We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic budget hotel”
Review of Dona Gracia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Gracia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very basic budget hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at the Dona Gracia for one night while traveling to the north of Israel. This is a very basic budget hotel. I did feel that it was overpriced for what it was. I would expect to pay about $50 or so for a hotel of this quality. The lobby was very nice, but the rooms were very basic and felt a little worn out. There was a Birthright program while we were there and they were also quite noisy. Breakfast is served in the basement and it was also very basic. If you are traveling on a budget or want a very basic accommodation, then this will be a fine fit, but if you are looking for something a little nicer, I would keep looking. The Dona Gracia does allow one night stays, which I know that other neighboring hotels do not, so that is something to keep in mind.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeLover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    27
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel during my 6th visit to Holyland. It is a decent hotel and can be considered as superior 3* but not a 4*. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a small museum in the lobby. They could have maintained it better with proper illumination.The lobby is dark because of no proper light. I didn't like the restaurant which is again a dark one and the food is also not great.The location is very good with more shops and the hotel is walk-able distance from Sea of Galilee. Overall its an average hotel but better than other 3* properties in Tiberias.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My brother and I stayed here in July of 2011. The hotel is outdated, but still remains comfortable and clean. The staff was nice to work with, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaelgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

A basic hotel, quite clean, a bit worn out. Food is OK.
Compared to the other hotels on the hillside of Tiberias, those which are noot on the coast of the lake of Galilee it is better

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massoud010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel looks something sobrenatural, to the worst sense of the word; it seems to me that I was in a Museum of Horror, at the lobby they put an old piano with a woman painted like a ghost, the rooms are awful, mattress is terrible, bathroom is unbelievable you cannot take a shower without throwing water everywhere, the towels (oh my God) are very hard and dark and small too, the whole impression is scaring, my group hated the stay at this hotel, IT IS NOT CLEAN, THE WINDOWS ARE SO DIRTY YOU CANNOT SEE THE LAKE OUTSIDE ...................... never again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saphira47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tiberias hotels

Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
196 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The public areas of the Dona Gracia Hotel are beautifully furnished in 16th century style. Unfortunately, the rooms are furnished in modern motel, very basic and completly lacking in charm.

The walls were so thin that we could here the people in the next room carrying out a conversation and coughing. Luckily, we only had neighbors on one side. The window in the room overlooked the lobby, rather than the outside, and if someone had claustophobia, they really would have suffered. The room was very narrow, with barely enough space to walk around the bed.

The bed was very comfortable, but there must have been a shortage of fabric when they made the sheets. These barely covered the bed, with just enough fabric to tuck in on the sides, and not enough to tuck in on top and bottom. So, chances are, if you're at all a restless sleeper, part of you would be on the bare mattress by morning.,

There was a lot of storage space, but no comfortable place to sit; only a small stool near the desk/vanity.dresser. There were good reading lights by the bed, however.

The bathroom was small, and the tub had only a hand-held shower. The towels were very rough. There was ni hair dryer provided.

Breakfast was no better than 2-star, limited dairy products and no fresh fruit. The saving grace was tasty pancakes, which, unfortunately, were tepid even as they came out from the kitchen. The buffet dinner was also not very high quality.

The museum is worth a visit, but you'd be best off staying at a different Tiberias hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

It was an okay place to stay; clean and with a decent breakfast. As usual (in an Israeli hotel) I found the staff bordering on unfriendly and only mildly helpful. Oh well, I just wanted a clean, safe place to stay as a woman travelling on her own and this hotel gave me just that.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — disinterested staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 37 in Tiberias
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza
#16 of 37 in Tiberias
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#17 of 37 in Tiberias
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Gracia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Gracia Hotel

Property: Dona Gracia Hotel
Address: Rehov HaPrachim 3, Tiberias 14204, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Gracia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dona Gracia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing