We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Near to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
North Devon
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Near to the airport”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed at the Wharf on our last night in Seychelles having been staying at Beau Vallon. As your other reviewers have said it is an ideal location for the night before the morning flight. The room was large and had a superb view of the Marina and pool. It was spotlessly clean and bright. Shower perfect and Bvlgari toiletries a treat! We spent the afternoon lazing around and in the pool. Evening dinner good sitting outside on a lovely warm evening. Service is Seychelles style (not given much training) but ten out of ten to Rooney who did reception, showed us to our room, carried our luggage etc. etc. He was fantastic and an absolute asset to the hotel. It seemed whatever problems anyone had he dealt with them quickly and efficiently. He always had a smile for everyone. He was still working around 11.30pm and was on reception at 06.30 when we left the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
4
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Went to Seychelles for business and stayed at the Wharf as it was close to my clients business. It is a nice high standard hotel with decent rooms (I'd day 5 star standards). The breakfast is ok and the views over the marina, boats etc. is nice. For my business stay it was totally fine!

However: This hotel is totally unsuitable if you are looking for a beach vacation or for a place to stay on Seychelles for anything more than 1-2 nights for leisure purposes. (Unless your boat is in the Marina :)). There is no beach, not even anything close to a beach in walking distance and it is close to the factories etc. So there is nothing to look at around the place. Also, besides a little restaurant and a small pool there is nothing offered at the place.

Its great for a night or two for a business traveller. Or for the last night before you fly out. Don’t use it for Holidays.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The night I spent into this hotel was horrible.
No view for the room (very very expensive hotel, as a 5 star in Italy!), nothing in the frigobar (no water, no chips, no nuts... nothing!!!!), I asked for something to eat at 10 pm and... It was no possibile (not even a cracker to eat)!!!! I stayed without eating until 6 in the morning when I had the breakfast in my room, plain breakfast without coffee, without water. What a poor hotel! Never again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I just stayed at the Wharf hotel last night so this review is current!

We stayed here for one night after a longer stay in Praslin. We wanted a hotel close to the airport as we needed to check in at 6am. Hotel was perfect for that - 5 minutes away from the airport and about 10 minutes away from Victoria by car.

Hotel is very nicely decorated with modern clean rooms and had room service which was a god send. Food was very nice and we used the pool in the afternoon which was also great. Shower was incredible, so we were happy.

Not cheap though - about 230 Euros but that is the Seychelles for you. No beach, but nice view of the marina.

In our one day in Mahe we went to Victoria, which was OK but not great, worth seeing I suppose but no real charm.

Overall, Wharf is a great transit hotel if you want high quality but probably only right for short stays.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKSONJE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We have just returned from the Seychelles where we spend two wonderful weeks staying in 4 different hotels/resorts, one of them being the Wharf Hotel on Mahe.
We spent the first night at the Wharf Hotel and found it to be an excellent choice for transit. It is 10 minutes by car from the airport, the hotel is clean and rooms are new and modern.
Food served at the restaurant is good and decently priced (for Seychelles, where food and drinks are usually very expensive in most good hotels).
I enjoyed to walk on the jetty to admire the luxury yachts. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, but there is no beach close to it.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone in transit on Mahe to spend the first or last night of the holiday.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We stayed at The Wharf two nights - before and after our cruise. Location was ideal for us - half way between the airport and the Port of Victoria (where our ship docked). Rooms were perfect with lovely views of the marina and Eden Island... but as others have said, there is no beach nearby. Meals were excellent, though service was a bit slow ("island time") and some items ran out on the breakfast buffet without replenishment. Our travel agent could not find a hotel near the airport, but we found The Wharf online and contacted them directly. Although rates were quoted in Euros (€227/-per night for a double), when I said I wanted to pay in dollars, they quoted $284/night -- and honored this rate 5 months later. Wireless Internet was available for $10 for 3 hours; it worked in some rooms and and outside. Rooms have 220VAC only with weird 3 prong rectangular pins, but the staff will loan you an adapter for French standard round two-pin plugs.

  • Liked — Convenient, scenic location; luxurious room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ASEL-Retract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed a day. Rooms are very beautiful fully equipped clean and very very confortable.

There is no beach and it's too far from the city to go by feet.
Services has been good !

It's perfect for people coming with their boat/yacht

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Agos_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
0.4 mi away
Eden Bleu Hotel
Eden Bleu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Chez Batista Villas
Chez Batista Villas
#2 of 2 in Takamaka
120 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clef des Iles
Clef des Iles
#18 of 35 in Mahe Island
134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chez Payet Guesthouse
Chez Payet Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Pointe Larue
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Hotel & Marina

Property: The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Address: Providence, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wharf Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Wharf Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel And Marina
Wharf Hotel Mahe Island
The Wharf Hotel & Marina Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing