We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Seychelles hideaway”
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a brilliant hotel! We travelled here to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary, upon arrival it was pouring with rain - not quite what we were expecting! However once we arrived at the hotel - 40 mins drive from the airport, it soon cleared up and the welcome we received from Racquel was brilliant, we had arrived at 9am, so we're not expecting to be able to get into our room until later in the day but as soon as the check in formalities were complete she was able to take us to our room in 400 block. This was close to the reception area on the South side and was nice and quiet. The roo is dry high tech very comfortable and exceptionally clean. I had requested an upstairs room which we were provided with.
The hotel is spread over a huge area, and we got lost a few times before getting our bearings, the hotel has been very cleverly laid out the the rooms are set in smaller clusters around a pool, and a restaurant.
The resort is spread over two main areas the South Beach where the suites are located, and the North Beach, where the family suites and private villas are located. The South beach is tranquil and quiet, whereas the North side is busier with water sports.
We were booked on a half board basis, which i would recommend, as the cost of food and drink is very expensive. We used to go outside the resort on the North side to a small shop to get some nibbles and beers etc to have on our balcony prior to our evening meal.
The restaurants are all good we ate at the Corosol, Helios, Sesewala and Adam & Eve, all very good.
It is quite a walk from one end of the resort to the other, so grab a golf buggy, they run frequently, and everyone is really happy and willing to help in any way. Special mention to Hilda a buggy driver who was fantastic, a great asset to the hotel.
We were also invited to the managers cocktail party one evening, this was brilliant, and we met some of the management team. Seema was very nice and welcoming, it was a pleasure to meet her and that she had time for a chat with us. Thank you.
We hired a local driver via the hotel to take us around the island for a morning, this was well worthwhile and we were able to get a flavour of the beautiful island. Well worthwhile.
All in all a fantastic choice to celebrate our anniversary, all the staff were great, hotel great , Seychelles great. We hope to be able to return one day.,
If you get the chance go to the Seychelles, it is everything you think it will be and more!

Room Tip: Room in block 400 upstairs, is lovely and quiet but relatively close to the main Reception area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alitravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

As other reviews have said, the North beach is much better- there are plenty of loungers and it is great for swimming. It is picture perfect and the free pedalos, kayak etc are great. However, don't bother with the snorkeling equipment as you won't see much and the water can be cloudy as the sand is so fine. If you want to see fish, I think you need to go on a day trip.

The South beach is almost non-existent at high tide but at other times it is nice for a walk and the mangrove kayak tour leaving from the boat house is not to be missed! The water is shallow and it is possible to walk over to the island across from the beach but I would recommend taking some coral shoes along with you.

We stayed in a junior suite which was lovely and for the two of us there was plenty of room. There was so much to do that we didn't spend that much time in it! The spa is stunning and free to use until 2pm. Despite the resort being 97% full, we didn't feel have any trouble getting loungers etc and didn't feel that it was overcrowded. It did seem that the pools in the South of the resort were a bit busy- mainly with families but this did not affect us as we much prefer to swim in the sea. I was surprised that so many people took their children on a holiday like this so if that is a problem for you, try to go outside of school holidays. We used insect repellent and a plug-in in our room and had no trouble at all with mosquitoes. I would agree with the other reviewers who say that the service can be patchy- sometimes it exceeded my expectations and others it was a little lacking. We went full board but if you are planning on doing many trips you should go half board at the least as there is nothing much around the hotel. On the whole I would definitely recommend this resort as it is such a beautiful setting and the hotel as a lot of facilities.

Room Tip: If staying on south side go for a room nearer reception to reduce walking time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days here on our babymoon in March 2014. One of the reasons we picked this hotel is because it's on the main island and we didn't have to take another flight or boat ride from Mahe.
We absolutely loved our stay. Here are some of the things we liked:
- Beautiful Gorgeous Beaches and natural beautifully preserved territory!
- Big resort territory with various beaches, pools, mangroves, hiking areas, overlook points etc
- Lots of activities as well, we did something new every day and were never bored (beaches, diving, hiking, car rental to explore the island, spa, yoga, gym, bike rides, a bit of shopping, waterfall near the resort etc etc)
- Good quality and variety of food, several restaurants to choose from
- Beautiful, spacious, light room - we stayed at the junior suite on the ground floor with a view of a pool and garden, just a few steps away from the beach
Things we didn't love as much
- All of the extra costs - although we were completely prepared and read the reviews beforehand. Drinks with meals were expensive, water was over $10, wine was $15+ etc
Even getting bicycles for a day to ride around the resort cost us quite a bit of money.
- Service at breakfast - 9 out of 10 times we had to wait forever to get coffee/tea and we had to remind the staff at least 2-3 times. Some of them were really nice and attentive (Rosaline was awesome), some really looked like they hated to be there. Service in general is bit slow here and not always consistent, however there are some exceptions!

All these things were minor annoyances, and didn't affect the overall stay as much :) I would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Junior suites are on the south side of the resort, which is very green, there are 3 pools in that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MashakaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived at noon and received our suite in no time. The suite ( a senior suite on the north beach) was well organized and comfortable. I requested a suite on the upper floor, in order to improve the view towards the sea however, it did not help because the front line is covered with trees and you really cannot see the sea, just between the trees. Anyway , it did not make a difference. The resort is great. Food is great. The diving center is well organized. and everything was very good.

The only disappointment was regarding the Kayak trip in the mangroves which was only on Tuesday and Sunday, meaning effectively , for us who arrived on Tuesday, only the opportunity to participate on Sunday, and it was fully booked!
My advice is to book it in advance, prior to arrival thus, to secure your place.
It was a great vacation and a very good point to start journeys to other islands like Praslin and La digue.
I hope to visit there once again sometime in the near future.
Uri L.

Room Tip: If you prefer swimming-go near the north beach. If you prefer beach walks-go near the south beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UriLTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay in a Senior Suite, which as a family of three provided plenty of room. On the whole we found the hotel to be fabulous and the setting is truly wonderful. I will break down my review into sections!

Room: We arrived mid afternoon and were escorted to our room straight away by a very pleasant lady who explained everything well and made check in a breeze. The room was very spacey and as we were on the end( room 87) we had a slightly bigger balcony. Everything was spotless and housekeeping were exceptional, with clean towels provided twice daily if requested. Bottled water is provided free of charge in your room, and again replenished twice a day. Personally I had no issue drinking the water and found it tasted the same as tap water at home. The bathroom felt luxurious with some lovely products that were always topped up( needn't of bothered bringing our own shampoo/ conditioner etc!). The air con seemed to be set at lowest 18 degrees, which felt very comfortable.

Restaurants: We went Full Board, so could eat breakfast in Seselwa and lunch at either Seselwa or Helios. Dinner could be taken at any restaurant, but sometimes there are supplements to pay. You could eat at the Corossol ( buffet) at no extra cost, you could also eat at Adam and Eve for no extra cost if eating from the set menu ( the set menu was very good and the portions very large, so we did not see the need to order extra side dishes). Helios and Seselwa were generally also included, however one evening Helios had a pasta and risotto night for an extra 200 scr, they served so much food we felt the supplement was a fair price to pay. We also paid 700 scr for the Seselwa Creole night, which included unlimited selection of drinks and a very good buffet together with a traditional dance show. The Cyann is the fine dining restaurant, this always has a supplement. You can either eat off the set menu for 350 scr extra or have a credit of 400 scr off the a la carte menu. The food here was certainly very good and well worth a visit. They also offer wine pairing menus, which was 950 scr for the South African wines( of which we got four glasses).
To summarise, the food was good but not really exceptional, for us the better meals were in Adam and Eve and Cyann. The selection at breakfast was okay but not really what you would expect at a 5 star hotel, I also personally hate flys over buffet food but appreciate that in the tropics this is difficult to control.
Food is expensive here, and a cheese and ham toastie will set you back £8 from the Kabana beach hut. We spent around £700 over a two week holiday just on supplements for dinner and drinks, you could easily spend more than this if you enjoy to drink!! We typically had 2/3 cocktails in the evening and generally just had soft drinks during the day.

Service: The service was generally very good and the management were always visible. However at lunch we often had to wait over 30 minutes for our order at Helios and it sometimes appeared a little disorganised. The pool service was also a little slow even when not really busy.
We were frequently asked if everything was okay and if we were enjoying our holiday, this was starting to get a little annoying, especially when asked maybe three times during one meal! The General Manager, Seema (not sure if I have spelt that right!) for the North Side was very pleasant and more than happy to assist, she made us feel very welcome and even arranged for a bottle of wine and nibbles to be delivered to our room when we were not informed about the cocktail party during our second week.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and exceptionally polite, and although service was sometimes slow, we were in no rush as on holiday!

Resort: The hotel grounds are fabulous and the golf carts that transport you around were great, we never had to wait very long for one to arrive. I would recommend that you pick one up either at Seselwa or the south beach reception. It is also very pleasant to walk and only around 15 minutes to do so. Both beaches are lovely, although the north beach is probably more attractive it is also very busy with hardly any room between the sun beds. We preferred the south, as they had four pools to choose from and the beach was lovely, we generally like to walk on the beach but chill by the pool, so this suited us well. There were plenty of sunbeds anytime of day, so no need to reserve at the crack of dawn!! They also have self service jugs of water offered free of charge, you can also have lunch sat round the pool if you don't feel like moving!! ( no extra cost at Helios).
You can use the kayaks and paddle board etc at no cost, looking back at the landscape whilst doing this is an image I hopefully will never forget.

There are also a number of activities on offer, at no extra cost, this info is available on the TV. We tried the meditation( watch out for he Mosquitos) which was very good, but they also offered cocktail making classes, dance classes, fitness classes, language lessons etc.. The daily feeding of the tortoises is a must, they are huge! Every night there is entertainment, normally live music, which was generally good. Happy hour is a must, as the drinks are fairly expensive, a glass of wine is nearly £10 and most spirits between £7-£8. There is also a small shop just outside the North beach, by the activities centre, where you can purchase drinks much cheaper.

The spa is great and whilst not cheap is very good and well worth a visit.

We also hired a car and managed to get round most of the island within 3/4 hours, the roads are very windy and steep, but the scenery is amazing and plenty of places to stop for food.

I would definitely recommend The Ephelia for both couples and families. We had a very relaxing holiday and whilst it may have a few flaws, for us the positives far outweighed any negatives and I hope one day we will return.

One last tip... If you fly with Emirates I would suggest making sure you have a change of clothes in your hand luggage. Our flight was an hour late landing in Dubai due to hazy weather, which is probably typical for an early morning arrival, and we only had just under an hour to catch our connecting flight. As a consequence of this our luggage did not arrive in the Seychelles until lunchtime the following day, which was very frustrating as we ended up waiting around in our room. They also do not offer any form of compensation if less than 24 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thankyou very much for this detailed review of your experience at our resort.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed and experienced our varied product and services.. Your feedback will further motivate us to ensure that we continue our efforts to meet and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
We look forward to having you back at Constance Ephelia again in not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A belated thank you to Constance Ephelia Seychelles for making our wedding celebrations something that we will cherish for the rest of our lives!!

We arrived at the resort early on March 17, 2014. We had booked the Wedding Package through our travel agent John Proctor Travel and were greeted by a warm reception from the Constance team. We were allowed to check into our beautiful Family Villa early and introduced to our truly amazing Villa Host Chandrakant who would look after us so expertly throughout our stay. We were then to meet our equally amazing Housekeeper Mahboob who kept our villa spotless for the remainder of our stay. We had breakfast (which was not part of our package due to our early arrival) which was in our opinion slightly over priced at £30 per head (there were a total of 5 in our party) but with adequate selection. We then went to explore the complex which was truly wonderful. Bicycles came with our villa which was a great touch and as the complex is large, it makes for a fun way to get around and about. In our opinion, North Beach was the more superior of the two beaches (which coincidentally was where we were to be married on the 20th). A wonderfully clean beach with crystal blue water, which we were to find out had the most beautiful sunsets.

We made good use of the complex amenities throughout our stay (tennis, table tennis, visiting the tortoise enclosure etc) and the staff in all departments were attentive and friendly. There are 4 restaurants on the complex, all of which were adequate. The only slight gripe of our stay was the food. All buffet meals were OK but our one dinner trip to Cyann (the alleged fine dining restaurant) was average at best. They tried their best, bless them but the kitchen service was slow and the food below par. The menu read well but the execution was slightly off kilter.
We also believe that the purified water should be complimentary in all of the restaurants for dinner but it is charged.

We found that the service that we received at Constance Ephelia Seychelles was the best service that we have received anywhere in the world. Rebecca (Guest Relations), Angel (bridal hair & make-up), Larissa (Wedding coordinator), Bessie (Creole travel rep) and Jacqueline (who oversaw our canapes at the villa) to name but a few, were truly real assets to the resort. We also found that the extra touches were beautiful. Chandrakant had organised a few, a champagne reception for the 5 of us at the helipad prior to our big day and an intimate breakfast was arranged the day after for us all on the beach next to our flowered arch where we were married. Champagne & cupcakes on arrival to our villa were also nice.

Our wedding day was the best day of our stay. The boat was truly pushed out by all involved. Our wedding coordinator Larissa was amazing and a great support throughout the day. We had decided to get a number of extra options on the wedding package, photographer/videographer, bridal hair and make-up, flower arch, hot and cold canapes, all of which were worthwhile. Again the touches came into play. Chandrakant had supplied fresh coconuts for our guests back at the villa and Mahboob our Housekeeper had decorated our room so beautifully with petals. It really was all that we had hoped for. Also a few staff namely Prashan (Cabana staff), Bessie, Rebecca & Jacqueline came at our invitation to share in our celebration which was also memorable.

The Spa at Constance is definitely worth a visit. As part of our package we received a complimentary aromatherapy massage which was great. The surroundings were beautiful and calming music is played. The facilities were also great, clean and well managed. I recommend sinking into the ice pool after the sauna, truly invigorating!!

Thank you again Constance Ephelia Seychelles for making our wedding week, for us and our friends, the most memorable week of our lives. Well done to ALL!!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a family villa. We had villa 41 and it was perfect for a group of 6 adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Constance Ephelia.We are glad you chose our resort to celebrate your special occasion.I am pleased to know that a lot of team members went the extra mile to ensure all arrangements are perfect.
We at Constance Ephelia are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.
We hope you will plan a return visit soon.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We didn't visit the resort but happened to come by the beach and snorkeling whilst exploring... We did have lunch at the beachside cafe which was simple, tasty and fresh and the staff were excellent! We felt so welcome as "visitors" on their resort. The fact that we have been back 2 Sundays in a row says it all. This has to be the best beach I have experienced so far, including Thailand. The water, serenity, tranquility, safeness and absolute beauty blew me away! Trip Advisor ranked Anse Source d'Argent on La Digue, Seychelles as on of the best beaches in the world 2014... I will be there this Friday and will let you know.... It will be hard pressed to beat this beach!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tazi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Ephelia.Thank you for your comments about our resort experienced as a visitor.I am glad to know that you enjoyed the services.We look forward to welcoming you back as a resident guest in not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
16.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: £288 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing