We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As a previous person stated, "Your staying in a Kibuttz"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kibbutz Lavi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kibbutz Lavi Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“As a previous person stated, "Your staying in a Kibuttz"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We are traveling with Globus tours "Fascinating Isreal"
We very much appreciated having a night in the country.
The room was comfortable, spotless clean. Quiet at night.
We had good food.
Enjoyed walking the grounds.
And attended the lecture on the history of the Kibbutz.
You have amazing views of the countryside.
They offer free wifi. And the connection was great.
All the staff very very pleasant to talk with
Give it a try

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Riorouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    146
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
106
105
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Israeli hotels are significantly different than their American counterparts. How? Two words come to mind: utilitarian and minimalist.

I visited this property in late March 2014, as part of a 22 person group that was touring Israel. Hotel Lavi served as our central base of operations for two days and we spent very little time (other than sleeping) in this property.

Location: Off the beaten path, which depending upon your perspective is either a good or bad thing. Do NOT select this hotel if you want to shop, bar hop or visit local restaurants. You are a decent distance away from any of those options. The positive, is that the location was quiet and peaceful.

Food: Perhaps a cut above typical Israeli hotel fare. Since this hotel seems to cater to large groups, visiting the dining room does call for some (although not an excessive amount) of patience since one will encounter lines and fellow visitors jockeying for food. The staff did a fantastic job of keeping food replenished during peak periods and we found that the variety and quality of food for breakfast and dinner more than acceptable. Keep in mind that this is an Orthodox Kibbutz and food selection follows traditional Kashrut law.

Room: Our room was minimalist in nature and we liked it. Wooden floors, clever LED lighting, a large bathroom (with plenty of shelf storage) and a pretty decent view. The only two annoyances, no wash clothes (seems to be true throughout Israel) and a fairly noisy mini refrigerator that was located in the closet. Other than the top shelf of the bathroom with a layer of dust, we found our room to be VERY clean (I'm 6'6" and can see things that others can't). We did notice just a whiff of unpleasant odor in the bathroom (possibly sewer gas, but didn't smell exactly like that) but it was very minor, not always noticeable and a non-issue at night when we simply kept the bathroom door closed.

Grounds: Never had a chance to see them. Another member of our group told us that the 1 mile walking/jogging path around the hotel was very nice.

Staff: Only staff members that we encountered where people in the gift shop (FANTASTICALLY friendly and helpful), the bartender (a bit surly, but we had just visited Golan Winery and "imported" our own bottle into the hotel bar) and a member of the Kibbutz that very earnestly talked with our group about Kibbutz life in a "traditional" (Lavi is one of 20 remaining traditional Kibbutz) Kibbutz.

Whenever I check out of a hotel, I ALWAYS ask two questions:
1) Did I receive value for my money?
2) Would I stay here again?

Since this stay was bundled with the cost of our trip, I have no way to fully answer this first question. Would I stay here again? Depends on the cost and whether the location would be an issue. If the cost is reasonable ($200 USD seems to be the cost of a decent hotel in Israel) and I had transportation then yes, I wouldn't hesitate to book a room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own wash cloth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank audio_man01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Clean-pleasant staff- nice little bar (with decent) wine- a little work out room. Beds/baths clean and quiet ~ it was all good for me. I'll stay there again! I liked the atmosphere of the kibbutz- a real taste of Israeli history and life.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skygal124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I came here with a big tour group and it appears this is what the hotel caters to most from what I have seen. The place is just average really. Clean, relatively new and rooms well kept. The hotel is a good distance from Tiberius. So if you want to get away, relax, and do nothing much this is the place for you. If you like to shop, go to nice restaurants this is NOT the place for you. Just depends what you want. I do not mean this in a bad way. You just need to understand what this place is all about. It is a Kibbutz. In house restaurant serves the staple of food what we have been eating in these big buffets. I am glad I came to experience this and understand what this is all about but I prefer more luxurious amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miked3328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in mid-March as independent travelers, one of the few couples not part of a group. We got an upgraded room, at the 'Hod' level which had a balcony which we did not use because of the rainy weather. The room was fairly new, comfortable, and roomy. We had both breakfast and dinner at the kibbutz, which we enjoyed, particularly the large selection of Israeli salads. On the downside, the man at the front desk was a bit abrupt and did not alert us to the English language evening talk on Kibbutz life. We did not see the notice about the talks until the next day when that evening's talk was in Italian, probably catering to an Italian group.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've pondered what to write about this hotel because normally I try to keep reviews as positive as possible but I'm afraid with the Kibbutz Lavi I have some negative comments as well. We stayed for two nights as part of a small tour group. The first night we arrived late after a huge day of travelling and sight-seeing and were feeling absolutely exhausted. After dinner we then attended an interesting talk on the workings of this kibbutz and life on the kibbutz in general presented by a nice man who'd lived there for over twenty years. It was rather good to learn a few things about it all. My first impression of the kibbutz hotel was how far away from reception our room was, probably the furthest distance than in any other hotel I've stayed in across the world. My first impression of the room was that is was okay and perfectly acceptable, but first impressions can be deceiving. Within seconds I could see that it hadn't been cleaned properly, if at all. The toilet had an odour of urine, and around the bed, bits of dropped pretzels, threads and other unidentified things were here and there on the carpet. A disgrace. However, being too exhausted to walk all the way back to reception and ask to change rooms so late or even call, I checked the bed, the linen and towels (which were clean) and decided to fall straight into bed and deal with it in the morning. After complaining to reception first thing in the morning, we then left for the day. When we returned that evening the room had been cleaned immaculately. It even smelt nice. A satisfactory result. Now to the food: I wasn't impressed one bit and would best describe it as ordinary. This hotel's food is no culinary delight. So mixed feelings here. Maybe some kibbutz members try hard to get things right, maybe some don't...I don't know. But what I do know is that this place fell well short of my standards. One good thing though and credit where credit is due ... the wifi worked really well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I am still cringing when I think about how badly designed this place is. The architects and designers should be punished along with whoever funded this building. The bathrooms are tiny with NO counter space and a door that swings inward hitting the toilet. The bedrooms are small with low beds and too much large furniture. Windows must be closed for the room fan to work and there is no fan in the bathroom. Carpet is old and dirty. Included meals are mediocre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jdifrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
6.2 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
6.0 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
5.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Prima Galil
Prima Galil
#11 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
5.8 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
6.0 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#14 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Lavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Lavi Hotel

Property: Kibbutz Lavi Hotel
Address: Lower Galilee, Tiberias 15267, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibbutz Lavi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant luxury with a relaxed "heimish" kibbutz atmosphere. Tranquil and pastoral, with sports facilities. Shabbat observance. Food abundant and delicious - glatt kasher lemehadrin. Family oriented with in / out door play grounds. Superb views and in-house tourist guide directing to regional attractions and sites. Within easy access to sites and cities in Israel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kibbutz Lavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavi Kibbutz
Hotel Kibbutz Lavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing