We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me my mother and her friend from France stayed in the hotel for one night on jun 2014. first of all i will list the things that were good: the staff and personnel where very nice and accommodating, the lobby is nicely decorated, the fact that there is a privet beach is a positive in any hotel and the continental breakfast was very good and with a wide selection and hight quality. but this is NOT a five star hotel, at best it is 3.. ten years ago, the rooms are basic, generic, there is nothing decorative, lux or tempering about them, the hotel needs serious work done, there is only one elevator for all the hotel and for our room we had to walk far and in the middle of the way there where stairs(about 8) and we had to curry the luggage by ourselves. in the morning we asked them to extend the checkout time from 11 am to 12-13 pm they fat out refused(the hotel was far from being fully booked), after pleading they agreed that we will cheek out at 12:30 but sent the cleaning lady and another staff member knocking on our door much earlier, they charge so much (1500 shekel for one night, basic room for 3 persons with breakfast only) money under false pretenses that it is a five star hotel, but it is not! and that was something that really annoyed us. i will not return there, not because it was not ok, but because they overcharge in a way that you are feeling that they are ripping you off…

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GigiEven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were here in October, 2013, well after the peak summer/fall season. Although uncrowded, the pool was closed and the hotel was into the winter season. The staff is excellent and the rooms acceptable. The best selling point is the great location half way up the west side of the Sea of Galilee. In the evenings, there is a nice walk north along the shore with lots of cafes and interesting people. The Golan Heights across Galilee reflect the red sunsets. During the day, boat rides and boat tours of Galilee are close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

To be fair, I did not tour the whole hotel so maybe some parts are updated, but where we stayed, it was not.
The first problem was that only 1 elevator served the entire hotel. If there was another one, it did not provide service to our area. We climbed the stairs rather than wait, ok if you don't have your suitcases to drag with you.
The room had a very nice view of the Kinnereth, but when I saw our bed, I was very disappointed. The beds were twin beds pushed together, with separate blankets and bedding, not made up for a couple. My husband actually fell between the two beds one night when he came over to snuggle.
As I unpacked I noticed the plastic hangers and knew this wasn't a 5 star hotel. Plastic hangers? Who are they kidding?
The bathroom was also disappointing, old and drab. The shower was so-so. The housekeeper took my shower cap that I'd brought from home, even though it was hanging up.
The breakfast buffet which was included for us was very slight compared to the breakfast buffets in the better hotels.
We knew that the hotel had a great history and was David Ben Gurion's favorite, but I don't think they've updated the rooms since he stayed there.
I really felt that this hotel had nothing going for it but the location on the lake.

Room Tip: Is there a good room? What type of room are you looking for? We had a view but we had twin beds...yu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imanaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It's a great location but has seen better days. It needs a good remodeling to give it better than 2 stars. The room had a vinyl floor, a toilette smell that never went away and a dead cockroach in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetBlack3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were touring Norhern Israel and this hotel suited us perfectly. It is nicely situated in the SEa of Gallillee, close to many restaurants along the 'boardwalk". The staff were friendly and helpful (except for the shortage of white wine-which is odd for a wine producing country).
Rooms were clean and confortable. The hotel is a bit pricey, but it's a tourist hotel. I'd return and our only regret is that we didn't stary longer. As with all Israeli hotels, the breakfast was amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Answerman543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A big let down for this hotel that claims to be 5-star. The hotel, furnishings, beds, restaurant have all seen better days. No free internet (even at lobby) for staying guest. Even the staff looked worn out. Hardly got a smile from any of the staff.

The hotel has a beautiful location and its a pity that the hotel is not living-up to its very rich history.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Fxc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Not lacking for activity, this hotel is on the shore of the Sea of Galilee with a pool, very nice spa, and a shoreline which you can walk. You can also rent bikes up the street or walk along the pier.

This hotel does observe Kosher requirements, so not all food and beverage are available all the time, including limits on bread and beer from Friday evening to Saturday evening. Still it's all amazing whether you are religious or not. The array of options is vast and event the most picky eaters will find great food.

Rooms are average but the bathroom was gorgeous. VERY nice. You should note that room service in terms of cleaning is not the same as you find in the West. Your bed will be made but towels are not replenished, particularly wash cloths. You get one, and if you put it on the floor you do not get another (this was true in all hotels we stayed in more than one night). Additionally on the first night, the soap, conditioner & shampoo were Dead Sea mineral products in the bathroom, which we used and loved. Once used, those were replaced with single bottles of "dollar general" items and were not replaced if used. The rooms seemed to have thin walls, and we were privy to a wailing cat that kept our whole group up for several evenings.

Don't waste your time purchasing wifi in your room. It is so slow and sporadic you will be frustrated by the wasted money, unless you go to the lobby where it seems to work better. HINT: Due to the observance of the Sabbath, wifi is free on Friday night in the lobby.

There is a very nice patio which we gathered with friends each night and enjoyed local wine and beer. The wait staff were very nice, and accommodating. The lobby has ample places to sit and enjoy a pot of hot tea or coffee. It was beautiful with a gorgeous view of the Sea of Galilee.

The boardwalk seemed a little sketchy at night but it did have a McDonalds which for people who are not observing dietary restrictions of the Sabbath, this was very helpful to get a latte in the evening.

Would I stay here again? Yes! the sunrise over the Sea is worth the price of the room! Absolutely spectacular!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.4 mi away
Scots Hotel
Scots Hotel
#6 of 38 in Tiberias
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caesar Premier Tiberias
Caesar Premier Tiberias
#4 of 38 in Tiberias
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
0.7 mi away
U Boutique Kinneret
U Boutique Kinneret
#10 of 38 in Tiberias
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mineral Tiberias
Mineral Tiberias
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel

Address: 1 Eliezer Kaplan Street | Tiberias, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tiberias
#1 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#1 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Business Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range: £121 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Golan Heights, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee, The Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Luxury hotel combines pampering vacation and well being with a unique location and private beach. Spa facilities include well equipped spa with 13 varied treatment rooms, mineral water pool with jet water streams, saunas and gym. Also available dining room, lobby, outdoor pool, private beach, pool snack bar. The hotel offers many attractions, active vacations and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing