We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from the Scots, loved every minute of my stay!”
Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Before I go into details, let me clear one point. My review is based on a 2 night stay in the type of room called "Antique" room , upgraded from "Antique Garden" to "Antique View" for an agreed surcharge. The "View" meaning of course - the view of the Sea of Galielee or "Kinereth" in Hebrew.
I have absolutely no knowledge what the so called "Regular" rooms offer.

This said I'll start with the sincere welcome at the reception, even though, we arrived much too early, since I've booked a massage at the Lakeview Spa for 12 o'clock, despite the rooms being offered from 15:00 only. (This was cleared with Reservations in advance - and I made it clear, that I did not expect for the room to be ready!)
We've left the car opposite the reception, and proceeded to the Spa. After the massage, sitting in the "Petite Lounge" of the Spa sipping champagne, , it was hardly 13:00 when I was contacted on my mobile , that our room was ready.

We took the car, as instructed to the back of the building "The Doctor's House" and parked about 20 feet from the back entrance of the building.
The House is Antique, however the elevator is not.
Generally in whichever building you enter there is an elevator for your convenience.
As early as possible a lovely scent greets you in the elevator, and a large Hall, looking like a Knight's hall, on both the floors, with an enormous beautiful carpet.
The room is scented too, there are just 4 really large rooms on each of the 2 floors, and so each - same as mine - a corner room, with 2 windows facing the Sea of Galilee and 2 more the passage leading up to the building.
I won't describe the interior of the room, since you can see it in the website of the Hotel, and there is exact resemblance to the pictures. High ceiling, comfy bed, coffee table and armchairs, a desk and an armchair.
A little fridge, an Espresso with with coffee capsules, vintage china for the espresso and larger cups for tea. Speciality tea varieties in a little wooden box.
The bathroom awaits you of course with bathrobes and slippers, the l'Occitane toiletries on the marble shelf and 2 live (not man-made!) carnations in the vase.
2 shower heads above the bathtub ( one rain type) compete the picture with a real houseplant in front of the large opaque window of the bathroom.
For lunch we proceeded to the Bar, where , for a very reasonable price we had a huge plate of cheeses and salami, with tomatoes, and fresh hot rolls.
In the room a welcome gift of delicacies awaited for us: 3 little jars containing homemade jam, cheese, and olives. Two little boxes, with crackers and shortcake.
After a rest, we strolled in the gardens of the hotel, (Pool closed at 18:00) sat on the swing padded with a large mattress, and just enjoyed the quietness all around.
I have to stress, the cleanliness of every inch of the Hotel, the Garden, the paths in the gardens, everywhere.
For dinner, the restaurant offers a verity of meats, salads, etc. in buffet style, and without asking for it, a bottle of drinking water is brought to the table.
Breakfast is buffet style too, and the dishes offered - including an array of cakes- , is enormous.
Next to our room, was a large terrace with wicker chairs and a table, and of course the view of the Sea of Galilee at night. It was a pleasure to sit outside and breath the fresh air.
No need to mention the large plasma TV.
In the morning ,on the door handle the daily morning paper was hung, and later at the pools, towels provided ; for the lounge chairs too.

Well everything was excellent, whatever is promised in the website is kept and if I do need to confirm that I am human, and that there was something wrong, then it has to be the coffee itself at breakfast. It is the only thing that does not stand up to the luxury standards of the hotel.
But, hey, with all the kindness and courtesy of the staff, the effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, the coffee can surely be excused.

I might have elaborated upon the virtues of the hotel, but I've been to the Waldorf Astoria in N.Y, and the Nile - Elephant Island Oberoi in Egypt, so I do have some comparison.

Room Tip: Antique type room, with Lake View (at a surcharge.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

It was the Sabbath so very few places were open.
This hotel being just across the road from the monastery where I was staying was one of the few that was open. I chose to have supper there and it was a very good decision.
Nothing could be faulted - the service and food was very good and the ambience was wonderful. t certainly did not look like it had been a hospital in its early years.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MervynGatcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Scots Hotel is rely special. It is an hotel with a wonderful historic story of human nature. It is extremely well preserved and has all the beauty of the old stile combined with modern comfort. Rooms with beautiful views day and night classic or modern as you choose. The Torance restaurant has great variety of food [especially the salad buffet] and very generous. On top of all is the service which is perfect, and the yard which is so beautiful and peaceful. Tiberias has great history nice promenade and nice ancient buildings around the hotel. Nearby you have endless attractions of historic value, natural beauty and recreation. One flaw we found is the added cost to use the Spa and the internet, such an hotel at it's specific price can be more careful about additional costs.

Room Tip: there are the old classic rooms and the new building. The classic rooms are really nice but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Tiberias is a scruffy little town on the Sea of Galilee. Sometimes in life it's not just what you are getting but where you are getting it. Anyone trying to compare this to a five star in Paris is not being fair. This hotel has a lot to offer for the weary traveler.

When we arrived, drinks were served while our bags were taken to the room. The room was spacious and overlooked the water. There were a few complaints about the wifi system. But we worked our way through that.

Breakfast and dinner were first rate. The room was clean and well furnished and the staff met our every need. if you are in Tiberias, you can't do any better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly and attentive and you are just few steps away from the Sea of Galilee. It's a bit expensive but it's totally worth it. Morning buffet was outstanding and the atmosphere is relaxed and calm. Wish we could stay for one more month;)

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Ohdannyboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is extremely overprice and is very dirty!!! The wifi leaves much
to be desired. I found hair in my bathroom from the previous visitors.
The amenities are few. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless you want
to get ripped off.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank agentgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at the Scots Hotel for 7 nights over Passover 2014 and give it 4 stars (I would rate it 5 stars within Tiberius). Others who say it wasn't up to par with other 5 star hotels in Israel are missing the point. This hotel is far above anything else in Tiberius - it is an oasis of tranquility and excellence in a city that has not had significant hotel investment in a long time. I paid an average of $430 a night, which is very expensive but worth it if you can afford it and when you compare it to other Tiberius hotels. The room, which had a beautiful view of the Kinneret, was nice but not amazing. Two complaints about the bed: (1) they offered cheap foam pillows that made sleeping uncomfortable. When I complained the next morning, they gave me goose down pillows. Not sure why they don't just have them in the rooms for that price. (2) they do not use a top sheet. There is just a fitted sheet and comforter. When I mentioned that, they put a few top sheets in my room which they curiously did not use to make my bed each day.

This is yet another hotel that charges a lot and yet still nickles and dimes for Wi-Fi. The staff seemed embarrassed (given I paid over $3,000 to stay there) and gave me the internet code for free whenever I asked for it.

The real star is the beautiful grounds. You are walking through history as this used to be a Scottish doctor's house and then a hospital. Breakfast is included and was wonderful, delicious, and unique (note that this is not a kosher hotel). The grounds are beautiful and you cross a bridge over the street to get to the swimming pool, which was tranquil. If you're expecting a lot of bells and whistles for kids at the pool, look elsewhere. This is a place for adults to relax and chill out after tiring days touring the Galilee or Golan.

Parking is quirky but it works. They offer about 8 spots in front of the hotel and then they have more spots that are gotten to via a very narrow passageway that made me way too nervous with my large rented Buick Lacrosse. But, they had another parking lot that is around the corner and offers plenty of spaces. Best of all, that outside lot is connected to their property so you can walk back to your room from there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.1 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#16 of 39 in Tiberias
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
U Boutique Kinneret
U Boutique Kinneret
#12 of 39 in Tiberias
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
0.2 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#13 of 39 in Tiberias
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#2 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range: £238 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing