We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad, forgetful service and boring awful food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad, forgetful service and boring awful food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The seychelles and resort is beautiful and clean, even our room was perfect. BUT, the service in the restaurants, bar and around the pools is just awful. We stayed for 9 nights and there wasn't a single night where they didnt forget an item we asked for from the menu or I had to physcially get out of my seat to tap the shoulder of a waitor or waitress who was busy looking into blank air when they should have been attentively serving their customers. I mean COME ON!! It's not that hard!!! Just scan the tables and look for people trying to catch your eye!!!

If I pay for a 5-star resort, I want 5 star service and this was not 5-star...probably 3 or 4 at best.

I would have given this feedback to reception, but up until the last minute they didnt even ask 'how was your stay'. Guess that's why i'm leaving the feedback here instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tariq b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephelia_ResortSEZ, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear tariq b,
First I would like to thank you for choosing Constance Ephelia for your recent trip to Seychelles and for posting the comments regarding your experience with us. I am delighted to see that you were happy with the physical elements we have to offer at the resort including the rooms.
Regarding the service you encountered while with us and how this has left a negative impression with you I would like to say that we make every effort to ensure that the service delivery in all areas of the resort is maintained at a high standard and we sincerely apologise if you have not had the opportunity to experience this. Your comments have been passed onto our management team who are using your feedback to actively address the issues regarding service in their areas in order to improve the quality of service delivery for each and every guest that stays with us.
I would like to ensure you that your comments are important to us and we would hope that you would return to us some time in the future to see how we have used your input to improve the service standards at the hotel.
Best regards,
JeanMarc Lagesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    872
    286
    110
    49
See reviews for
776
2,068
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Not my piece of cake.
We stayed here for 3 nights in a family villa for € 1200,00 per night B&B.
View: No view,( I am sorry a few trees and another villa). 400 rooms ( probably 1000!!! guests).
Huge property with rooms and villas.
Food: Buffet all you can eat. Food kept warm under the heatinglamp. If you see how food is made here. Really awful. I must say, I am a foody, I live for food instead of staying alive with food.
Second night I cancelled my reservation in the "fine dining" restaurant. I didn't dare to spend a lot of money ( appr. € 150 PP ) for a probably awful experience.
Breakfast: waiter puts the coffee cups on the table with his hands on the edge of the cup.
Quality: Pastries like a day old, Chees, supermatkt quality. Only 1 chef making all types of eggs,
around 70 people having breakfast. boiled eggs, only hard boiled waiting in a bowl for a customer.
Not what you expect from a 5* hotel.
Staff: friendly and cooperitive, but not trained to 5* standards.
Personal assistant: very good, working very hard and try to keep you happy. This assistant is responsible for around 8 villas. From a personal assistant you expect that he knows about the rest of the island ( excusions, shopping, restaurants, beaches etc., .... no) Just came 8 months ago from India to work here. Not well trained by the management in this aspect.
Beach north: Nice, public beach, like all beaches on the seychelles, crowded. not enough chairs, so you have to sit in the sand. Again very friendly and helpfull staff.
Beah south: very friendly and this time knowledgeable staff ( inhabitants from seychelles) Windy part of the resort this time of the year. Very nice view.
Vlla: Nice, new, own pool, big. Nothing to complain about.
Conclusion; Resort far too big and not good enough for me. Overpriced.
Better pick is the Hilton Nothholme, most of rooms have seaview, only 40 rooms. Far better food, better staff and...... half the price. ( no free ammenities except snorkeling and kayaking)

Room Tip: take a room with seaview, otherwise room could be everywhere in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephelia_ResortSEZ, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Robert044,
On behalf of the entire team here at Constance Ephelia I would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post the review about your experience with us.
Thank you for the positive comments regarding your villa and your villa host who I hope worked hard to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
We have taken your feedback regarding the food quality, breakfast waiter, beach experience and view into consideration and I can guarantee you that we will make every effort to ensure that these areas of concern are addressed and improved.
We pride ourselves in offering the most memorable stay possible to all of our guests and if we have fallen short for your experience with us I sincerely apologise and hope that you would give us the chance in the future to show you that we have taken your comments to heart and taken action to improve on areas that need attention.
Hoping to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future,
Best regards,
JeanMarc Lagesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at Constance Ephelia for eleven nights in July. The resort is beautiful and I will definitely be back. We stayed on the South side which is quieter than the North but the views on the North are superior. There are a number of restaurants that are covered by the half board which is fantastic if you are planning a long stay as you get enough variety. The rooms, food, facilities and location are all superior but what really blew me away was the service which went above and beyond. Following an incident of theft from our suitcase the management got actively involved in dealing with us professionally and with kindness. We were upgraded to the Hillside Villa and were given regular updates on the investigation. Deborah James deserves special mention for the way in which she handled the entire affair. Customer service in the best league. We were spoilt above expectations, which more than compensated for the loss. Way more! Thanks to all involved in making this the most incredible experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyM-CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephelia_ResortSEZ, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear HayleyM-CapeTown,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Constance Ephelia Seychelles.
I am delighted to hear that your stay was a memorable one and that you enjoyed everything from the room to the food and service throughout your time with us.
We look forward to having the oppotunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Best regards,
Jean Marc Lagesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Constance Ephelia is a superb hotel for a fantastic holiday: great beaches, the SPA is outstanding, the restaurants offer a variety of great food. We stayed 5 nights in a senior suite and 4 nights in a villa. Both accomodations were fantastic and in great condition. What makes the difference to other 5star resorts were the people: they made any effort to make our holidays outstanding.
Also for our son (8 years) there was everything he was looking for: great beaches, water activities, kids club, kids menue in every restaurant, nature activities (zip line) and much more.

Whenever we come back to Seychelles we will always choose Constance Ephelia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephelia_ResortSEZ, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Birgit S,
Thank you for sharing the wonderful feedback and comments about your recent stay with us here at Constance Ephelia Seychelles.
We were delighted to read that you had a memorable experience and would hope to return to us again in the future. I am also very glad to hear that you were happy with the choice and variety of services and facilities available for your young son as our "little" guests are extremely important to us.
We hope to have the chance once more to have you as our valued guests at the resort
Best regards
Jean Marc Lagesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is really a very big resort containing almost two full-sized hotels spread across a pretty big ground and two beach areas. All aspects of a fun holiday are present: beaches; well-equipped gym; very good spa area and experience, multiple restaurants in the resort, well-equipped and comfortable rooms. So, all the good things are there.

Why than not a maximum score are rather small elements which need updates in order to reach perfection:
- Our transport to get us to the shuttle at the time of departure had been forgotten.
- The seats on the terrace were supposed to be positioned on grass but were rather soaking wet (sprinkling system) boats in the middle of a mud bath
- As this resort is rather big, you almost need to make a restaurant reservation in the morning (or earlier) in order to have a seat assured. When we are on holidays, we hate to plan upfront :)

But, after all, great resort and this was a good choice to stay there

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephelia_ResortSEZ, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lialis,
We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had here at Constance Ephelia during your recent stay.
It is of great value to us to receive the comments that you shared of areas that we could continue to improve in. These feedback points are of great importance to us as we continue to strive for excellence in our service delivery to our guests.
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back once more to our resort so that you can see first-hand the steps we have taken to make these areas of improvement better.
Best regards,
Jean Marc Lagesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel stay was our second of our honeymoon after Praslin. The resort is vast with 3 beaches, several restaurants and a lot of activities which we did not have time to enjoy as we stayed only 3 days. The massage/hammam is highly recommendable and a very nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddybear1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephelia_ResortSEZ, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear teddybear1026,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay last November with us as part of your honeymoon.
We are deighted that you had such a memorable stay with us, especially for such a special occasion and would welcome the chance to have you back to the resort again in the future.
Best regards,
Jean Marc Lagesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a truly stunning hotel and resort. Situated on a peninsula on Mahe's Eastern coast it has two lovely beaches; a quieter South Beach and a livelier North Beach, both of which feature the soft white sand and clear blue waters for which the Seychelles are famed. We stayed here for 10 nights.

Outside of the gorgeous location and well-appointed buildings, which are almost a given at this level, the main feature here has to be the staff. They were truly exceptional and really made our stay truly memorable. So many members of the staff took the trouble to learn our names and were so friendly and welcoming that we were really bowled over by the whole experience. We were impressed from the first moments of arriving when we were introduced to our personal receptionist who explained the resort, showed us our room and was on hand to answer queries, source a DVD player and gave recommendations throughout our stay. The restaurant staff got to know us and made sure we got a table in our favourite spot overlooking the water, dispensed medical aid, made our coffee just how we like them and even gave us a personal wine-tasting session to find wines to go with our meal!

The site is large and I have read reviewers that were unhappy with the distance between the North and South sites. Our experience however was really good, the golf cart shuttles are frequent but you can walk from the North beach to the South in about 10 - 15 minutes; its pretty level and an undemanding walk and the golf carts will usually ask if you want a lift if they are passing. On the one occasion that we needed to get to the North quickly for a diving lesson the receptionist in the South took us up especially. Now, you can't fault that.

The main Corossol Restaurant offers a great selection of really high quality food. There are different theme nights and there really is something for everyone. If you fancy a change then there are several other restaurants. We tried Adam & Eve, which served excellent oriental cuisine and Sesselwa, which offered a great french-inspired menu.

The accommodation is spacious and luxuriously appointed, lots of wood, marble and high quality fittings. We stayed in a junior suite in the South. The apartments are arranged in groups of approximately 6 or 8 suites in a 'block' and these are clustered around their own pool with bar with plenty of sun loungers, umbrellas, etc and so it felt as if there were enough people around but no too busy.

My wife and I actually learnt to dive whilst at Constance Ephelia and even got our PADI Open Water qualification whilst there. The Dive centre team were really friendly, professional and welcoming whilst at the same time calm and reassuring teachers. There are plenty of dive sites around the resort and we even got out to see one of the wrecks, saw turtles and really enjoyed the clear warm seas. We will be back.

Make sure you partake in Vivian's coconut experience and mangrove kyak tour and look out for the crabs scuttling about.

The only negative we found was the price of the extras. We were on half board and, as full board doesn't include drinks, it probably isn't worth upgrading. We found that a burger or club sandwich (at around £15 a pop) were big enough for two to share and this would offset the cost of a beer (£6 for a 330ml can) and would keep us going well enough until tea. There was always complementary water refreshed in the suite each day, so you didn't feel forced into buying drinks and I guess the price reflects the fact that just about everything is imported.

Anyway, aside from the extras, this was a truly fabulous location and resort, I would not hesitate to recommend it and will be counting the days until we can return!

Room Tip: I think the Junior Suites were an excellent choice. We enjoyed being on the South coast for easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Property: Constance Ephelia
Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Destinology, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing