We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband, 3 year old daughter and I arrived to Mahe after a delayed flight and finally got to the hotel only to find that the hotel was totally full (despite holding a fully paid confirmed reservation) and were being moved to a Spa villa. When we finally saw the villa, it was beautiful but not ideal for children. The private pool posed a danger for my little one and the location on the North side of this huge hotel quite far away from the actual beach is not what suited us.

Of course the villas are great if staying with the company of friends or for a larger family or simply for people who want that kind of privacy within four walls. We finally got our original room at 9pm at night, a Junior Suite in front of the beach and near the amenities such as the pool, main restaurants, kids club etc. which suited us very much for our short stay.

The manager could have done a lot more to make us feel comfortable such as at least provide a drink or a meal. On the contrary, we were dumped at the reception and restaurant with a small child and to add insult to injury later going to be charged for a full meal that we didnt even have!

The hotel and finishings and facilities are stunning and of very high quality, rooms are well equipped but beware the hotel is quite huge and club buggies are required to get around. In addition, the Seychelles is generally very expensive so be prepared to pay huge sums for meals and beverages of not on Full Board.

Overall a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. It is however indeed a shame that the ignorant attitude of the management put a damper on our stay. A little effort from their part would have otherwise completed our Constance Ephelia experience to full satisfaction.

Room Tip: Check on their website and hotel map, how rooms are spread out across the North Beach and South Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoniHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

This will be 100% NOT be the last time i go to this resort. This staff are very effiecent and helpful. The Suites are large and spacious. The 2 beaches are stunning and both involve different activities. Excellent choice of restaurants, They are also daily activities such as tennis and bike riding.
Very efficent shuttle service going from each side of the island to the receptions and vice versa.
Our trip went smoothly from check in to check out.
The only little niggle i have is check in is quite a long process (15-25 mins) but is quite understandable. (not good if u arrive on the emirates flight from dubai as arrive at 06.05)
The hotel offers excursions around the island and would recommened a snorkalling and visit to Moyenne island.
Overall brilliant hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wanted to go for a island holiday or honeymoon + plus would recommened Seychelles over Maldives & Mauritius.

Room Tip: If staying in Junior Suites request a 1st floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have spent our honeymoon there in the mid of May and had a fabulous time ! This hotel exceeds expectations in almost everything.

Quality of rooms, spaciousness, quality of design and finish as well as service is truly amazing.

I have no negative points to say. Staff is extremely polite and helpful. All facities are top notch.

In my book it is a serious five star place.

The resort is split by a natural protection area into north and south parts. There is golf cart travel between them.. (good fun)

We have payed for full board - wise choice - as it opens up all the restaurant on site for dinner. And those are much more quiet and peaceful than the main one - reserved for all half board people...

On the other hand I am not really sure we there is an option for dinner outside in a nearby distance...Consider that as well

We were very luckly as we have been upgraded to senior suite as a courtesy - which means north beach and closer location to the beach. These rooms are great...

I have to say special thanks for the support from Larissa, Naomi and Suman at North beach reception for the extremely professional help in managing every of our requests, questions...

The spa area is also very elegant and high quality.

If you want a memorable holiday go there !

Room Tip: Senior suite is great and is on the north side vs junior suite however the latter is also more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandZ0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This place is truly amazing. The quality of the rooms, fixtures and fittings is first class. It was decorated with beautiful flowers. We were shown how to use all the gadgets in the room. Apple tv etc. it was my birthday during my vacation and they left a decorated cake in our room. We were a very short walk to the smaller beach and took free pedalo across the bay. Found no problem hopping on and off te buggys to get us about the resort. Every restaurant was lovely. The Buffett every night was so different and delicious. It truly was a romantic getaway. The price of alcohol was ridiculous. Some said it was to put people off drinking!! It worked!! However, just a short walk left out of the resort was a shop /shack you could get some beer/wine to drink on your veranda. We stayed in the first block of accommodation next to the main restaurant. Great as it was near to mst things. Top tip we learnt on our last day, you can use the pool and jacuzzi facilities in the spa place - wow what a litte hidden treasure this was. Just so beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMacKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

After driving through manicured gardens you are greeted with the stunning first sight of the impressive open plan reception area and handed champagne cocktails. Checking in is done by the staff whilst you sip on your drink and gaze out at the beautiful surroundings and all you need do is sign the forms handed to you. Reception area is surrounded by running water canals and ponds which put you into a relaxing mood. The hotel is positioned on a fenced off peninsular and has 2 separate white sand beach areas of about 750m long each plus a very secluded beach accessed over a small hill at the tip of the peninsular. There are at least 3 different types of rooms available from two storey blocks containing 8 rooms each to detached family bungalows both positioned close to the beach's to rooms set high above the beach on a cliff. Our rooms were in the two storey blocks and they were large, clean, well appointed and had sea and pool views from the private balcony. Each block of rooms has it's own swimming pool area which makes for a very private and intimate atmosphere. The penisular area is quite large and golf type carts transport you between each location. Facilites include several very good restaurants, two beach's with water sports including scuba diving and tennis courts. There was live entertainment every night during our stay and our booking included dinner in the main buffet which was first class and catered for all tastes imaginable. For a nominal fee use could be made of the other restaurants provided that an early booking was made which we took advantage of. The staff in the hotel and at the scuba facility were very friendly, helpful and efficient with one exception being a helper at one of the water sports areas who was very rude and intoxicated. Our stay was over the Christmas and New Year period so we just shrugged off this single bad experience and did not let it put us off the rest of our stay. Scuba included one memorable dive where a whale shark was encountered and swam with us for about 30 minutes whilst all other dives we made were conducted in an efficient, friendly and safe manner. This was our 5th trip to the Seychelles and the Ephelia is by far the most luxurious hotel we have stayed in there. In fact the facilities are so good there is no need to need to leave the hotel premises because your every need is catered for. Although Seychelles is a very pretty island generally one of the beach's at the hotel is in a sheltered cove and is stunning.

Room Tip: There are so many types of room available you are spoilt for choice but if you are a family with sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharksSupporter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our first trip to the Seychelles. We stayed at the Constance Ephelia on Mahé. Just at the welcome at the hotel we saw that this was going to be a great trip. Looks and feels like a great resort on Mauritius (the hotel chain originates from there). We really had a great time at the Ephelia and can absolutely recommend this hotel. We would go back without hesitation.

To highlight some positive and also negative things. The positive points first:
- Great location and new resort with lovely rooms
- Very friendly staff
- Food is from very good to excellent. We liked their food concept that restaurant design. Adam & Eve is just like a Maledivian restaurant (barefoot on sand) and Cyann has great cuisine. But also the buffet restaurant shows high quality of food
- The resort is very family friendly
- Had a fabulous renewal there (great job Scholastica!)

Negative:
- Prices for beverages are to high (even for a five star resort in the Indian Ocean)
- The water in the bay sometimes is a little "milky" and a lot of seagrass on the south beach. But in the end also the north beach is really nothing special
- The dive center really is a shame for a great hotel like this. We travel a lot and I am an experienced diver with some hundred dives. But this dive center simply sucks, we even had better and more professional dive centers in countries like Cuba or Nicaragua ... It is way to expensive, the staff is mostly unmotivated (with a local divemaster called Robin being the only exception), you don't get any service and the infrastructure is lousy. I always dive with my own gear and at this dive center you don't get a box for your gear, it's just messed with their rental gear. You have to hang up your wetsuit on old rusty hangers that for sure will ruin your wet suit. They cancel dives very close to departure time (some 20 minutes or so). And while most boat rides take approx. 10 minutes they charge a long range fee for the rides lasting from 10 to 20 minutes. And it is a hefty fee of about 20 Dollars. Simply ridiculous for a maximum of 10 additional minutes on the boat. At the end the even tried to fool me (every sixth dive should be for free, but they tried to charge me 6 out of 6 dives). Only go diving with this lousy dive center if you want to maximize your time at the hotel. Otherwise look for an other dive center that sure will pick you up at the hotel.

To sum it up: The resort for sure would have awarded 5 out 5 points. But because the lousy dive center is part of the resort and is run by resort staff I take the rating down a little. So just forget about the diving and you will have a excellent time at this resort. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank to_many_reg_users
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks for our honeymoon in September 2011. This vast resort is perfect for a honeymoon.. Well spaced out accommodation, pools and dining areas .. You can always find your own space. I particularly loved the outdoor parts of the spa. The food was very good and the staff very helpful. Several times we returned after dinner to a candle lit, petal filled bath. Loved walking out to the island on the south beach and loved that the north and south beaches were so different. The only slight disappointment was the weather.. Not much in the way of clear blue skies and some torrential rain.. Although we returned sun kissed.

Room Tip: See the rest of the island, go with a guide, go to la digue,and praslin even if just for a day trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
16.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: £288 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing