We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, good for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great rooms, good for a short stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed for one night whilst on a business trip. Please be aware that this is not a hotel suitable for a beach holiday but perfectly OK for a short stay. Nice location close to restaurants and shopping.

I was pleasantly suprised with the room, it was modern, spotlessly clean and had a nice balcony overlooking the marina. Service was hit and miss but that is typical for the Seychelles.

Public areas a bit uninspiring but I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
4
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for two nights after spending time on Praslin.

The building is new and in a good location, I’d recommend a hire car to get around but it’s a great location to get around the island.

The hotel was more than double what we had paid for on Praslin so even though it was nice it was slightly below our expectations.

We woke the first morning to water leaking in our room this was unfortunate but happens occasionally of course. It was the manner this was dealt with that was very dissatisfactory.

When we reported we were told there was no problem just switch off AC. We asked for a room change but they said they were full which seemed unlikely as we hadn’t seen any other guests (I also checked online and there were still rooms for sale) After arguing they eventually did agree to have a look at the leak.
We came back at lunchtime and they claimed it was fixed. We switched the AC back on, grabbed a few things then left. When we returned late that evening there was again a flood of water all over the floor. It seemed all they’d done was mopped the water then just switch of AC.

I reported the leak again and then demanded a room change which we were immediately granted.
We were also very lucky that after the first leak we’d left our luggage and some shopping bags off the floor on chairs or else they would’ve been ruined.

It’s the service which stops this place form being a nice hotel. Fix that and maybe reconsider the pricing and this would be a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monza886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahe Island hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Let me start off by saying that this is my first negative review I have written on tripadvisor. As an avid traveler with more hotel stays every year then I can count, all over the world, this is by far my worst experience at a hotel! The property itself is nice and at first the rooms seemed to be rather pleasant. At check-in the individual at the front desk (on 20 Sep 13) was very nice and helpful.
As a group of military members staying for several nights, everyone had an issue or two with their room. I had a toilet that ran continuously and brought this to the attention of the staff. I was told that there was no maintenance personel on duty at 4pm in the afternoon and there was nothing they could do. Several individuals had AC issues that were not addressed and the staff was very rude when a request was put in to have someone look into the problem while we were at dinner. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. Several members were charged for items they did not order (the first of several times the hotel tried to charge our group for items not purchased). From prior reviews, seems that is a recurring problem so if you do stay be aware!
At checkout the bills did not match the pricing agreed on the day prior. The lady working when we checked out was very rude to everyone and less than helpful.
Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else on the Island! At 237 Euro for a nights stay you can find somewhere else with a nicer hotel and decent hotel staff.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the water but be ready to pay a hefty price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The service definitely need to be improved. Stayed in the Seychelles for 12 days, and this hotel was absolutely not price worthy and a huge disappointment. Staff not serviceminded, the room below average standard, food not worth the money and the restaurant staff had a bad attitude.

If you have the opportunity to choose another hotel - do so!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the Wharf for one night. The property is stunning, with an amazing marina view and gorgeous swimming pool. My favorite thing of all was the room. Although not very large, the double bed is by far the most comfortable thing my head has ever laid on!! The mattress, pillows and duvets are heavenly!

The bathroom is also small but gorgeous! The shower is big enough for two, and has a lovely glass window looking out onto the bedroom.

The service could most definitely be improved. The reception staff are nice, although we found the trainee to be way friendly and more flexible than the permanent staff. Another thing we disliked was the use of metal keys instead of key cards. They seem to have only one key for each room. In the morning, we called to order breakfast in the room. We did not know the time as our phones were off and the room does not have a clock. The receptionist bluntly replied "7:30". We then figured out that she meant that orders were only taken at that time. So we asked what time it was, to which she replied "7:15". Really! Simply take my order and inform me that it will be a little longer than usual because the kitchen opens later!

The breakfast was okay, although the portions were quite tiny and the different plates brought to us in 15 minute intervals from each other.

I would go back to this place for the bed!!! The service really needs help, but wow what a gorgeous bed!

Room Tip: a marina view room is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseinSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012, booked since travelling on business and wanted to be close to Victoria (10 mins) and Airport (5~10 mins).

Not a beach hotel, though has a small pool with view of marina, but perfectly good if staying for business or transiting through Mahe.

Reception welcome and staff very pleasant on arrival and throughout. Shame can't say same for the restaurant where the staff (plenty of them) who spent their time talking to each other and generally ignoring guests; when they did tend to requests they appeared less than eager and willing.

Only two issues;
No room safe... two in my room but neither worked, and duty manager said he knew, none worked and while reception have one you can use its very small... annoying especially at he room rate!

Poor and expensive (SR100 for 2 hrs) Wifi connection - i was on mountain view side of building.

Overall very clean, good size rooms, in good repair; would consider using again for the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackdog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

From the moment you book to the moment you leave you are made to feel welcome and cared for. You don’t feel like you are staying a hotel. You feel like you are extremely privileged to be staying in a beautiful, luxurious and spacious old home. The photos speak for themselves. Every room is spacious and beautiful,
Not only is the building a delight. So was the food, i have tasted new creole cuisine. i have enjoyed my holiday with The wharf. Had a very good time in seychelles.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms are very beautiful even other mountain view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
0.4 mi away
Eden Bleu Hotel
Eden Bleu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Bel Ombre
57 reviews
3.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Eden Luxury Apartments
Eden Luxury Apartments
#5 of 12 in Victoria
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Hotel & Marina

Property: The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Address: Providence, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wharf Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Wharf Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel And Marina
Wharf Hotel Mahe Island
The Wharf Hotel & Marina Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing