We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue review for Amazing Villa Dorado”
Review of Villa Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Dorado
Ranked #30 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long overdue review for Amazing Villa Dorado”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a great place! Zach the manager drew me a map of all the amazing beaches to visit, gave me recommendations on the best place to see a sunset and eat, and arranged for a rental car. Breakfast was simple and served outside. The hammock was so comfortable that I fell asleep in it the first night while Blackie, the resident story mapped along with me. I highly recommend Villa Dorado and would stay here again. I am actually planning to stay here again within the next 6 months!

*I actually stayed here in Jan 2013 but Trip Advisor only goes so far back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sushidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hey hey hey:)
Thank you for your right words:) about us!
It was our pleasure to help you organize all this things and explain where to go and what to do:) Hope you enjoyed Seychelles.
We always here to help our guest and gide around the island, proposing only well known places and services.
Have nice day, enjoy moments, stay positive.
Kind regards.
Zack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    29
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for two nights before going on to other islands. This is convenient to the airport - about a 10 minute drive along the main road south. A bit hard to find as the sign is overgrown with leaves. Lovely position on the beach but a little noisy from the road. Nice breakfast included and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. This is above average for the Seychelles and I would like to give it 3 and a half rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetLaggedMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello there!
Thank you for your time and words about us.
As for the noise, well yes it might be a bit noisy some time especially if you are sensitive sleeper:).
But very convenient for all transport connections etc...
Have nice week.
Kind regards.
Zack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Villa Dorado is beautiful villa, As and when you enter it you will amazed of its green garden and the local flowers so beautifully maintained and creates a fresh atmosphere around you, A well protected villa with a car park and closed gates. The villa is so beautifully situated right on the beach, The villa's interiors are incredibly well done properly decorated, The bedrooms are well sophisticated and very very tidy which makes you feel so relaxed, villa dorado has the most friendliest Host as well as the manager of the place so down to earth and will do almost anything in his capabilities to make your stay Just as wonderful as desired.

I would Recommend the place to anybody looking to have a great holiday and a wonderful time on Paradise - Seychelles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatoooDiv3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hey there guys:)
Thank you for your review on us.
You are so right about garden, it's becomes soooo green and beautiful:)
I just have nothing to say:)
We are happy to give our best service to all of our guests.
Thank you!
Have wonderful day.
Kind regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Spend our holidays with friends in villa for few days.
Great location: 10 minutes from the airport, 20 minutes from Victoria, supermarket within walking distance, good transportation for almost whole of the island Mahe.
The view from our room was wonderful, we enjoyed the breeze and birdsong. Swam in the ocean every morning, sometimes the sea level fell and we went to the nearest beach of Anse Royale 5 minutes from the villa. Zack and his team made our stay unforgettable! The breakfasts were excellent and consisted of fresh local fruit, eggs, bacon and local tea and coffee. Our room cleaned every day. Worker Martha is very friendly and smiling person with good sense of humor. The guys helped us to rent a car and told where to go, what to visit, where to eat and where to go for a nice swim. Zack provided us with beach towels and snorkeling mask at no extra charge. My girlfriend had a birthday and at our request, Zack organized a small surprise for her and some flowers. It was great!
After getting know each other we had enjoyed cooking dinner together with Zack and Yulia, we also enjoyed nice talk and a card game with them.
Not too far away from the villa there are a couple of good restaurants with sea food!

This is the best place in Seychelles if you are looking for a friendly environment, beautifully decorated house with large rooms and smiling team.

As for the other Islands:
On Praslin the people are more money oriented
On La Digue very quite and sloooow.

We hope to return to this lovely villa with cool team!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hello there!!! Thank you for your review on Us!
It was our pleasure to have such a nice couple and friends, the time spend was wonderful!
Hope to see you guys in the future - we will be ready for new cooking competitions and card play.
Have wonderful day.
Kind regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

A nice clean villa with friendly and helpful hosts, i recommend especialy for those who wish to have a self-catering, the kitchen is big and well equiped. Easy access to the ocean - right in front of the house. Supermarket with all the basics 2minutes away by walk. 10minutes from the airport, 20 from the capital.

The only thing that is quite a bit annoying is that the wifi is limited to 50MB a day per room, that makes about 10 minutes a day for iphones :( hope they will fix it until next time!

Otherwise no complains at all!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for spending some time and Share with other your experience at our Villa:)
It was our pleasure guys (family of 5) to have you over here for the X-mass and New year days!
We try to be open to everyone and any situations, as for the internet we are trying to provide to our guest a bit of free stuff such us 50 mb of internet per day free of charge.
Unfortunately on the island there is not big choice of internet providers and we have to deal with some limitations.
P.s. We try our best and not charging our guest for use of internet. Other places will recommend or actually sell a card for 1 hour use (usually card for 1 hour use cost around 100-120 rupees = 6,25-7 euro/1 hour).
Have nice time.
Kind regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Nice villa, we went there last year with our baby. Calm and quiet, very friendly host. Beautiful location right on the beach, but you need a car to go out for dinner. Small supermarket just a few minutes walking from the house which was very convenient. We could use the kitchen to prepare the lunch. Excellent stay overall, I would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaGingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Good evening and Merry Xmas and Happy New year 2014!
Thank you much to remeber about us eve after one year, that's soooooo nice, it means that we are doing the right things for you.
as for the car - yes, it's essential to rent one on Mahe, as we have lots of things to visit and many nice spots to explore on the island.
Thank you much to be with us and to think about us:)
Kind regards guys, all the best in the comming year.
Hope to see you some time in the future.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

1 million thanks and 1 million Yes for this villa!
It's not easy to tell the feeling of the stay that we had there. It is very private,lots of space in the room and bath,impressive terrace with the breakfast only for You,very very close to the water,the villa stands almost in the beach.The beach is very nice.It is not deep so the water is,I think,about 33 degree there:) The best temperature for me!:)Everything perfect...You know that You are on holidays somewhere very far from Your native land and at the same time You feel cosy like at home.The view is the same like in the photos.If You like clean,comfortable,very private stay its for You.And also it is very comfortable to reach all places of the island.We have travelled all island around and saw a lot of hotels and places to stay.And every evening when we returned to this villa we were very happy because it was the best!Zack and Yulia take care about all Your needs.We loved our stay and dream about coming back someday! And ,yes!! Ask Zack where to go for very tasty food! They know the best places for good dinner!.Several restaurants are very very near! Enjoy!!!:)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataRomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Good day to our Lithuanian friends!
Thank you for your time and stay with us.
We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We always try our best for our guests to be and to feel at home!
Have beautiful life and see you next time for the POKER tournaments in Villa Dorado:)
Take care.
Kindest regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
10.5 mi away
Clef des Iles
Clef des Iles
#18 of 35 in Mahe Island
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Beach Hotel
Crown Beach Hotel
#2 of 49 in Mahe Island
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Kordia
Villa Kordia
#1 of 1 in Pointe Larue
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Roussette
Hotel La Roussette
#5 of 49 in Mahe Island
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le domaine de Bacova
Le domaine de Bacova
#1 of 2 in Au Cap
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Au Fond de Mer View
Au Fond de Mer View
#1 of 7 in Anse Royale
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dorado

Property: Villa Dorado
Address: Pointe au Sel, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront guesthouse lies on the tranquil southeast coast of Mahe island (10 minutes from the international airport), the fairyland beaches wich offers excellent snorkelling experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dorado Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing