We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Mahe Island
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“a perfect stay!”
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed at the Wharf Hotel & Marina for 2 nights, once before and once after our 2 days on Praslin. This hotel is wonderful.
The first thing we found is that the staff is incredible! We checked in with Selwyn, who was our go to guy and very friendly and helpful. It was only about 11am, but our room was ready, and very, very nice.
The beds at the Wharf are amazing, even more comfortable than my mattress at home! The bed linens are all white, and sparkling clean. The bathroom is very modern, and there is more than ample room in the glass shower for 2!! The only thing we found is that the toilet was only separated by a bamboo roll-up blind. No problem, just a little different.
The entire hotel is sparkling clean, and the lady that appeared to be in charge of the housecleaning was so friendly, we thought she was like a friends' mom who hasn't seen you in a long time! Very cute!
The food at the restaurant was wonderful, mostly Creole, but a wide selection. Everything we had was great. One night we ordered dinner up to our room, sat on our balcony (get a poolview room) and enjoyed the live music from downstairs, some wine, and some good company! Breakfasts are great and cater to all types of breakfast eaters.
The pool is quite nice too, and always clean. They said it's open until 6:30pm, but they aren't at all strict about it. One night we were in it until about 7:30 or so, and looked out and saw people in it around 10.
It's too bad that people use this place as a stopover, rather than an actual hotel for the duration of their stay. True, there's no beach, but the island is so small that everything is closeby.
ALSO, when we were there, there were 5 Navy ships in port, and we didn't see a single sailor at the hotel, bar or restaurant! I've read a number of complaints about rowdy Marines.
When in town, pick something up from the Pirate Arms takeaway (behind the main restaurant). We got 2 meals for 46 rupees, and I think it was the best meal we had our entire stay!

  • Liked — comfortable bed, friendly staff, good food, reasonable price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fierykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
4
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

We booked this hotel because it is RIGHT on the wharf where we were leaving our charter boat. Prior to our charter we'd already stayed on Mahe for nearly a week, and so basically we just wanted a convenient place to spend a nice day once off the boat and before our flight out the next day.

I was reluctant at first when we were planning our trip----this place is quite expensive! But my husband pointed out that any place else was going to cost us a lot of money just in taxi cabs, so The Wharf is what I booked. It was worth every euro.

Sunsail required us to leave the boat at 9:00, and while I am sure this doesn't happen every time, The Wharf was absolutely accommodating and allowed us into our room by 10:30, which in itself was worth its weight in gold. The room was absolutely GORGEOUS------very large, comfortable, and with what is perhaps the nicest hotel bathroom I have ever seen in this price range. We had a beautiful view over the yacht basin.

We did eat dinner in the restaurant, and had a lovely dinner. Neither of us was very hungry, so I had a vegetarian meal and my husband had a local fish (i.e., just one course each) though we did have a bottle of wine off their good, reasonably priced wine list. This light dinner came to about U.S. $70.

The usual breakfast waas included. It was typically European---fine, not remarkable.

The pool was fabulous. There is excellent service there, by which I mean not only bar service (if one wants) but also a maid who is taking care that towels aren't just left on the lounges, etc.

As long as the price doesn't break the bank (and I will admit to not knowing exactly how much they charge----we were on a six week holiday and not particularly worrying about prices) I would unconditionally recommend this hotel. The room was just beautiful------the bed INCREDIBLY comfortable, with it's several pillows and puffy quilt; the teevee with its many international cable stations; the coffee/bar area with truly nice glassware; the spacious balcony overlooking the harbour; and of course that beautiful bathroom.

This is a small hotel; and there are a couple of inconveniences associated with this------for example, the front desk is not staffed continually. But this is truly the smallest of inconveniences, as the front desk staff is just as pleasant, personable, and helpful as one could ever desire. These are truly nice people.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cessnapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

We stayed at the Wharf Hotel on arrival from our flight prior to boarding the Sea Star for a 7 day cruise and again for a couple of days prior to our return home after a week at Sainte Anne. I think like a lot of people we used the Wharf as a stopover hotel but with hindsight this does the hotel an injustice - we were so pleasantly surprised by the standards at the hotel and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

We thought the rooms in particular were lovely for what is advertised as a 3 star standard hotel - I would say nearer 4 to be honest. Spacious rooms with good sized balconies - the sea facing ones are particularly nice - excellent bathrooms and lovely bed linen. The pool is great to relax in after a flight and is an infinity style overlooking the little marina. True, there is no beach, but this hotel is not really meant for that sort of holiday I think.

The marina looks great - it was really nice relaxing at the hotel and seeing the boats and their well heeled guests mooring up and coming to eat/relax at the hotel. It felt like a really nice relaxed sailing "stop off" which peole obviously enjoyed visiting.

The restaurant as well far surpassed what we had expected and the waiting staff were charming.

All in all a great little hotel - well done the Wharf !

  • Liked — Rooms and atmosphere
  • Disliked — no hairdryer in rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — great stopover hotel
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou-Lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2005

We had a one night stop at The Wharf Hotel & Marina and were very pleasantly surprised. The hallways are wide and elegant and the hotel has a nautical theme. The rooms are very large with extra large bathrooms with separate tub and shower and peekaboo windows into the room. The bed was large, there was a lot of storage space, minibar, tv, safe, and a balcony. The front desk reception was very nice and helpful. Dinner was served outside by the water (got my only Seychelles mosquito bite) which was beautiful in the moonlight and the food was very good, albeit expensive. The cold breakfast buffet hardly had any selection and we didn't have time to wait for hot food. This hotel is a great place to spend a night in transit between the islands, it is very near the airport. Although it is nice enough for a longer stay, I don't think I would choose it for that only because it has no beach.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2005

We have just returned from our holiday island-hopping in the seychelles. We spent 2 very comfortable nights at the Wharf Hotel & Marina. Its a relatively new hotel, in operation for the 2 years now.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, adequate and elegantly decorated. It has 7 mountain-view rooms & 8 marina-view rooms. Make sure that you stipulate what type of room you would like. It gets allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis. Even though I emailed the hotel directly about my request for a marina-view room, I was disappointed. Because the hotel is so small, this makes for a tranquil environment. Hotel staff are friendly & accomodating.

The hotel is just a 10-minute drive from the airport. So whether you coming or going from the airport or the inter-island quay (ferry), its quicker & more cost-effective to take a taxi. I tried organising couch transfers with one of the island's DMC's. They quoted me a whopping EUR 190.00 for 2 persons. This was a discounted price. After making further enquiries, we opted for the taxi ride which only cost EUR 10. At the same time, Victoria is a 15 minute ride away which makes its location very convenient.

Although there is no beach close by, for which the seychelles is renowned, ask reception about going out to Cerf Island. Apparently, its a free boat ride out.

The restaurant's food is quite good. There are not many places which serves good international cuisine, if you dont opt for creole food every every night, even in Victoria. I was extremely happy with my choice of hotel. I did alot of research about other hotels on the island. None of them were as competively priced as the Wharf hotel. We got a very good rate of $265 per night room only. Breakfast is an extra $30. I sourced this rate from the internet. Rates directly from hotels are much higher. They call these "public rates". So its advisable to make your bookings through an agent of some sort.

Happy holidays & I hope your stay is as great as ours.

Helpful?
12 Thank l-thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden Bleu Hotel
Eden Bleu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
24 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clef des Iles
Clef des Iles
#18 of 36 in Mahe Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Luxury Apartments
Eden Luxury Apartments
#5 of 12 in Victoria
10 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chez Payet Guesthouse
Chez Payet Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Pointe Larue
11 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Roussette
Hotel La Roussette
#4 of 50 in Mahe Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Hotel & Marina

Property: The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Address: Providence, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Mahe Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wharf Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Wharf Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel And Marina
Wharf Hotel Mahe Island
The Wharf Hotel & Marina Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing