We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My perfect holiday at Villa Dorado”
Review of Villa Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Dorado
Ranked #29 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed at Villa Dorado for 9 nights including Christmas and New Year's Eve 2012. I couldn't choose a better place!!!
The villa appealed to me over any of the fancy resorts around Mahe Island and it had everything what I was looking for.
The villa is perfectly located - just few steps from the beach, very specious, comfortably furnished, clean & tidy with all facilities you need. I stayed in the top floor room with stunning sea views.
The grounds surrounding the villa are beautiful and very well maintained.
This is the perfect place for nature lovers - wild & tranquil beach, colourful birds and if you are lucky you can witness turtles lying their eggs ( I was lucky, unforgettable experience!!!)
Every morning I sneaked out onto the beach to catch the sunrise and have a peaceful walk - how different from busy mornings in London.
After a walk I was ready for my delicious,fruity breakfast.Home made papaya jam is top notch!!! Scrambled eggs with avocado - yummy, coffee with a hint of sea breeze so awakening.
The villa is located in the perfect spot but not isolated. There are 2 bus stops nearby from you can go South-West or North for only 5 SR per ride. It's a bargain and so much fun!
The heart of the villa is Zack - the manager. He made me feel very welcome from the start, always polite & kind, always happy to give any information on where to visit. The best host you could imagine.
Zack cooked for us delicious Russian meal on New Year's Eve, we all had so much fun and stepped up into 2013 with big smiles on our faces.
Seychelles are a world away in so many ways but I felt completely at home in this beautiful villa with its dedicated & fantastic staff. Zack, Martha & Vanessa - thank you once more for making my holiday so special and memorable. Missing you guys so much!!!

Maggie

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malgos513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed for 4 nights December- had planned 8 but had to move to something less basic. If like us you do not want a Resort and you want "feet in the sand" this is a perfect location. The beach here is beautiful in terms of nature, photography but not the best for swimming as so shallow. Having explored the island I still think this is the most exciting beach if you like nature, friendly dogs, bird life and amazing camera shots at dawn and dusk. Jake as everyone says is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. My moans are; road noise, uncomfortable beds, no toiletries, basic breakfast and too dangerous to walk to local restaurants. If you have a car no problem as first restaurant on next beach is great. If you can get Jake to cook dinner it is great but he seems reluctant to offer this service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardregatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Villadorado is really lovely, situated 10 minutes from the airport overlooking a lovely beach with good facilities, all staff very friendly especially Zac a very helpful person for anything.
  this villa is a haven of beauty and tranquility relax.
I would recommend it to couples and people passing even for a short time.
Adriana

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinisgalliadriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Whilst in the Seychelles for a wedding, I needed to find somewhere for one night and after a bit of browsing, this place came up.
It was a very late booking and didn't know what to expect but within hours, Zack responded asking when I was going to arrive.
This place is stunning with amazing views straight onto the beach. It was clean, tidy, great facilities, in a great location and very good value.
Having the local dogs was also a big bonus.
Breakfast on the patio was brilliant.
Great atmosphere, made to feel very welcome.
Zack is fantastic. If I ever go back, I will stay here :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I have been there for 5 days & the whole stay there was fantastic. The manager (Zack) is such a friendly, lovely & nice person, he made our stay more memorable. The breakfast was just awesome, beach is just in front of the villa, a grocery (Kumar & Kumar) is just 1 minute walk, bus stop is just outside the villa entrance where anyone can ride a bus (5 rup) going to city Victoria,
Safety & security is perfect. In fact we had lovely time there. people with real smile unlike the big hotels where u just check in & check out, Great stay........
thanks to other people (Christ, Ivana, Dan) staying there, we just lived like a family.....Missing u guys....

Thanks to Zack & two lovely ladies, you guys are fantastic....

Room Tip: two types of Room on the top floor, 1. Sea View 2. Garden & Hill view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihsanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Hi all,

If you are looking for a great B&B this is it. Friendly, helpful, 'centrally' located this place
is good value for money, meaning you don't pay for things you don't need. Price was perfect, not too much, not too little.
The breakfast is also interesting with lots of different island fruits. The beach is 10 meters from the front door, which for me was awesome, I could just walk out straight into the warm water! There is small shop (1 min walk away), which is great if you feel like sweets, chocolates, beer, biscuits...etc. About 15 min walk, or 5 min drive away is a small beach in Anse Royale. It is fairly popular, with a lot of different tropical fish. I saw about 20 different species the one day.
Opposite is a bus pick up point, which will take you all the way to Victoria for only SR5! (~USD 0.40c)
The atmosphere is a friend making one, it's not like a hotel where you check in, and leave without saying goodbye.
I had a super time.

Many thanks to Zack and his friendly staff.

Room Tip: rooms have either a sea view (sunrise) or mountain (forest) view. top floor rooms have high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPfeif1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We've had a lovely time. The location is really nice, with the ocean right outside your window. The room are confy and clean. All the staff, starting from the manager Zack, is really warm and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast is great as well, with a special metion for the homemade jam. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
10.5 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chez Batista Villas
Chez Batista Villas
#2 of 2 in Takamaka
132 reviews
5.8 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
11.9 mi away
Glacis Heights Villa
Glacis Heights Villa
#2 of 3 in Glacis
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dorado

Address: Pointe au Sel, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range: £117 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront guesthouse lies on the tranquil southeast coast of Mahe island (10 minutes from the international airport), the fairyland beaches wich offers excellent snorkelling experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dorado Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing