We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buget choice for Seychelles”
Review of Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Resort
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a very good hotel to stay in if you're on a budget in Seychelles. It is clean and simply put together. Don't expect luxury or beachside villas - you have a bit of a walk to the beach - but it is not overpriced and the service is friendly. The breakfast buffet is simple. The pool is adequate. I didn't eat dinner here but it is meant to be good. They have two types of rooms - standard and deluxe. The standard ones have a little kitchen, which is great for self-catering and the deluxe ones have a lot more room but no kitchen. I stayed in both.

If you are visiting Seychelles and Mahe to explore then this would be a good option. There is plenty of parking (but around the back of the hotel) and it is well located just off Beau Vallon beach. There are plenty of places to get food nearby including local shops and takeaways.

If you want a postcard place to stay on a beach with lots of luxury then this isn't the place to come to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Don't be put off by the roadside appearance venture inside the small complex ,the hotel is hidden away .We didn't stay here but were searching out alternative places to eat.
Had food as part of a group of 8 .We were the only people eating, had good service and reasonable food . Lovely white airy dining area and stylish bar with interesting chairs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Triciavj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Sun Resort near the Beau Vallon beach and was very happy.Looks like nothing from the road, but inside is a hidden gem. It is quiet and relaxing, has 12 nice standard apartments on 2 floors around a pool or 8 superior rooms (I was happy in the standard apartments!), surrounded by a beautiful garden. Small terraces, self catering or eat at the restaurant. Very friendly staff. Great value for money and 2 minutes walk from the fabulous Beau Vallon beach. I'll be coming back with pleasure.

Room Tip: I was happy with the standard rooms. Maybe ask for one away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the start of an island hopping family holiday. Doesn't look much from the outside on arrival but really lovely setting once in. Rooms were clean and a good size - we had two rooms as we have two boys of 13 and 8 (an extra bed in one room would leave it a bit cramped). Kitchen is pretty poorly equipped if you want to self cater but this didn't affect us for 2 days. Pool and gardens were beautiful and well kept, and the buffet style breakfast was very good. The children loved the little box of chocolate eggs on Easter morning - lovely touch. Staff were helpful and friendly and pizza takeaway was good value. 5 mins to Beau Vallon, which was a big beach but very busy over the Easter weekend. Overall a good place to unwind and acclimatise before moving on.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view and sunny balcony - lower floor has shadier patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed over at the hotel for a week. It is a very reasonably priced hotel with great rooms (try their superior rooms). Though not a beach front hotel it is a stone's throw away from the beautiful beau vallon beach. Its perfect as a starting point from which to tour the greater mahe island. Ask flora to help you with organising for a private car and also to organise for the island hopping tours.

All in all we had a great time. Flora and the staff were lovely.

Can't wait for our next visit!!

Room Tip: Get the superior rooms. Lovely and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Overall a good value budget hotel a few minutes walk from the beach and small shops. Lovely swimming pool, good food; breakfast includes eggs and bacon, toast, cereal, croissants, fruit, fruit juice, tea and coffee. The rooms are spacious and quite adequate, but rather boring, with no pictures on the walls, and dull curtains and bedspread. Could do with a re-vamp. The arrival “welcome” was rather casual. However, they are a budget hotel, and they don’t pretend to be otherwise. All-in-all, enjoyed our stay, and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed hear with friends for New Year and Janaury and we had the most amazing time. The rooms are spacious with the most comfortable beds (firm). The garden area and pool were beautiful and kept clean, may be a couple more sun beds/shades would be useful. The breakfasts were simple but plentyful and eggs cooked fresh to your requirements. The evening meals were fabulous value for money freshly made and delicious. The staff were all very helpful and kind. The pizza take away for a lunch time snack was also great value and tasty.
It is a 3 min walk to the beach which was very uncomercializes but that may change as new hotels are built which will be a shame, the sea was quite rough when we were there. The welcome we had from Flora and her staff was delightful. We can't wait to return next January.

Room Tip: Only a small hotel the luxury rooms are set back from the pool, the other rooms are in blocks of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obsessiveplanner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
25 reviews
0 mi away
Panorama Guesthouse Beau Vallon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
368 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Bel Ombre
59 reviews
0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Resort

Address: Beau Vallon Beach | P.O. Box 522, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: £132 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Mahe Island
Sun Resort Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing