We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband, 3 adult children and my daughter in law for a few days in July. It had a rather run down outside but inside it was clean and very comfortable, if a wee bit dated.. The rooms were large with comfy, clean beds and airconditioned with good ensuites including baths. There was a good pool with enough sunbeds and some attractive plants etc. It was mostly quite empty apart from late afternoons when people came back from their days out sightseeing and the swimming lessons for local children! There was a small poolside bar with limited drinks but a big container of iced water which we kept using. The breakfasts provided were ample but rather unusual. They included things like pizza and cake, macaroons and grated carrot alongside eggs, rolls, various salads etc. More like lunch perhaps!! Location wise, it i uphill from the Sea-quite a walk in the heat and not for the fainthearted. We found a garage halfway down the hill which was good for lunchtime snacks and a tiny shop just across the road for icelollies etc but really unless you are pretty fit, you would need a car to get to the town centre. Once there, there was a bustling market, loads of small shops and masses of restaurants all trying to get our attention. My favourite was called Basul on the seafront- really quality though limited choice of food in a gorgeous arty setting. We hired motorboats to go for a trip around the bay and we also went Capernaum and the Mount of Beatitudes from there which were both well worth a visit. Hotel wise, the service was good and it was a good, reasonably priced base but you need a car.

Room Tip: All seemed much the same. No real views or balconies that I could see, but all quite acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have visited three times in this hotel and I can recommend it for as good budget hotel. It serves good breakfast buffet, spacy and functional rooms and nice swimming pool with enough size and places for sunbathing. The lights of the rooms could be brighter. Some rooms are not balconies, some have a balcony with the views to close highway. Breakfast varies a bit daily, and at Saturdays, the selection is more limited than other days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

we where a couple of friends looking for a cheap hotel for a weekend. this place was amazing. its not posh has a lovely swimming pool great and very friendly. would defiantly go back again on my next trip to Israel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joekay011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good buffet selection and very tasty both in breakfast and dinner. It is about 15-20 mins walk to the Kinneret promenade, staffs are friendly and helpful. Nicer hotel compared to those around this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunkissedrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week as we travelled in the northern region. Rooms were simple and clean, breakfast was hearty and included in the room rate and the staff were very helpful. The room was a good size for two of us. The room rate was very reasonable and we plan to stay here again when we return to Israel. Noise in the morning was no different than any other hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lottimiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel looks simple from outside, but the location, services, quality, ambience everything is more than expected. specially the restaurant & the breakfast & dinner content offered for us was very appreciable. more than everything , the courteous service of the catering staff was very pleasing.
in my experience of 2 nights & 3 days, it was very pleasant & comfortable stay by all means.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiranBG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

be careful when booking this budget range hotel. we thought we had paid for the room but were charged for two people using it! The price turned out mid range but Israel is expensive so about £70 (2013) The rooms are basic but clean & we enjoyed it. The views of the sea are in the distance & only a glimpse can be seen, but there is free parking. It's quite a walk into the centre & all downhill. It can be noisy at night as youths tend to congregate outside round the small piazza until late. Breakfast was very good & loads of choice & the owner (?) came to ask if we had had a nice stay which was appreciated. The massage centre was really good. The pool is located across from the Hotel & not readily obvious that it's there. It will have to be hot to use it.

Room Tip: go for one at the back due to noise at the front (which may not happen every night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.6 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#30 of 38 in Tiberias
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#23 of 38 in Tiberias
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emily's Hotel
Emily's Hotel
#8 of 38 in Tiberias
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 38 in Tiberias
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#16 of 38 in Tiberias
83 reviews
2 mi away
Mineral Tiberias
Mineral Tiberias
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Address: 13 Bruriah St., Tiberias 14366, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range: £74 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing