We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice log homes outside of Tiberias near the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbel Holiday Homes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

These log home cabins are on a kibbutz about 10 minutes from the edge of Tiberias. The cabins offer a alternative to staying at a hotel in the city if you want to reduce costs and stay away from the city. The bedrooms, kitchen, and living room were all great. Beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean. The owner/operator was very helpful and friendly.

If considering a stay here, there are a few expectations that should first be set. One, the cabins are immediately next to a dairy farm. Our experience was that the smell in the morning was very strong and the flies were troublesome. However, this was only outdoors and we had no issues indoors. The dairy farm operated very late the on Saturday evening, which wasn't a problem for us given how tired we were, but be aware. Also, in our particular cabin, the shower arrangements were not ideal given the lack of a shower curtain in the main bathroom and the limited size of the shower stall in the second bathroom.

Finally, these cabins are on a kibbutz well outside of town, so if you're looking for any restaurants or shops, you'll be driving.

If you want solitude in a clean log cabin at an affordable price, this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay in the eastern Galilee. From past experience we knew not to stay in Tiberias which is the Israeli equivalent of Benidorm ( Spain) and makes even Eilat seem upmarket. Arbel is a small settlement located on the mountain range overlooking the Kinneret ( Sea of Galilee) - which is fine as you have the breeze/winds that you don't get in Tiberias or for that matter anywhere around the Kinneret. Arbel is a great point to make a base for sightseeing ( Hula Valley, Safad, Golan etc). Also near by are the Arbel Cliffs - well worth the vist. On the website http://www.inisrael.com/arbel/cabins.cfm it looked ideal - when we arrived we thought the website rather oversold what we found. As we drove past the cow sheds we wondered how close our wooden house would be ...in fact through our stay ( 4 nights) we did not smell the cows whatsoever. When we arrived we were disappointed with the size of woodern house - two smallish bedrooms for parents & 3 older- larger- teenagers, the living room was also quite small. I think in hindsight if we had been told about the size of the house we would have chosen somewhere else to stay. That's all the downside. On the upside Arbel is a real haven away from the noise and constant on-the-go that is Israel. The BBQ's on the lawn outside we made in the evenings were great and the owners ( Carmel and Benny) could not do enough for us, and that included doing a pile of washing clothes for us. Carmel and Benny will advise you where to go and what to see. So would we stay there again - probably no. Should you consider it as a place to stay - certainly yes......but do call Benny and Carmel and understand which house/size etc you are actually going to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

When traveling/sleeping in northern Israel near the Golan, take the extra 5 mile trip out of Tiberias to Arbel--it's well worth it.

Inside a community of small homes and B&B's is Arbel Holiday Homes--a quaint "village" of individual log homes fit for the country experience. We arrived by car and were greeted with fresh strawberry jam, made from locally grown produce. The property is situated next to a farm, which does smell occasionally (yet not in the room). Our cabin was on the smaller side and featured a kitchenette, separate bedroom w/ jacuzzi, living room, private bath and AIR CONDITIONING! (for the warm Israeli afternoons).

If you're in search of the cabin/country experience--this is an excellent option for you.

Tip: We spent Friday evening at the Arbel Holiday Homes and were fortunate to get a reservation at Yisrael's Kitchen [tel: [---]], an incredible restaurant open on Shabbat; just a 2 minute walk up the road.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank your_local_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed in a cute all-wooden 1-bedroom cottage, clean & well maintained, air condition OK, kitchen equipped with all basic utensils, microwave, fridge. Rich and tasty breakfast (optional, 12 USD). Nice and quiet location overlooking the beautiful Galilee landscape. Owners (family Konwitz) very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the peace and silence of the place very much. Benny Konwitz (owner), being an amateur archaeologist, explained about the history of the place in depth and was very helpful with everything we needed, he even drove us to the bus for free.

We recommend the trip to Arbel cliffs - takes approx 3 hrs and involves easy rock-climbing.

It is not possible to get to Tiberias on foot, only one bus in the morning and evening, a car is recommended. We did not have one so we hitch-hiked to Tiberias (as recommended) and it was no problem at all - almost every car stops (the way back was similar). A taxi costs 40-50 NIS.

This was the best place we stayed during our touring of Israel, totally recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tomas999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Two families of 4 stayed here and we rented side-by-side cabins each having 1 bedroom and a 2nd room with 2 futon-type beds. Both rooms were very small but adequate. We did not spend much time in our rooms, so it wasn't a big deal, but don't expect a lot of space. Being about 10 minutes outside of Tiberias was great and being in the country-side was nice. The hosts were very accomodating and made delicious breakfasts. Overall a nice, but simple cabin experience.

I would highly recommend hiking the Arbel Cliffs. If you don't mind holding on to cables while descending and then ascending on the metal foot steps, it's a fantastic hike. It only takes about an hour and the scenery is spectacular. Actually it's worth the hike, even if you don't stay in Arbel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimmyjeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Our family stayed at the Arbel Country Lodging homes for 5 nights in March of 2007. We stayed in a charming (and very clean) wooden cabin (called a “Tsimmer” in Hebrew), located inside a small, semi-agricultural community.

There was a basic kitchen that worked well for meals. In addition, you can get a B&B breakfast for an additional cost. We traveled with friends, and ate together in the hotel’s community room, which had a huge table (carrying in some great Chinese & Thai food from Pagoda in Tiberias).

Our kids loved the swimming pool. It’s is in a covered room, making it much easier to swim in the evening or when it’s cold or windy. There is also on-site playground equipment and a community playground that is just a few minute walk.

Located on Moshav Arbel, a short drive from Tiberias in the Galilee. It served as an excellent starting point for traveling across the Galilee and Golan Heights in Northern Israel. If you stay there, definitely check out the amazing view of the Galilee and Lake Kinerret (Sea of Galilee) from the nearby Arbel Cliffs.

The proprietors, Benny and Carmel Konowitz, are warm & wonderful people. Benny is extremely knowledgeable about the area and helped us plan many of our day trips. (I believe he is a government-licensed tour guide.) When we told them that we needed to find a laundry where we could drop off our clothes for cleaning, they insisted on doing our laundry in their home and refused to accept payment for it.

We would definitely recommend Arbel Country Lodging for anyone traveling in the Galilee.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RefaelRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#30 of 38 in Tiberias
192 reviews
0 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Scots Hotel
Scots Hotel
#6 of 38 in Tiberias
695 reviews
0 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0 mi away
Tiberias Hostel
Tiberias Hostel
#1 of 30 in Tiberias
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbel Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbel Holiday Homes

Address: | Moshav Arbel, Tiberias, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tiberias
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Arbel Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing