We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We made an almost last minute reservation and received what we wished to. In particular, a room with view towards the sea.
The hotel refurbishes all the rooms, we had such a room. Very clean and comfortable.
Kosher breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thierry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

As previous reviews mentioned, the staff are friendly and helpful. The following are my reasons for my low rating: towels were like sandpaper, air conditioner never really got the room cold, the hallway from the elevator to the room was like a sauna, they say wifi is available throughout the hotel but it only works within a radius of the lobby, there is no safe in the room to lock your valuables, on the first morning I had no hot water, but I did have on the second morning, the doors to the room still used an old fashioned key and did not lock unless you locked it with the key, no box of tissues was provided In the room, and the spare roll of toilet paper was stored on the brush handle of the brush that is used to clean the toilet. On our second night a new birthright group arrived. They placed them in rooms next to us and throughout most of our floor. Fortunately, we go to bed around 12:30 a.m. and wake up around 7a.m. so their noise did not bother us too much, if we had wanted to go to bed earlier, it would have been a problem. On a positive note the room was clean. We had dinner there the first night, it was good. While there was a large selection for breakfast, I personally do not like to eat salad as a breakfast meal. Scrambled eggs were out the first morning and the second morning spaghetti with sauce was out instead of scrambled eggs which I thought was a bit odd. Mini pancakes were available both days with chocolate as a syrup instead of maple/pancake syrup, and the pancakes were hard. Pastries were good.
They do appear to be performing upgrades because some rooms clearly had new doors and door frames.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

the hotel is very bad one.
we come to the hotel and get Horrible room some of the lights dont work the a/c is very bad and even the floor is broken.
Most publics spaces Not conditioned.
the food is very poor and the Dining Room is dirty.

do not go there even for 100 nis/

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matke9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel is well located with the view on Galilee Lake and Golan.
Rooms are small and clean for most of the time. You do not have to stay inside. Area is atractive enough and weather always fine.
Meals are great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

stayed 3 nights while touring northern israel. nice breakfast each morning included. nothing fancy as far a sleeping accomodations. nothing more to say really execept that parking is extremely limited

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good size rooms, regularly equipped, typically regional breakfast. A bit uphill from the city center, a short walk away. Not a bad choice if you are just staying in this area, but nothing special (we missed the pool due to very late arrival).

Room Tip: upper floor might be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It might be the best option, if you dont want to spend too much and still are after decent stay. Hotel is somewhat clean, quite rundown. When browsing through other hotel reviews and prices this hotel is pretty ok. Of course it would be nicer to stay closer to the beach and promenade, as this hotel is some 20-30 minute walk from it through not very touristy neighbourhoods. But overall, the hotel standards seem to be low in Tiberias, and we would go and stay at Astoria Galilee again, because we know it :) Some staff is nice, some couldn't care less. Restaurant manager is very nice and attentive man. Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilviaStrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.6 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#30 of 38 in Tiberias
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#23 of 38 in Tiberias
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emily's Hotel
Emily's Hotel
#8 of 38 in Tiberias
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 38 in Tiberias
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#16 of 38 in Tiberias
83 reviews
2 mi away
Mineral Tiberias
Mineral Tiberias
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Address: 13 Bruriah St., Tiberias 14366, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range: £74 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing