We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Restal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Restal Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went on pilgramage to Holy Land middle of May. We stayed at the Restal hotel for 5 days and had a fantastic time. The food was very good, plenty for everyone. The rooms are a bit dated but clean. The hotel is less that ten minute walk from Lake Galliee and is in a very quiet area. We discovered a grand piano in lounge and great fun was had by all. Because music speaks every language our group soon expanded when the lovely people from USA and Brazil joined us in song and dance! The pool is very welcome after a long day in the sun. For those who like to keep fit there is a very nice gym. The owner is a delightful friendly man. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are pretty basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauraEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

A very nice hotel – with an outdoor swimming pool! It was so refreshing to have a swim in the pool after a long and warm day, and the area around the pool is really nice with chairs and benches. There are big towels you can grab on your way out – but I didn’t find any changing room (maybe I didn’t look in the right places, but the toilets were nearby, so it didn’t matter much).
We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and the food was great. A big plus in my opinion for serving hot chocolate for breakfast.
Nice surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norskgjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As a group leader, I have been to Restal 10 times in the last two years. It is a family hotel and has a family atmosphere. The owner, Mr. Avihu TAL, is the most personable and helpful hotel owner I have dealt with in the Middle East. Though I bring many groups, I rarely see, let alone talk, with the owner. TAL is a rare exception. Mr. TAL has long-term Arab staff who are also helpful, including Ramsay and Saleem at the front desk and Mr. Kassem in the dining room. Bassem in the kitchen/bar goes out of his way to assist. The hotel is clean and tidy, well within easy walking distance of Tiberias sites. I am happy to bring groups to Restal anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kameel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

For us being right next to the Central Bus Depot was a nice convenience. It is an older hotel that recently had a ton of money poured into it and looks great, with marble everywhere. I would definitely stay here again as it's a very quick walk to the lake and 'Old Tiberias'. One thing to note that the pipes moaned loudly as old pipes are want to do whenever someone used water at night. While we figured this out quickly many did not as the continued to flush or run water throughout the night. Fortunately my wife who is a very light sleeper was exhausted and it didn't wake her too much.

Outdoor pool was closed while there, but looked nice. Excellent breakfast spread for a value hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As a pilgrim coming to Israel has been a dream of mine. Hotel Restal is a good place to stay, walking distance to the lake, and the shops. The staff routinely help you, they don't go out of their way to be nice to you, they know the drill. We are pilgrims and we just want almost no frills. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is very clean. At night it is quiet (except for one night I heard a rooster crow. My room was at the back of the hotel.) There is wifi in the room, and for those who just want a regular computer, it is free downstairs...and did I tell you there's a pool?

A lot of Europeans w/ families stay here. The food is so-so, nothing to write home about, but it's ok. Overall, it's a good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: any room was fine here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chubanopolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A hotel which had fallen on hard times, this was refurbished about four or five years ago. Good value and a pleasant atmosphere. Handy for downtown Tiberias with the shops and marina a five minute walk away as opposed to some of the other three stars up the hill. The cuisine is decent, with variety and choice tending to favour more Middle East type dishes but with enough to satisfy those who prefer more basic stuff. The rooms were good with the best views to the front. The staff friendly and helpful. For the price, location and amenity this is not bad at all compared to other hotels in its class and I am happy to return, as I have done with our group.

Room Tip: High and at the front will give a wonderful mornings experience of watching the sun come up over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Ok be warned! lets do the negative stuff 1st...in our 3 days stay we had NO soap in either of the dispensers in our bathroom..they also dont like changing the towels whilst you are there(according to the notice in the bedroom)...and tea/coffee, once used the complimentary pack, thats it.....Food in Israel is quite different to UK...whilst i can say that I eat well at Breakfast and the evening meal, it was THE SAME each day...Evening Meal - a type of fish plus chicken plus beef...with a variety of other items to go with it...deserts were very dull...fruit was great...Breakfast...dont bother with Tea, you wont get a decent cup...nor if U have cereals with milk...its not like ours.....try the Israeli food, you may take to it....IF U do have a FRONT bedroom, you will (before dark) have great views over Sea of Galilee..IF u happen to have a rear bedroom (as we did) U get a view of the hillside and there is a "quarry" type thing/builders merchants at the back...so U will be awakened early...Not a place i would have chosen had i been leading a group..

Room Tip: FRONT with a view...DONT go for the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david221b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
1.2 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#31 of 39 in Tiberias
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#12 of 39 in Tiberias
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#20 of 39 in Tiberias
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 39 in Tiberias
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emily's Hotel
Emily's Hotel
#8 of 39 in Tiberias
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golan Hotel
Golan Hotel
#27 of 39 in Tiberias
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restal Hotel

Address: Yehuda Alevi Street, Tiberias, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Restal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Restal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing