We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!”
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a truly stunning hotel and resort. Situated on a peninsula on Mahe's Eastern coast it has two lovely beaches; a quieter South Beach and a livelier North Beach, both of which feature the soft white sand and clear blue waters for which the Seychelles are famed. We stayed here for 10 nights.

Outside of the gorgeous location and well-appointed buildings, which are almost a given at this level, the main feature here has to be the staff. They were truly exceptional and really made our stay truly memorable. So many members of the staff took the trouble to learn our names and were so friendly and welcoming that we were really bowled over by the whole experience. We were impressed from the first moments of arriving when we were introduced to our personal receptionist who explained the resort, showed us our room and was on hand to answer queries, source a DVD player and gave recommendations throughout our stay. The restaurant staff got to know us and made sure we got a table in our favourite spot overlooking the water, dispensed medical aid, made our coffee just how we like them and even gave us a personal wine-tasting session to find wines to go with our meal!

The site is large and I have read reviewers that were unhappy with the distance between the North and South sites. Our experience however was really good, the golf cart shuttles are frequent but you can walk from the North beach to the South in about 10 - 15 minutes; its pretty level and an undemanding walk and the golf carts will usually ask if you want a lift if they are passing. On the one occasion that we needed to get to the North quickly for a diving lesson the receptionist in the South took us up especially. Now, you can't fault that.

The main Corossol Restaurant offers a great selection of really high quality food. There are different theme nights and there really is something for everyone. If you fancy a change then there are several other restaurants. We tried Adam & Eve, which served excellent oriental cuisine and Sesselwa, which offered a great french-inspired menu.

The accommodation is spacious and luxuriously appointed, lots of wood, marble and high quality fittings. We stayed in a junior suite in the South. The apartments are arranged in groups of approximately 6 or 8 suites in a 'block' and these are clustered around their own pool with bar with plenty of sun loungers, umbrellas, etc and so it felt as if there were enough people around but no too busy.

My wife and I actually learnt to dive whilst at Constance Ephelia and even got our PADI Open Water qualification whilst there. The Dive centre team were really friendly, professional and welcoming whilst at the same time calm and reassuring teachers. There are plenty of dive sites around the resort and we even got out to see one of the wrecks, saw turtles and really enjoyed the clear warm seas. We will be back.

Make sure you partake in Vivian's coconut experience and mangrove kyak tour and look out for the crabs scuttling about.

The only negative we found was the price of the extras. We were on half board and, as full board doesn't include drinks, it probably isn't worth upgrading. We found that a burger or club sandwich (at around £15 a pop) were big enough for two to share and this would offset the cost of a beer (£6 for a 330ml can) and would keep us going well enough until tea. There was always complementary water refreshed in the suite each day, so you didn't feel forced into buying drinks and I guess the price reflects the fact that just about everything is imported.

Anyway, aside from the extras, this was a truly fabulous location and resort, I would not hesitate to recommend it and will be counting the days until we can return!

Room Tip: I think the Junior Suites were an excellent choice. We enjoyed being on the South coast for easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 3,627 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have been there for several times now, tried other places on Mahe as well but .. there s nothing compared to this place. Yes it s not brand new any more opened in 2011 I think) but still the atmosphere and the location is hard to beat. Try to get a room upstairs, leave the doors open durign the night (never had any problems with mossies) and enjoy the breathe. Good food, nothing overly exceptional on the buffet nights but very good quality and variety. Staff .. simply the best, even if this time they forgot the wakeup call the shuttle. Never mind, that s the worst ever happened, so no big deal, that can be and hopefully) will be addressed. Beautiful beaches, good sporting activities and nice rooms. Will go back.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bapu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

we have been staying for 5 nights in constance ephelia resort! this Hotel is .... WONDERFULL! No other words needed! I booked a relaxing massage for 90 min... WOW!!! highly recommended! We hope to return one day to this hotel!!! and this time we will be staying for longer than 5 nights!!
Best regards from mr and mrs Hary!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Schendie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Myself and my family have just got back from the most amazing holiday and wanted to write about it straight away. This resort was absolutely perfect and I will definitely be returning! The rooms, restaurants, atmosphere, activities and food were outstanding and I couldn't fault anything. The views were fabulous and weather was beautiful.

I went with my parents for their 60th birthdays along with my two sisters, brother in law, nephew and niece who are 15 and 6. A wide age range in our group but we all had the time of our lives. There was something for everyone and not a dull moment. My particular favourite things were the access to the gym facilities and the gym classes/activities available, tortoise feeding, bike riding, boat trips and the zip wire! The SMAC zip line crew were very entertaining and made the experience so fun for us and we felt safe and looked after at all times.

The thing that made it so special however, were all the lovely people that worked there! Every single person went out of their way to make us feel so special and welcome and they really contributed to how much of a good time we had. We had such warm, happy people around us all over the resort willing to help in anyway they could. They really made every effort to make our holiday the best it could be and I thank every single one of them.

We had a most excellent sunset boat trip with a fabulous boat crew Michel, Reggie and Melton from North beach. It will never be forgotten and they were so much fun.

I have to thank in particular Sandeep and Dawson from Seselwa for being so lovely to my niece Lola who they treated like a princess. They made every breakfast time so lovely and we were so well looked after. Also Vivek who gave us the best table possible every morning despite our large party.

Thank you Mangnesh and Satish for making our villas so spotless and comfortable, and the biggest thank you goes to Naren and Saurabh, our hosts, for always being there day and night, and doing everything they could to make our holiday so special.

Just the most amazing adventure of all time and I'm so sad to be home!! I'm already planning my next adventure. Recommend it to all, thank you so much!! :)

Room Tip: The villas were amazing, 3 king size bedrooms, you get your own pool and bikes for everyone. So luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Char2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Constance Ephelia resort last week for 5 nights. After a long journey from the UK we were welcomed warmly by Julianna, she gave us a seat with beautiful views of the sand and sea along with cold, refreshing, scented towels and iced tea. She explained the resort to us and checked us in there in very comfortable surroundings. As we arrived at 8-30 am a light continental breakfast was also available for early arrivals. Our room was ready by 11-30.

The resort is stunning and set between north and south beach both of which were paradise. The accommodation is all low rise and set in small units amongst the palm trees, golf buggies deliver you to your room and ferry guests around the resort.

The food and restaurants were outstanding and the staff friendly and eager to look after us.

The spa was amazing and a very beautiful, tranquil place, a treatment and relax here is a must. We would highly recommend this beautiful hotel as we had such a lovely time there.

Room Tip: A high floor gives you better views of the beach and sea. There is only ground and first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dottyg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Me and my wife spent our honeymoon in this hotel, and everything was just perfect, it has two of the most beautiful beaches in Seychelles, the resort itself is very well built and make you feel so relaxed. All the staff are always available and helpful and will always recognize you and call you by your last name. The honeymoon set up in the villa was just amazing. Would definitely come back to this hotel, the hotel offers a large choice of restaurants with different type of cuisine so you will never get bored eating the same type of food every night. We had a Hillside Pool Villa and the view from there is just breathtaking waking up and seeing the blue lagoon is just amazing, it is a bit pricey but worth it. To me this is one by far one of the best hotel in Seychelles.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juls7432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Welcome in the most complete resort of the Seychelles! Wonderful and huge property offering a lot of activities, restaurants and roomtypes! This hotel is focused on a large target group: couples, honeymooners, families, children...

The hotel is located at two huge bays:
* one bay with the different clusters of juniorsuites, main restaurant and some smaller à la carte restaurants (= South Beach)
* the other bay with the different clusters of seniorsuites, the Villas and on the hill the Hillside Villas and also à la carte restaurants (= North Beach)
* in between you have the mangroves with a huge Spa Village offering a lot of treatment rooms, outdoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi's, yoga pavilion etc!

Please make sure you book the half board in advance, it's cheaper and you have the choice of the great themed buffets in the main restaurant or a fixed menu in one of the à la carte restaurants (changing every week). Upon arrival you'll receive a list with the HB options during your stay.

It's a huge property so even if the hotel is fully booked, you will always find a quiet place to relax! All day long there is a golf buggy service in the entire resort at fixed places.

Extensive range of leisure and sporting facilities: very nice Health Village with relaxation pool (kind of lap pool as well), nice Technogym fitness room, reception area, squash room etc.
In the gardens you'll also find a volleyball, small football court etc
Watersports centre located on the s

Concerning the rooms and villas:
* The juniorsuites are located in different clusters, most of them offering a shared pool and bar service! All rooms are very spacious offering a nice bathroom (separate shower, bath, 2 sinks) and a large bedroom with spacious balcony or terrace. Free wifi in the resort, I Mac system in the room (which you can find in all Constance hotels).
* there is no much difference between juniorsuites and seniorsuites, they are a bit larger and they are located on the other bay (which is nicer).
on each side of the property you have an reception/lobby area. So the guests staying in the seniorsuites and villas will have a seperate entrance and reception area and they have their own breakfast restaurant as well which is quieter and offering the same variety as the main restaurant where breakfast is served for the juniorsuites.
* all villas are extremely well equipped and very large! You have a choice of the large families villas, Spa Villas (for couples and honeymooners the best!) and the top notch Hillside Villas located high in the hills offering a gorgeous view! They are quite far from the main facilities but there is buggy service.

Overall, I had a fantastic stay! It's a good 5* property (which of course can not be compared with the Four Seasons, Banyan Tree etc) offering the best value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank miraKGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
16.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: £304 - £1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing