We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved the hotel. If you are in Tiberias, this is the place to stay! Dinner was just ok, so we preferred to eT elsewhere, but breakfast spreads were just great with amazing fruits, cheeses, eggs, juices and perfect breads. Our room was lovely and overlooked the Galilee, just make sure room is on an upper floor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacalyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    134
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
136
288
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qiryat-Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Before I go into details, let me clear one point. My review is based on a 2 night stay in the type of room called "Antique" room , upgraded from "Antique Garden" to "Antique View" for an agreed surcharge. The "View" meaning of course - the view of the Sea of Galielee or "Kinereth" in Hebrew.
I have absolutely no knowledge what the so called "Regular" rooms offer.

This said I'll start with the sincere welcome at the reception, even though, we arrived much too early, since I've booked a massage at the Lakeview Spa for 12 o'clock, despite the rooms being offered from 15:00 only. (This was cleared with Reservations in advance - and I made it clear, that I did not expect for the room to be ready!)
We've left the car opposite the reception, and proceeded to the Spa. After the massage, sitting in the "Petite Lounge" of the Spa sipping champagne, , it was hardly 13:00 when I was contacted on my mobile , that our room was ready.

We took the car, as instructed to the back of the building "The Doctor's House" and parked about 20 feet from the back entrance of the building.
The House is Antique, however the elevator is not.
Generally in whichever building you enter there is an elevator for your convenience.
As early as possible a lovely scent greets you in the elevator, and a large Hall, looking like a Knight's hall, on both the floors, with an enormous beautiful carpet.
The room is scented too, there are just 4 really large rooms on each of the 2 floors, and so each - same as mine - a corner room, with 2 windows facing the Sea of Galilee and 2 more the passage leading up to the building.
I won't describe the interior of the room, since you can see it in the website of the Hotel, and there is exact resemblance to the pictures. High ceiling, comfy bed, coffee table and armchairs, a desk and an armchair.
A little fridge, an Espresso with with coffee capsules, vintage china for the espresso and larger cups for tea. Speciality tea varieties in a little wooden box.
The bathroom awaits you of course with bathrobes and slippers, the l'Occitane toiletries on the marble shelf and 2 live (not man-made!) carnations in the vase.
2 shower heads above the bathtub ( one rain type) compete the picture with a real houseplant in front of the large opaque window of the bathroom.
For lunch we proceeded to the Bar, where , for a very reasonable price we had a huge plate of cheeses and salami, with tomatoes, and fresh hot rolls.
In the room a welcome gift of delicacies awaited for us: 3 little jars containing homemade jam, cheese, and olives. Two little boxes, with crackers and shortcake.
After a rest, we strolled in the gardens of the hotel, (Pool closed at 18:00) sat on the swing padded with a large mattress, and just enjoyed the quietness all around.
I have to stress, the cleanliness of every inch of the Hotel, the Garden, the paths in the gardens, everywhere.
For dinner, the restaurant offers a verity of meats, salads, etc. in buffet style, and without asking for it, a bottle of drinking water is brought to the table.
Breakfast is buffet style too, and the dishes offered - including an array of cakes- , is enormous.
Next to our room, was a large terrace with wicker chairs and a table, and of course the view of the Sea of Galilee at night. It was a pleasure to sit outside and breath the fresh air.
No need to mention the large plasma TV.
In the morning ,on the door handle the daily morning paper was hung, and later at the pools, towels provided ; for the lounge chairs too.

Well everything was excellent, whatever is promised in the website is kept and if I do need to confirm that I am human, and that there was something wrong, then it has to be the coffee itself at breakfast. It is the only thing that does not stand up to the luxury standards of the hotel.
But, hey, with all the kindness and courtesy of the staff, the effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, the coffee can surely be excused.

I might have elaborated upon the virtues of the hotel, but I've been to the Waldorf Astoria in N.Y, and the Nile - Elephant Island Oberoi in Egypt, so I do have some comparison.

Room Tip: Antique type room, with Lake View (at a surcharge.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It was the Sabbath so very few places were open.
This hotel being just across the road from the monastery where I was staying was one of the few that was open. I chose to have supper there and it was a very good decision.
Nothing could be faulted - the service and food was very good and the ambience was wonderful. t certainly did not look like it had been a hospital in its early years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MervynGatcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
243 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Scots Hotel is rely special. It is an hotel with a wonderful historic story of human nature. It is extremely well preserved and has all the beauty of the old stile combined with modern comfort. Rooms with beautiful views day and night classic or modern as you choose. The Torance restaurant has great variety of food [especially the salad buffet] and very generous. On top of all is the service which is perfect, and the yard which is so beautiful and peaceful. Tiberias has great history nice promenade and nice ancient buildings around the hotel. Nearby you have endless attractions of historic value, natural beauty and recreation. One flaw we found is the added cost to use the Spa and the internet, such an hotel at it's specific price can be more careful about additional costs.

Room Tip: there are the old classic rooms and the new building. The classic rooms are really nice but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Tiberias is a scruffy little town on the Sea of Galilee. Sometimes in life it's not just what you are getting but where you are getting it. Anyone trying to compare this to a five star in Paris is not being fair. This hotel has a lot to offer for the weary traveler.

When we arrived, drinks were served while our bags were taken to the room. The room was spacious and overlooked the water. There were a few complaints about the wifi system. But we worked our way through that.

Breakfast and dinner were first rate. The room was clean and well furnished and the staff met our every need. if you are in Tiberias, you can't do any better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly and attentive and you are just few steps away from the Sea of Galilee. It's a bit expensive but it's totally worth it. Morning buffet was outstanding and the atmosphere is relaxed and calm. Wish we could stay for one more month;)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ohdannyboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is extremely overprice and is very dirty!!! The wifi leaves much
to be desired. I found hair in my bathroom from the previous visitors.
The amenities are few. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless you want
to get ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agentgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 38 in Tiberias
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#15 of 38 in Tiberias
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Property: Scots Hotel
Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing