We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

December 2011 we rented the Large (3500 sqf,350 sqm) house. It was fabulous. Everything you look for during a holiday was there: very quiet house in a middle of a huge park with nice trees, nice sea view and equaly outstanding was Magda, the funny, honest and exquisite maid who also cooked for us. You need a car to get there because there is a steep hill. Would love to go back. Merci Monsieur Paul and Magda

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Pros:
Nice view from your balcony to Anse La Mouche
Close to bus stops
Decent places to eat out are close by
Fruit bats coming in to eat/roost are amazing
Helpful staff
Internet fees are reasonable-flat fee for your whole visit. It's not speedy service, but oh, well.
Big safe-able to stow away a full sized laptop
Con's:
Long bus ride or $$ taxi ride to Victoria/Airport
Nearest grocery store is sparsely stocked and if you walk, it's about 10 minutes
Although you can walk down the driveway and be at a beach, Anse La Mouche is super-shallow and unlike many of the other Seychelles beaches we visited, this whole area has broken glass and some trash on the beach.
Road in front is narrow and for safety bring along a small flashlight for walking at night-no sidewalks.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 5-it was a good location-rooms on either side of us so I guess we were lucky we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lpaul4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have stayed for one week. The residence is located quite far (approx. 45 mins by bus) from Victoria - the capital of Seychelles, but the bus station is just 3 mins walk. In the walking distance is also one very nice restaurant and small food shop so you dont need to ask the staff to organize the B&B or any other catering. It is good for self-catering. The apartement has a kitchen corner, dinning table and chairs - everything in very simplne but efficient style. The bedroom has also AC and bathroome is equipped with standart bathtub. The staff was very nice and helpfull. If you need a transport from or to the airport ask them before you arrive, they are able to provide the transfer for better price than the taxis in front of the arrival hall. I also do not recommend travelling by bus with the luggage. The bus is small and you will be sqeezed by other travelers, but on the other hand it is the best way how to expore this beautiful country. The cost is about 10 rupees and you can travel the longest route on the island with one ticket. I really recommend this kind of accommodation especially for couples.

Room Tip: Nice and good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

La residence is a very nice house with a beautiful garden on a hill right across Anse La Mouche. The view is stunning. The rooms are huge with very high ceilings, a big comfortable bed, a nice balcony. And the staff and the owners are extraordinarily friendly and helpful!!! That´s why I am giving 5 points, although there were a few things that weren´t perfect. We were a bit unlucky, because we got apartment No. 6, which used to have a stair connecting the lower level. The hole was closed but not isolated at all. Therefore it can get very loud in the morning, when the staff talks in the lower level and at night when the security is watching TV or talking. The other rooms presumably don´t have that problem, therefore, just watch out that you won´t get room number 6 and you are fine. When we stayed at La Residence, there was no hot water (due to the water shortage on the island they said). I don´t understand why they didn´t install electric heaters in the shower (like other places) but if this was a temporary problem, there´s nothing to worry about. Also, since this is a self catering house, the kitchen is completely empty (except for 1 complementary bottle of water). We stayed at other places, where we got at least salt, pepper, coffee and tea. But here you´ll first have to go to the supermarket. There is also a WiFi connetion (a bit slow) which cost 10 Euro for your whole stay. Anyway, I would return to La Residence and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Nice spaceus rooms, great view to the bay, close to the beach, not far from the shops, restaurants...There's half wild garden at the back of the bungalows - with a bit of luck, some ripe papayas are waiting to be picked up...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed 11 nights in July in one of the villas. Everything was top notch clean and comfortable and the staff extremely nice and helpful. The two bedrooms had air conditioning for a comfortable night sleep. We got a rental car via the hotel and it was delivered to and picked up from the airport, could not be any easier.
There is a very nice restaurant (Islander/Anchor bar) within a walking distance if you do not feel like driving out for a dinner. Also you can order traditional creole dinner or continental breakfast to your room but you have to do it a few days in advance for the dinner (it was delicious, recommended). Also wireless Internet is available for 10€ for the duration of the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Very comfortable place to stay for a family (2+2) - plenty of space. We stayed in villa no. 9 (2 bedrooms and sitting/dining room plus kitchen.) If you are looking for a reasonable priced place which is comfortable, quiet, and clean we recommend this place. Best to ask for room 9, 8 or 7 coz they are separate villas.
When staying here it's best to rent a car: either arrange with La Residence that you wish to have a car meet you at the airport on arrival or you can pick up the car at La Residence itself. Rates in July 2009 was 50 Euros for a small 4-door car OK for 4. Advisable to bring motion sickness pills if you tend to suffer from car sickness - roads on the islands are very windy (lots of twists and turns) so be prepared.
We also met the land-lady - very pleasant and she can tell you many things about where to go, eat, etc. plus her assistant was equally pleasant too.
Mahe is not great for snorkeling, so if you plan to snorkel just don't expect too much. Other islands and/or boat dives are better so we were told, but we never had the time to try.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
11 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
133 reviews
9.8 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Oasi Guest House
L'Oasi Guest House
#19 of 49 in Mahe Island
81 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lemongrass Lodge
Lemongrass Lodge
#2 of 11 in Beau Vallon
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Au Fond de Mer View
Au Fond de Mer View
#1 of 7 in Anse Royale
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: Anse la Mouche, BeachRoad | Anse La Mouche, Mahe Island 248, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Mahe Island
Price Range: £57 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent bay of Anse la Mouche is La Residence with nearby attractions such as snorkeling, diving, deep sea and fly fishing. Each villas has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenettes, and terraces with views of the bay. All bedrooms have overhead fans and some have air conditioning. Daily cleaning services and house linens provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Mahe Island
La Residence Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing