby with age ranges between 66 years and 9 months.
Not to be confused with the King David Hotel in Jerusalem (but then the prices are not the same either!) but we could not have asked for better food, attention, and concern about anything. The waiters were thoroughly attentive to our every need and the staff made our stay very welcome indeed. We were placed in the wooden cabins which was perfect and a good time was had by all. Well done. Kol Hakovod...

Room Tip: We wanted to be all together out of the main building and the cabins were wonderful for us as our yo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geffen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for HI Poriya Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is a guest house that belongs to Israel Youth Hostel Association (IYHA). But do not be afraid of the name. Higher level place and worth a 4 star hotel. Beautiful rooms, delicious food and plentiful. Amazing view. Great starting point for trips in all Galilee and the Golan Heights. Excellent staff with high service awareness.

Room Tip: Families with children - prefer the wooden cabins. Couples - prefer the rooms in the main building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank אברהם פ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here during my Israeli National Trail marathon and it was one of my best accommodation experiences. There are beautiful views of the Sea of Galilee from the terrace and the entire facility has been recently renovated and looks beautiful. The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was generous by both choice and quality. The rooms were above average for a hostel. Its maybe a bit overpriced

Room Tip: No issues with rooms that I am aware of. I had a cabin which was very comfortable
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

There is no better youth hostel than this. We were staying as group and had great stay with stunning view and fantastic food during the weekend. You need a car to go there but location is great. No wonder it is close to the Swiss viewpoint and forest. Swiss views overlooking the lake with youth hostel prices. Stay in the main renovated building and you will refuse to leave

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

For views, there can't be many youth hostels that would top Poriya. Everything is swish and new and beautifully integrated with the environment – which is just on the side of the Kinneret with beautiful vistas in all directions. From traditional hostel rooms to charming lakeside 'cabins', Poriya is a varied but sparklingly clean, well-priced venue for any visitors to the Galil. Free wifi throughout and decent food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmidt-G-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a beautiful hostel with an amazing view in every direction. We had a cabin with a separate small bedroom for us and two bunk beds for the kids (14, 19). it is clean, the staff is friendly, the food was OK, plentiful. the view and atmosphere were super.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the hostel on a weekend and had a great time. The rooms are quite clean and the food served in the dining hall during breakfast is good. Only thing, the mattresses are not the most comfortable..
Overall an amazing place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#10 of 39 in Tiberias
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rimonim Mineral Tiberias
Rimonim Mineral Tiberias
#9 of 39 in Tiberias
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#30 of 39 in Tiberias
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.0 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Poriya Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Poriya Hostel

Address: | PO Box 232, Tiberias 14101, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tiberias
Price Range: £43 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the slopes of Mount Poriya, HI - Poriya Hostel overlooks the Sea of Galilee. Located 10 minutes' drive from Tiberias, it offers free Wi-Fi. Rooms and dormitories are air conditioned. A fridge and tea and coffee making facilities are also included. An Israeli breakfast buffet is served each morning. Completely Kosher, it includes salads, eggs, bread, cheese and yoghurt. Drinks are available from the vending machines. Parking is free at Poriya Guest House and a car is the best way of getting around. You are 10 km from the hot springs of Hamey Tiberias and Hamat Gader and the Luna Gal Water Park in Tiberias. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Poriyya! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HI Poriya Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing