We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect too much”
Review of Hotel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aviv
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is ok for the night, spacious rooms, decent beds and an overwhelming big breakfast (worth the extra ILS80).
End of November is a quite time to travel in Tiberias, the staff was also quite. When asking for something, it felt like I disturbed them watching their favorite soap. Also, from minute 1 staff called me 'friend', but that is probably a personal shrug.
The hairs on the bathroom floor, some spots of unknown origine in the sheets and the overall 'cold' atmosphere in the ho(s)tel will not get me here again anytime soon. But then again: I did not pay top dollar and it might have been a lot better when there where more people around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We staid for one night just to be close to the start of the bike tour early next morning.
The room (101) was good in size, ac was o.k and tv as well. The room was quite clean, but looked old and a bit worn out. There is a room to leave your bike in for the night. We didn't stay for breakfast so we can't say anything about that. All in all we payed for the cheapest room around and got good value for our money.

Room Tip: 101 was o.k but had tween bads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Well, if you don't expect to be at the intercontinental all will be fine for you. Anyway, when the guy tells you a double room with balcony costs 200 shekels you've guessed it, right ?

Room smelled the cigarette and cold ash so it did not give a feeling of cleanliness, but room was of a nice size with ensuite bathroom and balcony over the main street of Tiberias.

Location is very good to walk around and see the Lake.

Staff was helpful.

Breakfast at the Emily's hotel just next to this one was excellent !!

Bed was good but shower had stains.. (dont wanna know what it was lol).

Free parking and wifi worked with no problem.

A good option if you dont wanna spend that much and be in a nice location in Tiberias to explore the city and the Galilee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Attilio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

In this hostel, flats are converted into dormitory rooms. So a bit strange. 3 beds(1 single, 1 double) are in the bedroom and other 3 are in the living room, positioned awkwardly. The room and the bathroom were clean. Air-conditioning was all right. Foods can be cooked at the kitchen.. In all,staying there was not bad. But the staff was not attentive or friendly though not rude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Tiberias is an expensive place to stay, but the Aviv hotel is a GREAT option. I took my group of 13 college students here and they loved it. Easy check-in, nice rooms, balconies facing the Sea of Galilee, air conditioning, and surprisingly a kitchenette with a full refrigerator.

The room was clean, the sheets were clean, and it was a wonderful experience. AND, it was a 5-minute walk to downtown (Big Ben's), and there is a convenience store on the corner, along with a cafe.

The staff was awesome. Perfect English, smiles, and fair.

There is also an Aviv HOSTEL down the hill, so do not confuse that with this very well kept hotel.

I recommend the Aviv Hotel, and I will definitely stay here again.

-Robert Cargill, Professor of Classics, University of Iowa

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked a couple of dorm beds in this place and were very happy - there were three single beds in our room, which was one of two in a mini apartment sharing a bathroom. There were two other people in the apartment, so we basically had the room to ourselves. All very clean, decent air conditioning, functioning bathroom.. no complaints at all for what we paid. There is a smarter hotel attached next door, and the reception staff kindly told us we could use its brand new pool. We hired bicycles from the hotel too, which they went out of their way to set up for us and left in reception overnight so we could get an early start around the lake. All in all, a very good budget option and good location to explore the Sea of Galilee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Mac_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A very very simple place. You should only stay there if you have absolutely no expectations, if you can put up with a rude, disinterested and arrogant receptionist and a room which is almost a little dirty. We stayed there only because everything else was booked out but we hated the 'hotel'. The only good part is the breakfast which is served at the new Emily Hotel - if you can at all afford it, stay at that Emily Hotel or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vonlaffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
1 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#22 of 38 in Tiberias
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 38 in Tiberias
510 reviews
1 mi away
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Emily's Hotel
Emily's Hotel
#8 of 38 in Tiberias
203 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#31 of 38 in Tiberias
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviv

Address: Tiberias, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range: £21 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing