We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn and a distance from Old City” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prima Galil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prima Galil
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worn and a distance from Old City”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I spend two nights in the Prima Galil as a single traveler in a tour group. Because it was rated as a 3rd tier, tourist hotel, I expected my room to be worn, functional, yet clean. It was, in fact had a dated decor with carpet so worn my shoes only came off as I went to bed. It was not that clean, either. Additionally, the lifts are incredibly slow. The system of one elevator for even floors, and another elevator for odd floors, with the turtle-pace crawl, made it just easier to walk up and down my 6 floors. As for the dining services, my plan only included breakfast. Because I arrived on a Friday night, all town restaurants were closed so I was grateful I could dine in the hotel - for the premium price of $25 USD. While there was quantity (as in all of Israel), it lacked quality. Finally, with the intense heat of summer, the 20 minute walk into town center, through streets under construction, was not easy. As a solo female traveler, I would have liked to be more centrally located. I simply did did not feel comfortable walking the whole distance to town center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all the reviews very seriously. We will make sure that our housekeeping staff and food & beverage staff are aware of your comments and that they should pay a closer attention to their duties.

I am sure that if you will give us a second chance and chose to stay with us in the future, you will learn that your comments gave helped us improve our service and our product quality.

Hope to see you again as our guest.

Prima Galil staff and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    119
    83
    26
    22
See reviews for
150
143
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent two night during midweek and we didnt expect the hotel and all he's facilities would be as good as they were. The room, the staff, the free wi-fi in the lobby and of course the food first there was BBQ then some local desert called "knaffe". We highly recomend!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zohar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Wow!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a details and wonderful review.
One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay, our service, hotel facilities and overall concept of the hotel.
Hope to see you again soon in Tiberias!

Prima Galil Staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed for 7 days at the Prima Galil at Tiberias. Was a pleasure to stay here. It's a very basic hotel with all you need for a beach vacation. The staff is very friendly however there English is not the best, they have difficulties to understand my questions. We had two rooms, one single and one suite. Don't expect to much of the suite. Only on tv in the bedroom. Therefor no real entertainment in the living. Rooms are mostly clean, it can use some fresh bathrooms.
Internet connection is free, and most of the time it works like a charm. In the evenings when it's busy it can be a bit slow.
Breakfast is more then amazing! Excellent food, possible to have a egg made while you wait. Also mostly clean tables.
Around the location it can look a bit messy, difficult to park, as there are not a lot of parking spaces. So you need to park on the street, and there are not so many spaces. Sometimes you can also blocked in the next day. And without a car there is not to much to do around. However the city-center is 15 min walk, going there is downhill while getting back can be tricky as the heat can get to you.

All over my stay was a pleasure and if I come back I will for sure think about staying there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the side of the entrance, very quit. Also all uneven floors have a elevator dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chayimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a details and helpful review. All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again!

Thank You Again,
Prima Galil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst on tour and it is of reasonable standard, set on the hillside up a narrow road makes access by coach interesting and any walking into the town or shops downhill to start with. The rooms whilst small are perfectly formed (seems to be a theme throughout Israel) and were clean although the carpet had seen better days.
The lifts were interesting, this hotel has one lift for odd floors and one lift for even floors which is fine until someone doesn't shut the outer door correctly on exit thus denying the lift to anyone else until it is shut. This meant that on far too many occasions we had to either go down or up a flight of stairs to cross over or just walk down or up the stairs which is a pain if you are on the 6th or 7th floors.
The restaurant was good with an excellent selection of food, the service was a little slow but improved and our only niggle was having to squeeze by everyone to get to your seat, why groups are crammed in like this is beyond me as the place was nowhere near maximum capacity.
There was computer access in the lobby & bar and drinks were similarly priced throughout our trip around 10 to 15 shekels for beer and 20 for wine. If you need supplies there are several corner shops down the hill where alcohol and water are substantially cheaper. We have to say that the best bit of this hotel was retiring to the terrace for coffee or (drinks) after the meal to enjoy sitting out in the warm evening looking over the sea of Galilee with the occasional entertainment put on by the management, enjoy.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view but remember the lift issues!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a details and helpful review. All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests.
We are happy you enjoyed our food and the great view of the sea of galilee!

Best Regards,
Einat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I am a Filipino that travelled around the country and always prefer to stay in hotels and kibbutzim lodges depending on the purpose of the travel which i want to see around the area. Prima Galil, Tiberias is one of the nicest hotels I ever stayed in two nights regardless of the location with small swimming pool. It doesn't have that fancy look outside but worth a while inside due to its cleanliness with helpful staffs,very comfy, good meals and feels like at home, etc. Last but not the least, the cheapest hotel i ever stayed for two nights! That was a surprised for me compared to other hotels I stayed with the same amenities and services. Generally worth a try, it will solve your budget. A place to dwell.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humbert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Wow!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a details and wonderful review.
One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay, our service, hotel facilities and overall concept of the hotel.
Hope to see you again soon in Tiberias!

Prima Galil Staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was in Prima Galil as part of "Shabbat Chattan" and was very disappointed: the rooms were dirty, and feeling like in a motel, the swimming pool was overcrowded, and the food in the dining room was dry and reused (we got the same salads in all the meals between thursday - saturday!).

This hotel is really not recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonyBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all the reviews very seriously. We will make sure that our housekeeping staff and food & beverage staff are aware of your comments and that they should pay a closer attention to their duties.

I am sure that if you will give us a second chance and chose to stay with us in the future, you will learn that your comments gave helped us improve our service and our product quality.

Hope to see you again as our guest.

Prima Galil staff and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

hi we are bride & groom we had shabat chatan in prima galil ' its like part of the 2 families get togother to meet and know eath other' we booked rooms in galil then we needed more rooms they told us the hotel was full so we had to take 4 rooms in the other hotel prima 2 / we didnot like that but we had ni choice ' we we arrived we found out that we and my wife ( the bride) are booked in prima 2 they told us you will be happy they were very rught we had a very bug romm wuth private jacuzzi w o w . from here we loved every thing in this hotelthe service was excellent the food was delicios ' spicy & looks great and we had a private meetung room onky for us ; we felt vip. thank you prima galil & too satff

Room Tip: they have also prima 2 hotel and its a very good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morad t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einat S, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Wow!
Thank you for taking the time to post such a details and wonderful review.
One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay, our service, hotel facilities and overall concept of the hotel.
Hope to see you again soon in Tiberias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
1.5 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#20 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza
#18 of 37 in Tiberias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#14 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Galil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Galil

Property: Prima Galil
Address: 1 Elhadif St, Tiberias 14105, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prima Galil 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated hotel is situated on a hilltop in the center of historic Tiberias, decorated in a refreshing style- designed to give guests a feeling of serenity. The Prima Galil is an unbeatable base from which to explore the Israel northern region, the Galilee and the Golan heights. • 93 Rooms with FREE WIFI in room and public areas • Family rooms and suites • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Resource Library with books, maps & self-guided tours • Mini web site info station - with local tours & attractions • Exhibits of Galilee products • Dining room overlooking the Sea of Galilee • Art gallery, Bar & Garden Lounge • Swimming pool (in season) • Free wireless internet in public areas and rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Prima Galil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Galil Hotel Tiberias
Prima Hotel Tiberias
Tiberias Prima Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing