We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop off before Island hop”
Review of Crown Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop off before Island hop”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thank you very much to all the delightful staff at this superb small hotel with special thanks to Valerie the assistant residence manager who even took me on a shopping trip!
The hotel and grounds were spotless, the food was excellent, the rooms were very quiet and nothing was too much trouble.
We used this as a stop off for 3 days before travelling on and it was simply perfect.
David & Gilly.

Room Tip: overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice T, Gérant at Crown Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guests

We thank you though a little late for your nice remarks on our establishment . It was much of our pleasure to welcome you here, before your island hoping itinerary ... We hope to see you all again ,on one of those good new fly fishing seasons .
Best Regards from the entire team and myself .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    38
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
68
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Quiet and small Hotel with all comfort that you would find in 5 stars hotels.
Rooms are spacious and quiet.
The view is stunning. the beach feel private, especially in the low season.
The people are friendly.
I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room on the East Side, Sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrotraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice T, Gérant at Crown Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank youffor your kind remarks and hope to be able to welcome you again in our small and friendly establishment .

Our very best regards

Crown Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewarton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here for just over 2 weeks while on business in the Seychelles. The hotel is nice and small and therefore has an excellent family feel. The people are very friendly and made me feel right at home while being so far from home!
The room was luxurious and well equipped with what you would expect from any top hotel, air conditioning, quiet ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee and superb bathroom facilities.
The restaurant was great with a nice selection and the best scrambled eggs for breakfast I've had in a long time!
I really hope I have the chance to go back there sometime soon!

Room Tip: Second floor sea view rooms are just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice T, Gérant at Crown Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Stuart

The entire team and myself thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to welcome you again in the near future .
Our very best sunny regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Small hotel with all the comfort and equipment that you would find in a big luxury hotel, plus the calm. Rooms are big, new, and well equipped with big balconies; the view is breathless. Nice terrace with a pool, the beach next to it. Kayaks, pedalo, snorkeling equipments and high speed internet using are for free. The hotel owns a boat for rent, we went fishing off the coast one day and snorkeling another day in a marine park.
The food is a la carte, the chef is good, the grilled fish they serve is a whole fresh fish!
The staff is adorable and very helpful in any occasion.
It was our fourth time in Seychelles in different hotels, best stay ever.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Great ambience and great staff who continually strive to offer a top-tier service that goes above and beyond the norm!

The rooms are spacious and very clean, with good air conditioning. There’s also the addition of a quiet running ceiling fan above the bed for extra comfort if required. Good Internet connection too.

The hotel is ideally situated. The staff are very knowledgeable, and very keen to advise you on local attractions and alternative restaurants should you choose to dine out, though the dining experience in the hotel is very good (brilliant bananas in pancakes at breakfast :o)

This is a great place to either “chill out” while hanging around the hotel utilizing the pool and beach facilities, or a great place to come back to after your days adventure around the Island.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a choice for your stay, and I cant wait to return.

Room Tip: The sea view is obviously a popular choice, but I chose not have this, as I like my balcony in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I am writing this review because I was upset over the service of the Crown Beach Hotel.
Always we feel all is well when end is well, but this was not the case with me.

After staying a wonderful six nights at the Constance Ephelia Resort, I choose this Hotel
as it was near to airport and looks excellent from out side. When enquirer about the rate
and facility the staff behavior was excellent and finally I decided to check
into this hotel for 2 nights February 5&6 2014.
As I have an early morning flight 5:30 which I can catch easily from this hotel. Hotel is
Good, rooms are spacious, a small pool, I booked half board, and they don't have buffet
you have to select fm the menu only. Everything was going well till I intimate
hotel staff about my check out.

The first surprise come to me the "Bill" the rate told me was different than the rate they
charged to me. They have added 96 EURO extra in the bill as Tax, where as in
the rate the staff gave me and voucher with me there was no any details about the extra taxes
(They suppose to mention taxes extra). I am with my family in an unknown land my flight
schedule early morning, and that time It was around 11pm, I asked the staff this is my last 6hrs
here supposed I don't have all the money you are charging as the rate mentioned to me
is different, the staff replied that is you problem, not my problem. I asked if you can do
anything then who will solve this problem?. Staff said duty in charge, when I asked I need
to meet your duty in charge now, staff said he is not available now and you can meet
only in day shift. How that was possible my flight was early morning.

Second surprise comes for me when next day morning a I was vacating the room.
They have given a room in 2nd floor the hotel does not have an elevator, I agree to stay
in this room because the hotel staff carried my luggage to the room, when I was
about to check out hotel staff at the reception told me that; you have to carry your
luggage yourself. This kind of service is not at all expected from a hotel industry.

I will not recommend this hotel to any one because we go to hotel for quality and
service which this hotel doesn't have, They have to be more transparent
in their business (especially billing and service). The hotel rates are very high
compare to its standard.

Definitely will not go back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khrawahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I just stayed 6 nights at this hotel, and wish that I could stay for another 6.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach.

Rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped. Food in the hotel restaurant is excellent. The staff are superb - everyone is professional, friendly and really go out of their way to make sure that everything is good.

The pool is a little small - but then the glorious beach and the Indian Ocean are only a few metres away, so who needs a swimming pool anyway!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
4.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Hotel

Property: Crown Beach Hotel
Address: Fairyland, Pointe Au Sel, Mahe Island PO BOX 668, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Beach Hotel is a charming four star boutique hotel located in the East of Mahé, the main island in the Seychelles with a superb beach, a beautiful lagoon, and large granite boulders, complimented by the surrounding mountains lush tropical trees. Your transfer from the Pointe Larue International airport is a 15 minute scenic ride along the coastal beach roads to Pointe Au Sel. The hotel offers all the comforts of an enchanting island hotel with a unique combination of casual elegance and affordability of a romantic getaway. Nestled on 0.5 acres of landscaped gardens, the resort also features large granite bolder with spectacular views of the bay surrounded by towering palm trees overlooking the warm turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Only a foot step away from the secluded beach of Pointe Au Sel, the guest can enjoy a range of non motorized water activities. For those who prefer the swimming pool, the hotel has a fabulous pool with direct view on the ocean and our beautiful flowery gardens where you can enjoy the sound of the waves whilst sunbathing. Eight bedrooms have full view of the Indian Ocean from large private balconies with comfortable table and chairs suitable for a romantic dinner. The remaining six bedrooms showcase a panoramic view of the island's mountain. Interior designs showcase, a TV Console, all modern designed furniture in teak wood, from a great selection of fabrics to a very comfortable king size bed, which can be easily turned into twin beds. The rooms also has bed side tables with lamps, colorful throw cushions, modern wooden floors, curtains, cable television with 42inch LCD screen, iPod docking station and phone. The wardrobe features sliding mirrored doors, personal safe, bath robes, mini bar (upon order from main bar), tea/coffee facilities, hair dryer, and ceiling fan. All rooms are fully air conditioned with individual controls for guest comfort. The Crown Beach Hotel provides a room service facility for those who would like to enjoy the comfort of their suite. Below are the room amenities lists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Crown Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Hotel Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing