We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited Israel in March 2014. We stayed at the Scot's Hotel in a Unique Room for 3 people. This room was very small and unfit for 3 people. It cost $525.00 which is terribly overpriced for this caliber room. I would not recommend this hotel, especially for 3 people. The rooms are 25 sq meters. The "modern" or "new" wing has no view and the rooms are all small as above.

The internet cost $9.00 per day but is only vaild for 1 computer. Thus, one person has to log off for another person to log on to use the internet. This is archaic and disappointing for a boutique hotel. The front office staff are not helpful.

The grounds are nice and the breakfast is very good.

This hotel is not on par with other 5 star hotels in Israel - ex - King David.

Room Tip: Would not chose the new/modern wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biryanichef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed a week at the historic Scots Hotel while I traveled to the historic sites just a short drive away. It is conveniently located for travelers interested in a Christian pilgrimage and visiting nearby shrines and churches. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous with an incredible variety of fresh fruits, many breads, a rich variety of olives and cheese, pastries, and made to order omelets. Dinner too was delicious. I enjoyed the gardens that surrounded the hotel providing quiet places to sit, look out to the Sea of Galilee, and reflect. The staff were helpful and friendly.
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great building, beautiful gardens, attractive SPA and pool. So-so service but very good buffet. Gym well equipped. Coming back again. Not a lot of restaurants around so use the hotel. Nice excursions to the Golam heights and boat tours nearby

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank FoxM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's certainly a different hotel, in the best sense of the word. The rooms (in the old buildings) are spacious, with high ceilings, beautifully decorated. Magnificent views of the sea of Galilee. Service is professional, for a change. Breakfast must be the best in Israel, and dinners, while not outstanding, are very good too. All in all, a very relaxing experience, very different from your standard Israeli hotel. It's pricey, sure, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Only book a room in the old buildings. The modern building is disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I just read some recent reviews which dovetailed with our experience. The cost was very high at $530 per night and the value for that rate was very low particularly in a community like Tiberias which is quite tacky despite its historical significance.
Minuses were (1) our room was small but had a nice view; (2) the wifi was terrible. The free wifi did not work at all and was
limited to a small space.
We paid $9 a day to use it but one person had to log off because you could not have two devices logged on to the same code. Service on the paid wifi was spotty at best and it irritates me no end to pay an additional $9 on top of $530 a night.(3) The pool was closed at 5pm ( actually 4:50pm) every day and we toured until 4:30 so we never got to use it even though it was light until 7pm. When I asked about this I was told they could not maintain staff there after 5pm??? (4) The staff was not knowledgeable and told me our room did not have a view when in fact it did. I told the same man at the front desk about this and he just shrugged.
Pluses (1) The hotel grounds are beautiful and it has a fascinating history; (2) Very nice breakfast buffet and setting.
Overall, the hotel is not even in the neighborhood of a 5 star hotel and I would not recommend this hotel as the cost far exceeds its value.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The rooms were spacious and clean. The grounds are amazing. The food is the best I have had at a hotel in Israel. My only negative comment is about the wireless internet. You have to pay for it and it hardly works. Everything else is 5 star for Israel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Among the most romantic hotels I stayed. Amazing view of the sea of Galilea. Beautiful buildings well preserved outside, combination of "old" and "new" rooms, very convenient. Nice restaurant. Me and my wife h ad a relaxing massage, nice dinner, Champaign at the room…

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.3 mi away
U Boutique Kinneret
U Boutique Kinneret
#10 of 39 in Tiberias
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#16 of 39 in Tiberias
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#13 of 39 in Tiberias
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emily's Hotel
Emily's Hotel
#8 of 39 in Tiberias
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 1420807, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#2 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range: £236 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing