We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great pool, ace crab curries in the restaurant”
Review of Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Resort
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Nice basic accommodation with large rooms, good aircon, safe parking and a lovely pool. Very quiet but just 300m away from Beau Vallon beach. The restaurant (and takeaway) seem to be a little erratic - had some fantasic food (crab curry and the some of the best lobster) and other times it's distinctly not so good. Wine selection is poor but the Seybrew is endless.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinDower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

How I agree with the previous guest regarding service. At breakfast all they had to do was serve a plate of food and they managed it with an air of great reluctance and the effort was non existant. Not one good morning was said the whole week and the young girls who served? us should really seek another vocation. Dinner was no better with the same almost rude attitude. We had to move rooms after 3 days because we had no television which because there was nothing else to do was really quite essential but again no assistance was given. All in all the place could and should have been a lot better because the pool area was lovely and even that was given to a scuba diving group one day so we couldn't use it. Staff at reception were non existant and every day we had to stand and wait while my husband went to find someone to give us our room key. After 3 days we just went behind the desk and got it ourselves because by then we weren't willing to put up these young girls who when we asked them politely to get it for us treat us with the same rudeness that we had the whole week. Summing up the place has the potential to be a lot better but they really have to tackle the attitude of the younger members of staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We (two adults) stayed at this hotel for five nights in Oct. 2009.
In our opinion the hotel is acceptable to stay overnight! The rooms are OK but have not been renovated/updated for a long, long time! Unfortunately, we had a room with a water leakage at the seeling which had not been renovated properly. A distinctive repulsive smell was evident.
The worst experience, however, was the very poor service by most of the staff - we have never had breakfast served with so little passion and enhusiam before.
The hotel has been nicely planned with a pool in the center and is indeed located close to the Beau Vallon Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munich75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We were accommodated, on a Bed and Breakfast tarriff, in a large comfortable room. The Hotel was clean with well kept gardens and a restaurant which was sufficiently good for us to eat there on all but one evening. The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. The other hotels in the immediate vicinity were expensive and too large (and expensive) to provide the kind of relaxation which is available at the small, well kept Sun Resort. It is only three minutes walk from the excellent Beau Vallon beach and next to the Pearl Noir restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent meal. On Wednesday evening there is a small market on Beau Vallon Beach, which has a lovely carnival atmosphere. It is worth hiring a car for a couple to explore Mahe, but it is easy to catch the bus (7 Sc Rupees) into Victoria and to visit other parts of the island. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanRug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We booked this hotel last minute and we were really pleased to find a friendly, clean (in fact the pool was much cleaner than larger hotels) and efficiently run hotel. We were upgraded to an apartment which gave us lot's of space but the standard rooms seemed fine.

We took a look around beau vallon hotels to see what we were missing and for the diference in price the coral strand was not a patch on the sun resort - and the food there was dreadful.

The hotel restaurant was good and very reasonably priced.

If you are looking for a good base to explore the island without spending the huge amounts that the larger hotels charge then this is it. Ok, you don't get the 5 * experience that the bigger hotels provide but you are able to use their restaurants and you share the same beach which is a stones throw away.

Flora, the hotel manager has a laid back efficient manner and took care of all our requests. This hotel has a real family feel to it, all of the staff involved were pleasant and thorough in their jobs.

Highly recommended as opposed to the coral strand and the berjaya beau vallon hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank castell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

The Sun Resort is lovely and it is absolutely at a higher level than other hotels with more stars. The rooms are big, very kind and clean. The restaurant is very good and the atmosphere is really romantic. The employees are really nice and helpful and they care about everything you may need. I would absolutely go back there next time in Seychelles.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tamy2016T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

This lovely hotel resort is situated about 5 minutes walk from Beau Vallon beach. The standard apartments consist of a bedroom, a sitting area, a small kitchen, a bathroom (a bit tired looking but clean and spacious)and a balcony or terrace overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens. The superior rooms are open plan, have lovely bathrooms but are further back from the pool and garden area. The rooms are serviced everyday including a change of towels and sheets. The whole complex is very attractive and very well tended, far better than the higher rated hotels we saw at the beach, we were pleased we had chosen the right place.
The Sun Resort also has its own restaurant, which I can thoroughly recommend, serving Creole food at very reasonable prices.
The staff was friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very at home and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janCardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#3 of 4 in Victoria
25 reviews
0 mi away
Panorama Guesthouse Beau Vallon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
368 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Bel Ombre
59 reviews
0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Resort

Address: Beau Vallon Beach | P.O. Box 522, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: £132 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Mahe Island
Sun Resort Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing