We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway”
Review of Copolia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copolia Lodge
Ranked #6 of 48 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The place is beautifully located in the mountains. A bit off
Victoria (about 15min to get there by taxi) but very quiet and we
loved it. You have a fantastic view over Victoria and Eden Island with
a sea view room which is worth the money. There are really good hikes
(also for none-sporty people like me) around the hotel. Dinner was
nice and breakfast was delicious. Coralie, who runs the place, is
just amazing. We bought some of her yi king products and they are
great; refreshing and good for sunburn, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copolia, General Manager at Copolia Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Silvia,
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and experience with us at Copolia Lodge.
I have been very sensitive to your remark about me and glad you appreciate our range of organic cosmetic Care Yi*King made Seychelles.
We hope to see you soon again. Sunny regards.Coralie & William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    22
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
101
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The design is amazing, the view is great, the people are nice.
The majority of the customers are french.
Don't try to find the place by driving a car or local people advises on the street, its impossible, just take a taxi to "San Suzie St" and drive up the street for 10 minutes.
The water in the shower is sometimes cold.
Dinner must be pre-ordered and cannot be changed/chosen at night.
Distance from the city and beaches is quite far, taking a taxi anywhere is very expensive (40$+...)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheToursit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copolia, General Manager at Copolia Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your nice comment and your recent stay at Copolia Lodge.
Your comments are noted and taken seriously, especially the lack of hot water in your room, which we will do the necessary to rectify as a matter of urgency.
We advise you had to rent a car to be more independent and avoid paying for a taxi because we are located at 15 minutes from the beaches and Victoria...
We offer the opportunity to dine at the lodge while taking into account the tastes and allergies of our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back at Copolia Lodge. Kind regards. Coralie & William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After reviewing the Kempinski back in February, I did not expected to be back in the Seychelles so early, but a business trip took care of that and I was so lucky to be booked in the Copolia Lodge.
While staying at the Copolia you enjoy a completely different perspective of Mahe', one that you would not imagine if you were to remain around the island's beautiful beaches.
The hotel is in fact built on the slopes of the hills, very close to the Morne Seychellois, at an altitude of approximately 300-400 mt. From that position, you enjoy both a commanding view of most of the Northeaster part of the island and a very specific micro-climate that is very different from the sea level. While in fact I was somewhat suffering from the early afternoon heat while in the office, as soon as I got back I felt the need to wear heavier clothes and, during the night, I had to use the duvet to keep warm.
The hotel itself is a beautiful lodge of five rooms plus a family room and, although it initially appears to be sparsely furnished when you enter the spacious lobby/common space, one will soon realise that it is, in effect, very tastefully decorated. The room itself was very simple in appearance, almost to the point of being Spartan, but the point is that in the Copolia you are only pampered when it really matters, which is for breakfast and dinner (and lunch I suppose): during the rest of the day, if you do not wish to go to the beach, you are free to lay back and relax, which you can do by simply enjoying the fantastic sights. The staff is fantastic: competent, smiling, friendly and positive in a way that is only possible in a small structure, whenever they are around they try to make you feel welcomed and at home.
I had dinner at the Copolia on three nights out of five and found the food to be really good, with lower prices than other hotel structures I explored during my two trips in 2013. Be advised, there is only one option, but I never had any reason to complain.
There are really no cons worth mentioning but a few features that might affect other people's preferences:
- The Copolia is in the middle of nowhere and it takes 15-20 minutes by car to reach the coastal road. This means that if you do not have a mean of transportation every trip to the Capital (or the closest beaches) might cost you around 400+ rupees. Plus, there are really no options to the hotel restaurant within walking distance;
- There is no TV in the room and I personally did not miss it, but other travellers on business trips might have different opinions. It is true however that after dinner and when the reception closes at around 9/10 PM there is little else to do but sleep, if you are travelling alone;
- Internet was OK and free, but in my room at the end of the corridor the connection was almost non-existent. Again, I did not use it very much so this was not an issue for me, but I am sure others might beg to differ.
So, how does this hotel compare to the Kempinski, which I awarded five stars back in February? It does not, because they are very different but equally excellent establishments, well worth of my praise and your consideration when planning a holiday to the Seychelles. Allow me to conclude by expressing my sincere thanks to Willem and Coralie for the way they run such a beautiful and friendly little hotel, with my personal promise of coming back as soon as feasible.

Room Tip: Close to the lobby if Internet connection is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gersenkirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copolia, Gérant at Copolia Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your message and for the time taken to write your review online and we were delighted to read your very positive review about Copolia Lodge.
We have been very pleased to welcome you and to have contributed to make your stay pleasant.

We inform you that we have some rooms equipped with satellite television.We look forward to welcome you back at Copolia Lodge. Sunny regards. Coralie & William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The lodge is perched high on the hill overlooking Victoria. This means the views are lovely, and it is surrounded by 'jungle'. It also means it is a bit of a drive to get anywhere, such as the beaches- about 15mins to get down the hill, and anywhere from another 15 mins to an hour to the beaches. I would recommend a hire car (we had one courtesy of the deal offered by the lodge)....I don't see how you could get by without one. The road up the hill is quite steep, narrow, and unlit and may prove daunting if you are unused to that sort of thing. The fact that you are not 'beachfront' is reflected in the price.
The lodge itself is beautiful. The hosts are warm and accommodating. The staff are nice, flexible, and go the 'extra mile' to help make your stay memorable. The meals offered at the lodge turned out to be a real treat- they ended up being the best value and quality that we encountered for our entire stay in the Seychelles.
I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge, and I didn't post any photos because it is exactly as advertised.

Room Tip: You probably should have a car to stay here. The sea view rooms are worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copolia, Gérant at Copolia Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback about your stay at Copolia Lodge.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and to have contributed to make your stay more pleasant. We strive to make every effort to bring the little "extra" to each of our guests and we are very happy that you have enjoyed... We look forward to welcoming you back to Copolia.
Sunny regards. Coralie & William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the mountain top view of Ste Anne, Cerf Island, Long Island, Round Island, Eden Island and all the other inner islands from Praslin to La Digue, Sisters, Felicite, Marriane, to be welcomed by "Rose-May" with a nice chilled scented towel and iced lemon grass tea, we knew we would be in good hands for the 2 nghts stay!

We checked in without checking in...yes we did not have to register, get keys, credit card imprints etc...it was like arriving at home and home it was!

We had the place to ourselves, not because it was not busy but the other guests must have been out for the day...our Apartment was waiting for us with some lovely touches from the Yi-King line of spa and amenity products to the tastefully appointed bedding, nice sunken in bath and some flowers cut fresh from the garden. We wanted to only stay up there and enjoy the pool, a nice bottle of wine from a well selected list of fine wines although affordable to the 4pm afternoon tea homemade bakeries...we opted for a quick snooze and test the fantastic beds...nice and high, outfitted with a topper mattress making it almost heavenly....it was Copolia-ly!!! a 27" TV/DVD with a great selection of DVD's in varied languages for ones use. Cable TV is on its way. This apartment is perfect beacause it's large, has a great view, is fully equipped with a kitchen and all the nick nacks one needs and peace and quiet. Cold spring water in the fridge in a glass bottle...how cool! There is a separate shower and bathtub, private toilet and once again the amenities from YI-KING, made by Coralie and Willem who trade in the spa world all the while keeping a full agenda at work.

Breakfast is nicely set up in front of the pool with this breath taking view again...home made jams, breads (brown and white), smoked fish, different juices daily, fresh sliced tropical fruits, nice coffee in a thermos to keep it hot and some nice home made yougurts...Healthy is all around the lodge as the offering is there, for a tailor made dinner from a BBQ or if a four course dinner...

We did not try the spa or yoga classes on Saturday but on demand one can enjoy the treatments on offer. For a small sized lodge, it's impressive to have this spa element, really ZENs things up. We did check out the boutique filled with YI-KING products and chose some to take home (not free guys, don't get excited), all made in Seychelles and that's was very cool!

Although we were on Mahe, when at Copolia, we did not think we were surrounded by anyone...only quiet homes, a lovely trail (which we didn't take up so that means we'll return) and some fresh air and about 2C lesser than in town...at night was a bit chilly, but no need for AC or blankets, just a light scarf or sweater...It was a most relaxing stay, reviving few days and promise we'll be back! We strongly recommend it!

Thank you to Coralie and Willem, and Rose-May of course, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: mountain view are the best, ocean view rooms are also nice and the apartment is delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olile68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent one week in Copolia lodge and from the very first moment we felt ourselves at home.
The lodge is surrounded by mountains, approx. 25 min. with the car from the airport. We booked our room combined with the rental car for one week using the special offer from the website. The place is brand new, it opened in March 2013.

We stayed in the fregate suite, which gave us a stunning rainforest and ocean view. The suite has a lot of space and is furnished with wonderful wooden furniture. They cleaned up the suite every day very thoroughly and decorated our bed and the bathroom with fresh flowers.
The cosy lounge area is amazing and provides enough space for a lot of guests. The private springwater swimmingpool is very refreshing after a long day in the outdoors.

Coralie, the owner and the hole team was excellent, very hospitable and helpful. Coralie gave us a lot of insider tips and helpful information about the islands and the activities. In every suite you can find samples from her organic care products and you can test it. I loved the nourishing coconut oil very much.

The service was exquisite. We had every day homemade jam from different tropical fruits, selfmade yoghurt, fresh bread and a lot of fresh and organic food for breakfast.
We get for the teatime every day a new and creativ organic cake or yoghurt.
We also ate the dinner most of the time there, because the food was excellent and diverse.

Our one week holiday was extraordinary and we relaxed a lot in the copolia lodge. It´s not easy to find an accomodation, where you can feel so cozy, laid-back like in this lodge and you can not complain about everything. Thank you for this unforgettable week in the paradise. We would love to come again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouganville D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
2.3 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,381 reviews
3.0 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
3.0 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copolia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copolia Lodge

Property: Copolia Lodge
Address: Sans Soucis Road | Val Riche, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copolia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copolia Lodge is surrounded by peaceful mountains and embraces an ever-inspiring ocean view. A nearby spring provides fresh springwater which is offered in each room. The interiors of Copolia Lodge blend harmoniously with the natural surroundings: spacious, open, making large use of local materials in a spirit of colonial architecture, remembering Creole roots with sobriety and sophistication. The Beauvallon and Grand Anse beaches are just 15 mn away.Feel at home in the cosy lounge area. Grab a book, play board games, darts or snooker. Dip your toes in the private springwater swimming pool, sip a freshly-squeezed juice on the terrace or go for a hike and meet the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copolia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copolia Lodge Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing