We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico Paradiso” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Cat Seychelles

Marine Cat Seychelles
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastico Paradiso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I came the first time with my wife in Seychelles and the place is a complete paradise where you can walk in the water for miles with out get deep and when the sea retread in the morning is just fantastic and you get in to the island buy speed boat in 10 minute much better than the scary water plain from Maldives. I had the best massage of my life and the staff is very friendly and efficient. The villas are very comforting with your own private pool that you don't want to move from there. I advise every body to experience this island and Resort

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“From Mahe to Praslin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The trip was pretty good but on the way back around 6 pm sitting on top deck in the open air it was freezing and way too windy. Next time I will make sure that I am seated downstairs. Cheap for locals but very pricey for tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 915Margaret1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“La Digue and Prasline”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We used Marine Cat to get from Mahe to Prasline and La Digue and their vessels were comfortable and on time. Be prepared for a little roughness, even in July, so if prone to sea sickness take pills or magnet wrist straps. You cannot sit outside unless you are prepared to get wet, although many took the chance as the views are stunning (watch your phones and cameras as rogue waves can catch you out). Pay extra to go upstairs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ready for a trip to hell in paradise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

As a tourist, give this a skip and rather fly over to Praslin. Bumpy and noisy tourists that does not appreciate anything and the ride makes only for stong tummies. The staff on the other hand was extremely friendly and efficient, so give it a skip and go on a private charter, much more fun and memroble. Thanks to Roy and Capitan for every effort and good graces!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“First visit to Seychelles on a cruise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

One of the BIG draws is a coconut tree, the nuts outer nuts being shaped like a derriere, and apparently only found in Seychalles. Not really too impressive. More interesting was a small red bird that looks almost like a moth in flight.
We took a bus tour of the more touristy part of the island, past some big homes and several resorts. The book rate at the resort we stopped at was $US350 per night which probably translates to $US150 via internet or travel agent. But, a beer was $9 and a light lunch started at $13. It would be worth it for a special occasion although the somewhat isolated resort was periodically inundated with tour busses stopping for bitter lemon soft drinks, bottled on the island by a Coke licensee.

The view from the road was magnificent. Usually we got a view of the sea which was every blue from aqua to dark blue. Apparently they are cleaned daily. Often, across the straits was an island, sometimes with a house, often vacant as there are 115 islands making up the Seychelles Archipelago. Most of them are in groups of 3 to 5 but where we stopped was the largest and the governmental center.

We learned that there were a variety of public and religion sponsors schools until about 10 years ago. When the government started providing free education, they banned the religious schools entirely—except, there are a few where the students get no government help. Going there is at the total expense of the family. The guide did not comment on the comparative quality of the education. As for college, most kids have to go to another country, often on scholarships. But, they do not return unless they went to India. Like farm kids in the US who go to the city.

I should mention that the busses in use were not the large ones we are used to. They were about half that size. And all the cars and taxis were small cars, mostly Asian made models. Even then, there was a curve on the main road where cars going in opposite directions had to stop and go one at a time thru the turn. And parking in town was very limited. There were large parking lots on the outskirts and most people walked the last few blocks. The tour guide said that a proposal had been made for installing a free local transit plan but the residents preferred to drive in the traffic jams. I didn’t get a gas price but the tour guide said that turning down the free transit was crazy.

Our major stop was the Botanical Garden which is still being constructed. Here we saw the famous coconut trees, lots of flowers, an aviary with one pheasant-sized bird and a few fishes. One of the best sights was a turtle compound. There were a dozen or so HUGE turtles. Their shells must have been 3-4 ft long. Our guide knew the type of turtles but didn’t even know there was a birdcage.

Then, there was the wind farm with 8 windmills, all in the port area. Even there, with all the ocean winds, only two were working in the morning and one as we left in the evening. Our guide offered no information about them and we saw no signs of Obama handouts.

We took a shuttle back to the city center for our usual walk-around. As we passed the courthouse, a judge walked by. If you’ve read any British books, you’ll be familiar with the black-robed, white wigged, stately figure who could only be a judge or legislator (about whom we learned nothing.)

We also passed a couple of police stations. There were over 30 little villages on this one island and each had a police station, a school, and some medical facility. Noemi had noticed the bars on windows and thought it might indicate a high crime rate. I thought it had more to do with the high monsoon winds than crime. We were told, however, that the prison, which had been on one of the smaller islands accessible only by boat, had recently been moved to the main island. So, maybe crime was decreasing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marine Cat Seychelles also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Marine Cat Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing