We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words to define this luxury”
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went for our honeymoon in April and are in love with this property. The resort will keep you busy the whole day with their vivid activities planned for the guests. It's pretty organized and the staff was very helpful. Please go for a full board meal as the food served was appropriate with different cuisines to cater multiple guests

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankitjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,551)
There are newer reviews for Constance Ephelia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 3,551 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from 1 week at Constance Ephelia and were absolutely blown away! We ended up chosing the Seychelles because it is a 3 hour direct flight from Nairobi, but I must admit we were more than a little nervous having read the reviews about having to pay for so many 'extras' once at the resort and were pleasantly surprised to find that this was not necessarily the case. We originally booked B&B because we thought that we would head out of the resort in the evenings but as soon as we saw Constance Ephelia and the 5 restaurants of choice we knew that would not be the case. However at a cost of 41 pounds per person for just dinner, we quickly realised that half board would be a better option. The team at reception amended our 'status' immediately, making it so simple (of course, it is of benefit to them to have our half board extra money also) but it was all made so easy. And actually this is one of my biggest praises of Constance Ephelia - the staff do everything they can to make your life stress free and enjoyable and boy does it work. I could go on forever, but in summary; the food is excellent, but you are paying the price. The alcohol is very expensive (cheapest wine bottle comes in around 40 pounds) and a bottle of beer is 4 pounds. We booked a junior suite and it was spectacular. The room had excellent air conditioning, a stunning bathroom with a super shower, amazing bath and even a view! The house keeping service was so well timed, you barely even knew they were there and we were always welcomed back to our room with a complimentary bottle of water. The swimming pools are absolutely beautiful, the beaches are paradise, the shuttle service was not always regular but we were staying at the farthest end of the south beach and regularly walked to the north beach as it was such a beautiful and relaxed walk. There were towels everywhere you turned for your convenience and we hired snorkeling equipment, stand up paddle boards, pedalo's and went on a kayaking tour which was all included in the price. The spa was totally beautiful and again was free for use along with meditation and yoga classes that were brilliant. There was a gym, studio and lap pool, all of which again was free to use with availability of more towels and water. If from this review you get the impression that we enjoyed ourselves it is because we did. The staff seem very proud of their jobs and happy and it shows. Although we very rarely had a problem, if we did it was rectified immediately, professionally and with the guest in mind. Of course, it is expensive but if you are prepared for the food and drink costs then it is definitely worth taking a visit to paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, a junior suite on the south side which was beautiful. We had a view of the po...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for what must constitute one of the most ringing endorsement that the team at Constance Ephelia would have received on this forum.
Feedback such as yours further encourages us in our efforts to continually endeavour to meet and exceed the expectations that all our guests have from us. Your comments will only push the bar higher and will challenge my team and I to ensure that we alive up to them.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We had 10 days in this great Hotel
The staff were fantastic as well as the food in the five restaurants on offer
The north beach is by far my favourite , the spa is world class , my only gripe is the excessive charge for wine and other alcohol over the top

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Constance Ephelia for your stay at Constance Ephelia.We ae glad to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to our little paradise in not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Flew the short hop from Dubai to Seychelles, what a lovely lovely island with great people - feels just like Barbados.
We used the express meet and greet arrival with Creole Travel which was very useful, long queues at passport control but all good natured. Nice old fashioned tin hut airport.

30 min drive to the hotel, greeted by Constance staff nicely, but had no idea who we were (despite it being an Emirates Holiday booking and managing to meet us at the airport, we were not on the arrivals schedule for a room !)

Sorted out after 40 mins, and given a nice room which we imagine though that they reserve for the odd arrivals like us ! Its was a very nice fit out, but the aircon was feeble throughout the stay despite 3 'repair visits'.

Hotel is in a stunning location with two great beaches over a couple of 1000 acres.WE loved :

1. The Kids Club - really really good high standard nursery care, run expertly by Rachel and Stephan and team - made our holiday very smooth and daughter did not want to come back in the evening ! They did everything from turtle watching, swimming, zip lining, sand pictures, etc etc one of the best I have seen.
2. South beach - quiet, 'lagoon like', hardly anyone on it - for some reason people migrate to the north ( 10 mins buggy ride) which whilst nice, is a bit 'package' at times with lots of sunbeds in a row under the trees - very Malaga ! By contrast the south is more Caribbean island, perfect beach, no hassle just lovely and near kids club and restaurants.

3. Restaurants - we worked out very quickly that as its a big hotel, they clearly feel the need to 'buffet' everything for mass catering which is acceptable but lacks charm at times. Three restaurants are really good - Helios has a nice evening menu, Adam and Eve has just superb Chinese food not to miss, and the high end Cyann was superb, a real surprise - a five star restaurant with superb wines, food, sushi bar etc - largely very quiet when we were there despite only a small supplement.
4. The Zip line Crew - what a great experience ! 8 forest zip lines crossing gorges, its superb fun for all - our 6yr old loved it!

Downsides :
1. Buggies - a lot of hanging around for buggies when going north to south - they have not got this right, and there are too many managers riding around in staff buggies which riles.
2. Management - largely invisible, and the hotel suffers from this cost centre focus on each restaurant, facility etc and lots of silly little rules. For instance :
3. Beach bar - we had the fabulous Nelson looking after us on South Beach, and we ordered from the beach menu, choice was pizza or panini - thats it. We sat at the pool outside the Adam and Eve ( 10 mtrs) to be told we could not order sushi poolside as the 'manager' had decided it was not allowed (!). The beach menu is poor enough, why not give customers what they want for lunch ???
4. Issues - we were rang by Guest Relations about our room, and told them twice we had aircon issues and they were not resolved - neither time resulted in any feedback or action.
5. GM - at no time were we aware of the GM or mgt team although we did get a note through the door to meet 'The Management' for a welcome drink half way through. I am staggered that no one wants to put their name on an invitation ? Needless to say we did not attend as it was clearly going through the motions.
6.Booked the shuttle bus into Victoria for a 9am prompt departure - had to then wait for 2 no show guests ( 30 mins) who 'were coming' - we hijacked the driver nicely and left the staff member still waiting with a clipboard for her 'late arrivals' ( bet she's still there clipboard in hand !)

Read this and you might think we hated it, but its a great hotel with superb individual staff ( Rebecca on reception, Rachel Kids Cub, Nelson Beach). Pity that the management are largely missing and busy riding around no doubt having 'management meetings and generally avoiding clients. I

f I owned Constance I would kick this hotel up the backside and tell it to shape up with a new GM quick. This hotel needs to be pitched higher up the market as it has all the right ingredients - greater attention to customer experience & service and revenues would increase.

In terms of clientele, its a mix of internationals, but not high end as one might imagine - its an Emirates crew hotel, ltoo many budget conscious Russians and French shovelling at the buffet...

Despite this we loved the hotel overall and the Seychelles and will be back.We have stayed with Constance before ( Prince Maurice) and generally a great brand.

Room Tip: Great Kids Club, south beach preferred, Cyann and Adam & Eve Restaurants. Bring Duty free wi...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank holmesdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Of course price are as expected for such hotel and as is not an all inclusive hotel, all extra are for fee even water. (Bad point for one glass of champagne rose , not so good, charge 580 roupies, 36 euros...). But There is a lot of good points: Well maintened hotel, Nice junior suite, big resort with multiple beach or pool option (pro: always beach chair avalaible during our stay april 2014, bad: need some walk, free shuttle avalaible), good staff, 5 option for dinner (seselwa the best for us...)... Overall impression is good. Good for lovers or family. If We return in Seychelles, no doubt We choose constance quality, and probably try the Lemuria because our day trip in Praslin make us discover beautiful Island and beach.

Room Tip: Junior suite if you Want a room with direct access with pool (south of resort), senior suite or vill...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil00_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Constance Ephelia.Glad to know that you enjoyed the overall services.Should you require assistance in booking Constance Lemuria for yor next holiday our central reservations team would be pleased to assist you.You could contact them at resaworld@constancehotels.com.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for a week during Easter and this hotel was amazing. The accommodation was excellent (we had a room at the South Beach) with a lovely balcony, beautiful bathroom and great size room for two adults and one child (9 years old). The accommodation at the south beach is in blocks which surround a pool, just metres away from the beach. We ate at the buffet restaurant most nights as this worked well for us and considering it was peak time, we were always seated immediately. The food was excellent, lots of choice and with different themes throughout the week, we never got bored. We spent more time at the North Beach as the coral reef was great for snorkelling and our son loved all the different water sports on offer. He also loved the zip wire and wanted to do the rock climbing but sadly the rock was too wet when we'd booked. The north beach snack bar was best for lunch with plenty of choice and the beaches were stunning, not to busy with comfy sun loungers. The staff were very attentive and friendly and special mention to Gemma on Reception who remembered our name. The service was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel. Top tips - hire a car for the time you are there so you can explore the island, there are some wonderful beaches and snorkelling available and for a week it cost only slightly more than an airport transfer but note, the roads are steep, windy and a bit hairy! If you don't want to do too much walking, ask for a room near to the restaurant/reception area - buggy's are available but sometimes you have to wait for one. We popped out to a local shop and bought some snacks and cans for the room rather than paying high prices for the mini bar. I hope we can visit this hotel again in the future, Seychelles is beautiful and so is this hotel!

Room Tip: To avoid walking too much, ask for a room close to the restaurant/reception area. Hire a car and ge...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your encouraging review. At Constance Ephelia, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.
We have activties for all age groups which is indeed our unique selling point and I am pleased to know your son enjoyed his stay here as well.Thank you again for the feedback.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a great time at the Ephelia and surely recommend it with or with out babies.
Room: we had a junior suite (317) 2nd floor, at the south edge of the property. View was spectacular to the green grounds, pool and south beach. We felt we had all the privacy and the room was quite. The room is nicely decorated, big bathroom and big balcony. We asked our travel agent for a room on the ground floor since we had a baby stroller and also for a baby cot. When we arrived we didn’t get any of these but maybe it’s our agents fault. Anyhow, we got the baby cot after calling the reception and were also offered to change to a ground floor room later that night. But we already unpacked so we stayed at the room we got. NOTE: balcony is not baby-proof! Room house keeping was the weak joint- it took them three days to take a plate we had from room service (actually they only took it when I placed it outside the room) and also the water distribution was bad. Some days we didn’t get any bottle, another day we got one and on a different day we got two bottles.
Beaches and pools: We enjoyed both beaches very much. They are clean and well maintained, sun beds were always available, water is warm & clear. We enjoyed the water sports equipment valuable free of charge (SUP, basic windsurf equipment, paddle boat…). Snorkeling is nice but not more than that. Restaurants service is always with a smile and efficient and the sandwiches we ordered were good. Prices are high as everything in Seychelles. South beach has a low tide during the day so we walked to the north beach at morning and walked back at the afternoon. It took around 15 minutes each side and we enjoyed the walks, although you can just hop on one of the transports. We enjoyed the pools all around the resort, they are clean and well maintained.
Restaurants: We had most of our dinners at the Corossol buffet. Service was superb, variety of food was huge and it was good! There was even staff from the kids club that helped us with our baby while we were taking the dishes. Each night they had a different menu. Breakfast was also a treat at the Corossol although the menu was fixed more or less every morning. Our daughter even got a gift for Easter . “Adam & Eve” restaurant- dined there one night, service was very good although we did not enjoy the dishes that much (except the deserts and wine). Nothing bad, just a matter of taste. “Helios” restaurant- this was the only time we were really disappointed at the Ephelia. There was an Italian meal the night we went and service was not good. We had to call the waiter three times until we got the wine menu (anyone hear of on Italian menu with no wine???). The main dish came a very very long time after the appetizer (not just for our table) and the fish we got was dry and not eatable. So we hoped some lemon would help but had to call three waiters until we got it. We had one lunch at the Cyann restaurant- very good food and service (they prepared especially for us as we got there just when they were closing), but expensive.
Kids club/ babysitters: Another highlight of the Ephelia! Great stuff that knows how to reach children and babies. We had a babysitter for two nights and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a room with a big bed and a sofa. We also had a baby cot in the room and we did...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Or_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: £290 - £1,389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing