We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience”
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Wonderful resort with a high standard accommodation and cleanliness in a marvelous location with beautiful gardens and water features.The resort is well managed with friendly staff are extremely helpful. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for the staff and especially the Assistant Catering manager Vishul who certainly went out his way to ensure that we had a fantastic stay with them.
There is a wide choice restaurants which are excellent with high quality food and wine to meet everyones taste.
There are many activities to expend your energies on or just relax by the pool of the sandy beach.

Room Tip: The suites on the south side of the resort appear to be on the quieter side of the peninsular which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Constance Ephelia.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Your comments as it will certainly motivate us to strive better.
Hope to welcome you back soon at our resort.
Best Regards,
Jean Marc Lagesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,094
    921
    302
    114
    55
See reviews for
834
2,177
44
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend Constance Ephelia as a destination:
Huge variety of things to do, or not to do- sail, paddle, windsurf,tennis,squash, gym, snorkle, swim, walk, rock climbing, zip wire, dive...
Choice of five restaurants, from buffet to fine dining. Three of them with your feet in the sand and all of them with beach and pool views
Big and very indulgent, and somehow very private, spa
Two official beaches, facing different winds
At least three smaller private beaches we have found
Choice of five types of accommodation, all very private and sympathetically spread in the natural landscape. Differs sizes and location means you can suit your needs perfectly
Everything made of natural materials - stone, wood, palm leaf roofs, granite and marble
Rain forests, beaches, granite boulders, white sand, clear water, mangrove swamps
Lots of private loungers, beach beds, secluded spots. No wonder half the guests are honeymooners!
Friendly staff who seemed to have learned our names within a day and who always greet you by name
Attentive resort managers who seem to know what you may need just before you thought of it yourself

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank annie2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding you your stay.We are particularly pleased to note that you have complimented the various aspects of the hotel. Your feedback will further motivate us to ensure that we continue our efforts to meet and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Best Regards,
Jean Marc Lagesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

the only word I can use is "wow". From the very moment we arrived everything was done to make us feel special and that their mission was for us to have a great time. We were greeted by Suren who was our allocated Villa Host, every day he made contact with us to ensure that everything was ok and nothing was ever too much trouble for him and he made sure that we were happy all week. We stayed in a Spa Villa which was just gorgeous and so relaxing. The whole setting is breathtaking, it was an incredibly important holiday for us for a number of reasons and this resort was even better than we had hoped for, we spent the whole week hardly believing we were really there!
The North beach at low tide has the best snorkelling we have ever found any where and the South beach at low tide is so beautiful - though we only discovered that on our last morning. Everyone was so friendly, especially at the Selsewa restaurant - it was here we had breakfast every morning, Dawson always greeted us and made us feel relaxed and welcomed as did all the other staff there. Walking out of the resort we felt very safe and all the locals we met were very friendly and welcoming, a walk at high tide for a view of the mangroves is highly recommended. We also want to give our thanks to Seema for making our last day and night there so very special, the girls from the Spa gave the most fantastic massages and the views to be found from the Hillside Villa were just breathtaking.
Although people comment on the resort being quite large that is part of its charm as every where you walk is beautiful and if you really don't want to walk there are always buggies going around to offer lifts, we loved walking around and also using the bikes supplied, we had so much fun.
The food was all lovely and the cocktails at the Zee Bar were just what was needed after a day on the beach, our advise would be that if you want to eat in any of the restaurants that require booking then get them booked at the start of your holiday as they get fully booked early.
We had the most fantastic holiday and will be returning again in the future, sending a huge thankyou to all who made it so special for us.

Mary and Carl Hudson

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Hudsons22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for the detailed review of your stay at our resort.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us .Thank you for your endorsement for our product and services .Your feedback will further motivate us to ensure that we continue our efforts to meet and exceed the expectations of our esteemed guests.Thank you once again.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards,
Mathias Colombat
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having stayed on Praslin for a few days, we headed over to Constance Ephelia on Mahe for the remainder of our stay in the Seychelles. When we arrived, we were greeted by very friendly staff and swiftly checked-in and taken to our room.

The rooms were spacious and clean however, there were some decorative flowers that were placed on the bed etc which appeared to attract ants so these were quickly discarded!!

Breakfast buffet offered a great selection and everything was very fresh. One of the areas was closed off for a private function one of the days we were there which meant a 5-10 minute wait for some people to get a table but apart from that, it was great.

Plenty of choice for dinner and all of the food/restaurants we sampled were excellent.

Unfortunately, the safe was not working in our room when we arrived. Having called the maintenance team, they came out to try and fix it but were unable to and said another team would arrive the next morning to sort it. We waited in for them but again they couldn't rectify the problem so a third team were sent who finally managed to resolve it. It didn't however give us much faith in the safe!!

The WiFi was very slow and I wouldn't count on it if you need it for work/emails etc. Better in reception but still not really adequate.

Being such a large resort, you rely on buggies to get around (especially where we were right at the far end of the South Beech). These seemed to be ok at some times but at others, you could wait a good 15 minutes for one by which time you would have been better walking.

Despite it being such a large resort, the rooms are very close to each other and as such were quite noisy. A door connected us with next door (lockable on both sides) but we could clearly hear their TV through it.

All in all, a good resort however, I would not class it as 5 star - more like 3.5 or 4!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Globally I'd say that the amenities deserve 5 stars. The service is not good enough for a 5 stars hotel.

We spent 4 nights in this hotel. When we book 4 months ago we asked to have 2 rooms close to each others. We had 2 rooms quite far from each others. We complained about this twice and we never had any feedback even though one of the managers told us that he would come back to us.

The rooms are big. The bedding is correct.

The resort is very big. There is a buggy service but this is not very efficient.

The internet connection is very very bad. I had to download a small file for my work and I couldn't do it. I had to go several times to the reception (and each time to repeat the whole story) to eventually have my file downloaded on a USB key by the IT manager. They told me that the internet is very bad in Seychelles Island and they could not do anything about it. This is weird because we spent 3 nights at the Raffles Hotel in Praslin (to be recommended) and had a high speed internet connection.

There is a mini-bar in the room but no snack in it. You have to call the in-dining service to get snacks and then it takes 30/45 minutes to get them. This is foolish. When you take something in the mini-bar you have to call them for supplying new drinks. This should be done every day automatically.

They made a mistake in my bill. I made the check-out the day before our leave. They forgot to charge one night. Initially I thought it was a discount for the issues we had during our stay. When I went to the reception desk (at 4:45 am just before our leaving) to bring back my key they asked me to pay the additional night. I was really upset to have to do this 5 minutes before leaving whereas people were waiting for me in the car for the transfer to the airport.

The food is correct. There are several restaurants in the resort. The main restaurant proposes a buffet every day. Personally a buffet in a 3 or 4 stars hotel is ok but not in a 5 stars hotel.

etc, etc .... So I was disappointed by the quality of the service ... all employees are smiling but this is not enough ... Some basic principles in my job: deliver on your promises and take responsibility for your mistakes ... maybe the manager should take inspiration from these principles. I'd have been more than happy to say it to the manager but I asked several times to talk to him and he was not available.

PS: When you walk on the resort you see some empty cans and bottles in the mangrove. It might be a good idea to remove them frequently.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frederic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.All the points mentioned by you has been highlighted to the concerned department for immediate corrective action.Your feedback is very valuable for the high standards we strive to maintain.
Best Regards,
Jean Marc Lagesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great Resort, Family friendly, Lovely people, Amazing views, Unique Mountain Villas & Presidential Villas, Massively spacious Spa. Many choices of restaurants. Sandy Beaches, Great Mauritian Management company.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral Tree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments about our resort.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our product and services. We look forward to welcome you back soon at our resort.
Best Regards,
Mathias Colombat
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Amazing resort with great staff. Villa we stayed was just few meters from the beach with spectacular view. Main restaurant is the best out of other outlets, breakfast has big variety of dishes for all tastes. We had our wedding there, staff was kind enough to give us nice bottle of champagne for free of cost. Chinese restaurant - service is very slow despite the fact that its not busy. Sports - ziplining worth trying. Bar - nice bar with live band.

Room Tip: there are townhouses further to the end of the resort. Try to book ones close to the beach. Our pare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Property: Constance Ephelia
Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing