We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, friendly staff, good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here as a last minute option for our honeymoon. There weren't many options left to choose, but this hotel gave us exactly what we wanted. A large comfortable bed, air-con, balcony, mini-bar and a TV with sports and movie channels. The restaurant had a great selection and the staff always managed a smile and were very welcoming. The pool overlooks a marina and in the clear waters by the jetty tropical fish and crabs could be seen quite clearly.
It's possible to walk into town from here. It took us 45 minutes and we're by no means power walkers. Our one gripe was that the taxi drivers overcharge if you ask to be picked up from the hotel. It is easier to walk out to the road and hail one from there and pay less.
Overall, a great choice and we would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed one night as we had spent our holiday on La Digue but our flight back to the
UK left early so we needed to be on Mahe overnight.
It is ideally situated for this and we were given a huge apartment with two large double bedrooms with en suites and Marina facing balconies. There was a large lounge and reasonable kitchen. Excellent food with a selection of Indian and Creole as well as simpler stuff such as burgers, pizzas and pastas.
Nice pool but no steps into it? Not a beach hotel but very well located.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSRL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Don't go there unless you like the horrible and false sound of karaoke performed by the staff at an eardeafning soundlevel that for sure pierces your eardrums, shortly before catching an early morning international flight. All complains guests made were put aside, looked like only the staff was having a great time. No customer service what so ever. Besides that, although including in the rate and agreed on by checking in, the hotel forgot to arrange early breakfast, leaving us to go to airport on an empty stomach... DO NOT GO THERE!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Our Yacht was on the slip a day longer than anticipated so we needed accomodation for 1 night. We had previously stayed at the Wharf and found it pleasant. On arrival we were told that a room may be available and that the rate was Euro410 B&B. When I queried the rate as it had doubled since our previous visit, the rate was reduced to Euro285 (We paid Euro210 4 months ago). Firstly we waited about 2 hours for our room (granted we had not prebooked) but this was after 2pm.
We had no hot water and the reception lady said she would call mainenance and then she just never came back to us to tell us the solution. To add insult she asked us if we knew how to adjust the tap to hot and cold. The "its a problem we will get to it" attitude is so frustrating. No sense of urgency or alternate arrangement!
Anyway, the Pool area is beautiful and the restaurant, food and waitresses very good. Absolutely not worth the money!

Room Tip: Ask for marina facing room. Back rooms are not worth anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Memzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

At first sight the rooms at the Wharf look rather lovely. Spacious room, big bed, nice décor, great walk-in shower etc. but what we did not know was that many things did not really work! I have to say the check-in on 12 March’11 at 7.30pm went well; the staff were friendly and showed us to our room (Room 3) which was the only one left in the fully booked hotel. As the hotel has no beach this seems to be a place where travelers mostly overnight in order to catch their flight home or maybe take a look around the main island but not to spend the major part of their vacation. On check-in we noticed that our room was rather warm and asked the front desk to have the A/C checked-out. The maintenance guy arrived and explained to us the use of the A/C which was already running on full power at +18C with no apparent cooling power. Although we were assured that the A/C would be monitored. We left and went for dinner downstairs, returning to our room around 11.00pm where we were greeted by a warm breeze from inside our room. We had already noticed the condensation running down the wall in the hallway whilst going to our room upstairs but were hoping for the A/C to work. All down the hallway there was moisture running through the photos on the wall and on looking up to the ceiling we noticed that there must have been an ongoing problem with the AC for several days as the ceiling along the hallway was moldy and showing signs of significant water damage, including holes in the ceiling.
We then went on to make use of the bathroom and while cleaning our teeth noticed that the sink did not drain well. The water that did drain pooled in our towels that had been placed on a shelf below the sink. Great, first no A/C and now the sink was leaking too which had us going in search for try towels at 11.30pm!!! The bedside reading light wasn’t worth trying as it had not even been fitted with a bulb, the light in the shower was not working, some sort of noise in the bathroom ceiling sounding like a fan - although there was no extractor - only stopped about half an hour later and was probably the remaining part of our non-working A/C packing up. At that stage our room had reached a cozy +28C – and that in a hotel advertising air-conditioning! All this was only bearable by thinking of our departure at 6.30am – in a few hours. Hard to believe that for all these non-working privileges we had paid – only - EUR 260!!!!!
Needless to say we reported all these issues to the night receptionist but she could not do very much about it until the next morning. She did supply us with dry towels so we could have a shower in the morning. Unfortunately, we had paid for our room by credit card before settling in for the night and therefore the receptionist was unable to refund our money but advised us to contact reservations by e-mail regarding our issues. Upon completion of our travels – around 3 weeks after the incident – we wrote to the reservations department and have not even received as much as an acknowledgement of our complaint. Management has not bothered to contact us with an offer of (partial) refund or even so much as an apology!!!
To sum it all up – if you are looking for a night’s accommodation on Mahe we cannot recommend The Wharf. Check out other places who provide you with all amenities they advertise or at least don’t pay for your room until you have stayed there and things are working as promised! Our thanks to the front desk staff who were friendly and apologetic, but unable to resolve our complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BirgitM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This hotel is conveniently located between the airport and Victoria, the capital city. It is true that it doesn't have a beach, so if you're planning to swim and snorkel, you should probably be on the west side of the island, or rent a car to be able to move around easily. But be careful, the drivers are quite aggressive and the roads are narrow without any shoulder in many places.
The hotel itself is decent, the rooms are clean and there is air conditioning in all rooms. I noticed some rain damage on the ceiling in front of the rooms looking towards the island, but since I didn't have the chance to actually examine the rooms I don't know if there is any damage inside.
The food is good and somewhat basic (meat, bread, sauce); you shouldn't expect to be served gourmet meals, this is a small island and the resources are limited. However, the service is excellent. If you can accept the fact that the pace of life is slow in general, you'll find that a promise is still a promise. For example, if your waitress tells you that your dinner will be served in 14 minutes, it will be served exactly in that much time. Even though it seems that the staff is moving slowly, they give you an accurate estimate about how much time will it take to get something.
The front desk staff is especially proactive. We needed a car and they arranged it for us in a matter of minutes. We had the car delivered to us and signed the rental agreement on the spot.
I primarily recommend this hotel for individuals and families who want to be close to the city or the airport, and going to the beach is not the first item on their agenda.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Calistogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed at the Wharf on our last night in Seychelles having been staying at Beau Vallon. As your other reviewers have said it is an ideal location for the night before the morning flight. The room was large and had a superb view of the Marina and pool. It was spotlessly clean and bright. Shower perfect and Bvlgari toiletries a treat! We spent the afternoon lazing around and in the pool. Evening dinner good sitting outside on a lovely warm evening. Service is Seychelles style (not given much training) but ten out of ten to Rooney who did reception, showed us to our room, carried our luggage etc. etc. He was fantastic and an absolute asset to the hotel. It seemed whatever problems anyone had he dealt with them quickly and efficiently. He always had a smile for everyone. He was still working around 11.30pm and was on reception at 06.30 when we left the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden Bleu Hotel
Eden Bleu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
25 reviews
5.8 mi away
CaranaBeach Hotel
CaranaBeach Hotel
#8 of 35 in Mahe Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Bel Ombre
57 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chez Batista Villas
Chez Batista Villas
#2 of 2 in Takamaka
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Hotel & Marina

Address: Providence, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wharf Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wharf Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel And Marina
Wharf Hotel Mahe Island
The Wharf Hotel & Marina Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing