We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!!! High prices :(”
Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!! High prices :(”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the north exit from Tiberias and the grounds are totally amazing. Staff is kind and helpful and the room was nice and spacious. The breakfast is one of the best we had in hotels. The only cons was the high price. Guess if you want a good hotel in Tiberias you have to pay:/

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judithno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    134
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
136
292
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you find yourself in Tiberias this is the only nice hotel in town. The rooms were ok, but not a great value given the price.

The service was spotty as well and the front desk was extremely rude to us when we complained about the communal iron ruining my husband's shirt as we were getting ready for a wedding. For a hotel of this class, they should listen to their customers better.

The grounds are superb as well as the food - the included breakfast is to die for - lots of homemade pastries, egg dishes, fresh fruits, vegetables, jams, etc. They even have homemade honey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnbarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is an old brick building which was once a hospital.
The history of the hotel and the story of Dr Tourance from Scotland , who managed it are outstanding.
great location
private beach & outdoor swimming-pool- just across the street over a private bridge(!)
walking distance from the Sea and promenade
The only downside is the price....
It is nor cheap...
And the Spa - even more ...

Room Tip: Yes- pay a bit extra -spoil yourself to Sea-View On a clear day you might see someone walking on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. Great hotel. The food was amazing. The staff was very nice and welcoming. The weather this time of the year is very good. We did two massages , each one of us did one, and they were very relaxing. A++

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orisheffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Scots hotel in downtown Tiberias near the Sea of Galilee is a comlex of buildings some new and other were the Scots hospital which were renovated I stayed in the new building.
A first class hotel in all aspects with a touch of magic , highly recommeneded.
Breakfast and supper were the best food i had in Israel's hotels with great variety perhaps because it is not "kosher".The Spa and Fitness center staff are very qualiffied and professional.
The hotel , the rooms , the public places are very clean .The hotel has a nice private pool and parking place for no charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had already toured Tel Aviv, Roman ruins, and Scotts Hotel was a welcome relief. Beautiful beyond description. Quiet, after the hustle of Tel Aviv, it was so welcome, so peaceful.
Fabulous food, lamb with sauerkraut for dinner was a crowed pleaser...I tried to get the recipe but could not.Lovely scotch bar, my son had just completed ulpan at Kibbutz Yagur, and the bartender awarded him a shot of a very smokey whiskey, how very sweet, it made our trip so much more personal.
Tiberious itself is best ignored, it reminded me of Brooklyn, 'nuf said?

Room Tip: You want to get one of the older rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaide100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel holon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

For me this is not the first time. And probably not the last.
The rooms, the service, the restaurant, the lake, the view of the Golan Heights, just continue like this.

Staff dedicated to the visitors.
Chef prepares excellent food and impressive submission
Beautiful rooms and very clean

Room Tip: Worth a try, will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlomo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.1 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#14 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#12 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Property: Scots Hotel
Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing