We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High class Hotel near Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Mahe Island
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“High class Hotel near Victoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

I just stayed at the Wharf hotel last night so this review is current!

We stayed here for one night after a longer stay in Praslin. We wanted a hotel close to the airport as we needed to check in at 6am. Hotel was perfect for that - 5 minutes away from the airport and about 10 minutes away from Victoria by car.

Hotel is very nicely decorated with modern clean rooms and had room service which was a god send. Food was very nice and we used the pool in the afternoon which was also great. Shower was incredible, so we were happy.

Not cheap though - about 230 Euros but that is the Seychelles for you. No beach, but nice view of the marina.

In our one day in Mahe we went to Victoria, which was OK but not great, worth seeing I suppose but no real charm.

Overall, Wharf is a great transit hotel if you want high quality but probably only right for short stays.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKSONJE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
4
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

We have just returned from the Seychelles where we spend two wonderful weeks staying in 4 different hotels/resorts, one of them being the Wharf Hotel on Mahe.
We spent the first night at the Wharf Hotel and found it to be an excellent choice for transit. It is 10 minutes by car from the airport, the hotel is clean and rooms are new and modern.
Food served at the restaurant is good and decently priced (for Seychelles, where food and drinks are usually very expensive in most good hotels).
I enjoyed to walk on the jetty to admire the luxury yachts. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, but there is no beach close to it.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone in transit on Mahe to spend the first or last night of the holiday.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2008

We stayed at The Wharf two nights - before and after our cruise. Location was ideal for us - half way between the airport and the Port of Victoria (where our ship docked). Rooms were perfect with lovely views of the marina and Eden Island... but as others have said, there is no beach nearby. Meals were excellent, though service was a bit slow ("island time") and some items ran out on the breakfast buffet without replenishment. Our travel agent could not find a hotel near the airport, but we found The Wharf online and contacted them directly. Although rates were quoted in Euros (€227/-per night for a double), when I said I wanted to pay in dollars, they quoted $284/night -- and honored this rate 5 months later. Wireless Internet was available for $10 for 3 hours; it worked in some rooms and and outside. Rooms have 220VAC only with weird 3 prong rectangular pins, but the staff will loan you an adapter for French standard round two-pin plugs.

  • Liked — Convenient, scenic location; luxurious room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ASEL-Retract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed a day. Rooms are very beautiful fully equipped clean and very very confortable.

There is no beach and it's too far from the city to go by feet.
Services has been good !

It's perfect for people coming with their boat/yacht

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Agos_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2007

We only stayed one night at the Wharf but for the price we paid (232 euros) we were a bit disappointed.
The receptionist was quite cold and didn't engage in friendy chat at all. When she showed us to our room there was an obvious problem with the lock but she made no attempt to get it fixed. There was no lift and no offer of help with our cases up to the first floor.
The room was big and well decorated but it lacked the finishing touches i.e no safe in room, no information pack, no hairdryer, no minbar, Coffe and tea, but no milk !
Bathroom had a nice big shower but no bath.
Breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was frankly poor with litlle choice, poor quality, and unfriendly staff.
We had a snack from the bar and ate it in garden overlooking the marina which was nice, and the girl who served us was polite.
With some effort from the Management this could be a nice hotel but when we were there the place felt souless.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wownorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahe Island hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

We stayed here for one night before flying over to Praslin the following morning. As we arrived late (even later than we should have been after a minibus driver took us on a quite unnecessary detour around the island - otherwise it is extremely convenient for the airport) and left early we didn't really get to see anything other than our room and breakfast.

There were no problems with check in or check out and the staff were helpful. The room was lovely, beyond the quality we needed for such a brief stay. All amenities were there, very well decorated, nice bed and with a huge and powerful shower. Our only issue was the noise - we were woken up fairly early by noise from elsewhere in the hotel, I presume staff given the time or day. Noise travels very easily I think because there was no carpet in the corridors and everything is very open. Not a big issue when you are only there one night but not ideal.

Breakfast was fine, not a great choice but more than adequate. The restaurant has nice views over the hotel swimming pool and the harbour. In summary it was perfectly suitable for a stopover and given the location I think it would make a good base for exploring the island. Definitely not suitable for a sit by the pool/beach holiday though.

  • Liked — location, lovely room
  • Disliked — noise in the early morning
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_tilney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed at the Wharf Hotel & Marina for 2 nights, once before and once after our 2 days on Praslin. This hotel is wonderful.
The first thing we found is that the staff is incredible! We checked in with Selwyn, who was our go to guy and very friendly and helpful. It was only about 11am, but our room was ready, and very, very nice.
The beds at the Wharf are amazing, even more comfortable than my mattress at home! The bed linens are all white, and sparkling clean. The bathroom is very modern, and there is more than ample room in the glass shower for 2!! The only thing we found is that the toilet was only separated by a bamboo roll-up blind. No problem, just a little different.
The entire hotel is sparkling clean, and the lady that appeared to be in charge of the housecleaning was so friendly, we thought she was like a friends' mom who hasn't seen you in a long time! Very cute!
The food at the restaurant was wonderful, mostly Creole, but a wide selection. Everything we had was great. One night we ordered dinner up to our room, sat on our balcony (get a poolview room) and enjoyed the live music from downstairs, some wine, and some good company! Breakfasts are great and cater to all types of breakfast eaters.
The pool is quite nice too, and always clean. They said it's open until 6:30pm, but they aren't at all strict about it. One night we were in it until about 7:30 or so, and looked out and saw people in it around 10.
It's too bad that people use this place as a stopover, rather than an actual hotel for the duration of their stay. True, there's no beach, but the island is so small that everything is closeby.
ALSO, when we were there, there were 5 Navy ships in port, and we didn't see a single sailor at the hotel, bar or restaurant! I've read a number of complaints about rowdy Marines.
When in town, pick something up from the Pirate Arms takeaway (behind the main restaurant). We got 2 meals for 46 rupees, and I think it was the best meal we had our entire stay!

  • Liked — comfortable bed, friendly staff, good food, reasonable price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fierykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden Bleu Hotel
Eden Bleu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Luxury Apartments
Eden Luxury Apartments
#5 of 12 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Chez Payet Guesthouse
Chez Payet Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Pointe Larue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Roussette
Hotel La Roussette
#4 of 50 in Mahe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilltop Boutique Hotel
Hilltop Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Anse Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Hotel & Marina

Property: The Wharf Hotel & Marina
Address: Providence, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Mahe Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wharf Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Wharf Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel And Marina
Wharf Hotel Mahe Island
The Wharf Hotel & Marina Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing