We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”
Review of Villa Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Dorado
Ranked #28 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night because of early flight the next day. The airport is 15minuts away.

Nice location on the beach with oceanview from our room. Friendly host. We checked in around nine and got fresh fruit and coffee. They also offered to make breakfast the next morning, even though we had to leave at 5 AM. Big plus.

A store is near by. We found a ok beach and restaurant 1,5 km away, but we found it rather dangerous to walk by the road.

Wifi is available, but only 50MB per room per day.

The only bad thing, is that the room had a really akward smell. Did not like that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Synneannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi guys:) thank you for the review.
Thank you for passing by Villa Dorado.
It's sad that you only had to see only one beach (Anse Royal) out of other wonderful places on the island. For example Intendance for nice waves or Anse du Soleil for nice snorkeling experience.
We always try our best to help our guest at Villa Dorado (giving free of charge 50 mb internet or use of our personal computer and printer, providing with map and advising on where to go or what to see, helping with car rentals or organizing excursions).
We will check the room as for now i can say that is the smell of wood on our hight ceilings in the rooms that have been heated by beautiful and hot Seychelles sun:).
Thank you.
Kind regards.
Villa Dorado Manager.
Zack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
58
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oss
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We spent the first week of February 2013 at Villa Dorado and enjoyed it very much. It is situated within 15 mins driving from the airport. Coming from the airport turn left and keep on following that road and you will find VD on your left. There are a few good restaurant nearby and also some real nice beaches.
The room we had was on the 1st floor with seaview. The room was clean and spacious, had a comfortable bed, TV with satellite and an a/c unit. Our balcony had 2 chairs on it to relax after a hard day on the beach. Only thing we missed was a clothesline on which we could hang our beach towels and swimwear.
Every day, breakfast was served with a smile which is the island´s trademark as it seems. Breakfast consisted of a fruit platter with a selection of sweet tropical fruits, eggs to the liking, bacon, hamburger and toast with marmalade. A great way to start the day! The garden is maintained daily (fallen leaves etc removed), also with a smile.
A rental car is not absolutely necessary because there is a busstop in front of VD but we found it very convenient to have a small car. You can easily explore the island´s beaches this way but especially at night when going out for dinner one does not want to walk along the dark roads to get to a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Small guesthouse with very good location on the beach. Warm welcome and services offered by Zack and his team. Realxing atmosphere and a homely feel. On the down side is some noise from traffic and no restaurants within walking distance. You can get around very easily by the public buses that runs all day but unfortunately not at night. Thus you need a car for evening acitivites or you can fix a light meal in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed at Villa Dorado for 9 nights including Christmas and New Year's Eve 2012. I couldn't choose a better place!!!
The villa appealed to me over any of the fancy resorts around Mahe Island and it had everything what I was looking for.
The villa is perfectly located - just few steps from the beach, very specious, comfortably furnished, clean & tidy with all facilities you need. I stayed in the top floor room with stunning sea views.
The grounds surrounding the villa are beautiful and very well maintained.
This is the perfect place for nature lovers - wild & tranquil beach, colourful birds and if you are lucky you can witness turtles lying their eggs ( I was lucky, unforgettable experience!!!)
Every morning I sneaked out onto the beach to catch the sunrise and have a peaceful walk - how different from busy mornings in London.
After a walk I was ready for my delicious,fruity breakfast.Home made papaya jam is top notch!!! Scrambled eggs with avocado - yummy, coffee with a hint of sea breeze so awakening.
The villa is located in the perfect spot but not isolated. There are 2 bus stops nearby from you can go South-West or North for only 5 SR per ride. It's a bargain and so much fun!
The heart of the villa is Zack - the manager. He made me feel very welcome from the start, always polite & kind, always happy to give any information on where to visit. The best host you could imagine.
Zack cooked for us delicious Russian meal on New Year's Eve, we all had so much fun and stepped up into 2013 with big smiles on our faces.
Seychelles are a world away in so many ways but I felt completely at home in this beautiful villa with its dedicated & fantastic staff. Zack, Martha & Vanessa - thank you once more for making my holiday so special and memorable. Missing you guys so much!!!

Maggie

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malgos513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed for 4 nights December- had planned 8 but had to move to something less basic. If like us you do not want a Resort and you want "feet in the sand" this is a perfect location. The beach here is beautiful in terms of nature, photography but not the best for swimming as so shallow. Having explored the island I still think this is the most exciting beach if you like nature, friendly dogs, bird life and amazing camera shots at dawn and dusk. Jake as everyone says is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. My moans are; road noise, uncomfortable beds, no toiletries, basic breakfast and too dangerous to walk to local restaurants. If you have a car no problem as first restaurant on next beach is great. If you can get Jake to cook dinner it is great but he seems reluctant to offer this service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardregatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Villadorado is really lovely, situated 10 minutes from the airport overlooking a lovely beach with good facilities, all staff very friendly especially Zac a very helpful person for anything.
  this villa is a haven of beauty and tranquility relax.
I would recommend it to couples and people passing even for a short time.
Adriana

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinisgalliadriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Whilst in the Seychelles for a wedding, I needed to find somewhere for one night and after a bit of browsing, this place came up.
It was a very late booking and didn't know what to expect but within hours, Zack responded asking when I was going to arrive.
This place is stunning with amazing views straight onto the beach. It was clean, tidy, great facilities, in a great location and very good value.
Having the local dogs was also a big bonus.
Breakfast on the patio was brilliant.
Great atmosphere, made to feel very welcome.
Zack is fantastic. If I ever go back, I will stay here :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Kordia
Villa Kordia
#1 of 1 in Pointe Larue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Beach Hotel
Crown Beach Hotel
#5 of 49 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
652.1 mi away
Albizia Lodge Green Estate
Albizia Lodge Green Estate
#7 of 49 in Mahe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sailfish Beach Villas
Sailfish Beach Villas
#1 of 4 in Anse Boileau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le domaine de Bacova
Le domaine de Bacova
#1 of 2 in Au Cap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castaway Fishing Lodge
Castaway Fishing Lodge
#3 of 12 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dorado

Property: Villa Dorado
Address: Pointe au Sel, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront guesthouse lies on the tranquil southeast coast of Mahe island (10 minutes from the international airport), the fairyland beaches wich offers excellent snorkelling experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dorado Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing